We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hannover Maschsee
Ranked #12 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I realize it does not get hot very often in Hannover. The day we stayed at this hotel it was one of the hot ones. Unfortunately this newly renovated hotel was not prepared for a hot spell. Our first room had no AC at all, the staff was kind about it and moved us to another room. Well it was sort of air conditioned, never got it to go below 80, not my idea of comfortable.
I did not feel the facilities where up to the pretty stiff price tag, which ends up being quite a bit more than advertised.
Overall, a bit disappointing for a newly renovated Hotel with very flashy public rooms but poorly functioning guest rooms and very tiny bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAJCY, Verkaufsleiter at Courtyard Hannover Maschsee, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear gull70,
thank you very much for you honest words. We are very sorry to read about the experiences you have made during your stay with us. Basically all of our rooms are air conditioned but due to our ongoing renovations - two floors are on construction- it might be that the system hasn't worked on it's full power. Alhough you've discribed your satisfaction with the reaction of our staff we would like to apologize for any inconveniences. We're looking forward to welcoming you again in Hannover.
With kind regards
Yours
Courtyard ba Marriott Hannover Maschsee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 365 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just got back from a eurotrip that took us to Hannover, Mallorca and Barcelona. The first leg of the trip started at the courtyard hannover maschsee. The ONLY negative we had during out entire stay here was that it was quite hard to get to due to a number of streets being closed for a parade, this however just resulted in a little tour of the city! The hotel is located on the Maschee lake, which was within walking distance of many attractions within the city and also a great location for people who want to do some outdoor running or walking as there were always people out and about around the lake. The rooms were reasonably priced and a little on the bigger side compared to other rooms we ran into in europe. The staff was great and friendly from front desk to the bar and restaurants. There is a breakfast buffett available but we skipped it and had some croissants and coffee in the morning then adventured out for food on most days. A perfect spot, will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjerseyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

On our way to the Riviera we stayed 1 night in this hotel. The location was great by the lake, the room was 4 star, but the rest of the hotel did not live up to that standard. They only had a sportsbar that served mainly junk food, not what we were expecting for a Marriott. We were looking forward to a nice dinner at the hotell before early take off the next day. However, we had a great long walk around the lake with our dog who is travelling with us - another good reason to pick this hotel, no extra charge for our dog.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Anette J,
thank you very much for your response. It's good to see that you enjoyed staing with us. We would like to apologize for the impression you've got of our Julian's. Yes it is a Sportsbar and the Bar menue is a selection of small classics such as sandwiches and burgers. Behind the bar the Julian's has a full service Restaurant as well with a great selection of steaks, salads and other international specialties. We are deeply sorry if this wasn't communicated well. Maybe you would like to give it another chance on your way back to sweden - we would appreciate it. Have a nice time at the Riviera and -again- thank you for your honest words.
Yours sincerely,
Courtyard by Marriott Hannover Maschsee
Nils Liebau
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is way above the standard Courtyard that we are used to in the US. It is more of a full service property. Excellent and courteous staff. The rooms are large and have heated towel bars. The bedding was crisp and white! We had a room overlooking the lake. We used the bus from the train station to get to the hotel. It cost 1.30E. Be sure to have breakfast at the hotel. It is fabulous. A huge array of choices. The breads were fantastic and you can also have cooked to order egg dishes. We also had dinner at the hotel and all four of us raved about it. It was very reasonable and delicious. We had the calves liver, schnitzel and truffle pasta. There is a very nice business centre area and there are four computers to use. The hotel is located within walking distance of museums and the downtown area.

Room Tip: Overlook the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plan2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAJCY, Verkaufsleiter at Courtyard Hannover Maschsee, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear plan2explore,

thank you for the kind words and the delightful review. It's really great to see that your experience at our property was great on every level. We will pass on the compliments of yours to our staff as well because sometimes words can be more motivating than everything else. Again - thank you and we're looking forward to have the pleasure welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely
Courtyard by Marriott Hannover Maschsee
Nils Liebau
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I was on a business trip to Hannover and stayed here for a week.

Staff was excellent and courteous. Hotel is well located, next to a pretty lake in Hannover. While its a nature setting, it is only a 20 minute walk to downtown.

Room was nice and comfortable. Only 4 floors in this hotel, so it didnt feel crowded at all.

Would definately recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadavidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Excellent location by the lake ( it is actually frozen while I am here and it is a wonderful site with thousands of people enjoying it) and close to the city centre.
Friendly staff and very clean rooms. Rooms are spacious and quiet.
The bathroom is "OK" but towels are moderate and toiletries well below average
The bed is very comfortable as are the pillows.
The hotel has a "market"downstairs to stock the mini fridge but since prices are the same as the average minibar this defeats the object.
I am here for a medical conference and this is actually going very smoothly . The catering during coffee and meals is decent and the service very friendly
The big downside to this hotel is the internet connection. There is only wired internet in the rooms (my ipad is idly relaxing,,,) and the change is nearly 20 euro per day. For that you get the worst speed i have ever encountered in a hotel in Europe, It is basically PATHETIC and frustrating.
The restaurant downstairs is very reasonable and since it is -10C outside it was very useful. The prices are good and the quality above average.
Overall an enjoyable stay. Needs a rethink about the bathroom and certainly an internet setup that does not remind you of dial-up connections.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAJCY, Verkaufsleiter at Courtyard Hannover Maschsee, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Dear EvisBagdades,

thank you very much for your review and the kind words of yours. We are happy that you had such a great time in Hannover.
Of course we are more than sorry that you experienced a problem getting connected to the internet. We will renovate all of our guestrooms during this summer which will include a new solution for the connectivity in our rooms as well.
We would be happy if you would like to check it again at your next stay with us.
With kind regards from the (still frozen) lakeside
your
Courtyard by Marriott Hannover Maschsee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I've been travelling for business reasons many times in the last many years to Hannover, and from all local hotels I've been in, the Courtyard is by far the best.
The staff is correct. The food in "Julian's bar" is pretty decent, the menu a bit more restricted that in the restaurant but the atmosphere much "cozier". Breakfast is good and there are always free newspapers at the morning. The rooms are spacious, the beds very good and the sight from the rooms heading the lake is, without doubt, the best from any hotel in Hannover.
Last year they refurbished the lobby area and put TV flat screens on the rooms.
Jus two minor issues:
1) The rooms still need some "freshen up", specially the bathrooms are getting a bit old
2) If you are travelling with public transport, there's quite a walk (10-15 min) to the nearest subway station
Tip for runners: Though it's pretty straight forward, the maschsee 6km round on a hardened dirt path, must be the best running place in town and any day at any time there is always people running around, so no need to visit the fitness room in the hotel ;-)
Tip #2: If you want rest, please AVOID at any price the period around the Maschseefesten (somewhere in August), as it can get VERY loud in and outside the hotel

Room Tip: Though they may cost a bit more, the view from the rooms with "lakeview" (the highest the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAJCY, Verkaufsleiter at Courtyard Hannover Maschsee, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Athlet,
thank you very much for your review and your kind words about our property. It's always a great pleasure to us. Also a big thank you for your recommendations which might be very helpful for other visitors.
To come out with some tips as well we'd like to give you a hint about these two minor issues of yours. First about the room situation - all the rooms are going to be renovated in summer 2012. The new concept will make them even more spacious. And about the subway station - there's a bus stop about 50m from the hotel. The bus is running every 10minutes and takes you directly to the subway station "Aegidientorplatz".
Hope that is somithing to look forward to for your next stay with us.
Best regards from the lakeside
Your
Courtyard by Marriott Hannover Maschsee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hannover
Novotel Hannover
#1 of 159 in Hannover
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dormero Hotel Hannover
#9 of 159 in Hannover
729 reviews
Kastens Hotel Luisenhof
#5 of 159 in Hannover
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hannover Maschsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hannover Maschsee

Address: Arthur-Menge-Ufer 3, 30169, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover > Südstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hannover
#6 Business Hotel in Hannover
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hannover
Price Range: $105 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hannover Maschsee 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lakeside Hotel. Located at the Banks of Lake Maschsee - in Walking distance to the City centre - the Courtyard by Marriott Hannover Maschsee offers 149 air-conditioned rooms and suites as well as an Event area for up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Hannover Maschsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hannover
Hannover Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing