We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel but impersonal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CityHotel am Thielenplatz
Ranked #93 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel has a very central location. It is ok, a little bit fraying at the edges. Good breakfast. The rooms were quite modern, though hygiene could be improved (I discovered a spot - blood? - on my bedsheet, but only in the morning).
The 1hr free internet is excellent, as most people only need to quickly scan their mail.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed in the Cityhotel am Thielenplatz (also known as: Smartcity Designhotel) for 3 nights in June 2013. All but one of my places of interest were in the Hannover city center, hence the location of this hotel was next to ideal for me. With the central station (Hauptbahnhof) on 400 meters distance, public transport brings you everywhere around for eur 5.80 per day (hint: a return ticket is more expensive or only a tiny bit cheaper, so the unlimited option is usually the best choice).

Positive remarks:
+ Location, location and location, nearby train station and city center
+ No noise from corridor or other rooms, and even not from outside in spite of tram (30 meters away) and train (100 meters)
+ Breakfast eur 9.50 not overly expensive, unlike most other hotels daring to charge double, and some even more
+ A work desk, offering enough room to be useful
+ Wonderful shower. I want one of those at home!

Negative remarks:
-- Paying for Internet access is outdated, especially when one has several devices (laptop, tablet, phone) that need it
- Bar on ground floor is too dark to be useful for a working traveler (like me) and his laptop
- Duvet on bed a bit short for someone of 1.85 m. I'm used to sleep stretched out, laying on my back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JvH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is close to the station. Our room was clean and the beds were good. Breakfast was fine, lots of food to choose from. It's nice that they give you a free welcome drink in the bar. It's also nice that you get a discount for a fitness center nearby. A minor drawback is that they make you pay for the internet; I really think that hotels should stop doing so. We had lunch in the Osteria next to the hotel: very good food!

Room Tip: We had a room with a street view but we were not troubled by traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchtourist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is within walkingdistance of the station.
The rooms are cheap.
And well up2date.
There is free WIFI in the bar.
You can smoke inside (in the bar)
Love it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasperw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

good location close to everything, very professional friendly staff (they let me check in at 7 am after a tiring train trip!), spotlessly clean rooms, good breakfast (extra charge), very good value for money (it is not the Ritz, but then you know that in advance).

Room Tip: back rooms might be quieter, but the view is not enchanting, this not a criterium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rome-weary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Easily found the hotel, checked in and where directed to the elevator, without any explanation. Had to walk trough the halls that where filled with a terrible smoke odor, to our room. Room was very small, smelled very bad and everything was old. Looking at the pictures I expected a retro style interior, but this turned out to be just old an dirty.

Since I was travelling with my spouse, I'd requested a big bed, instead they had put two seperate beds next to eachother, no very friendly. The worst thing was the sleep. In the middle of the night, smoke from the bar entered our room so we where smoked out of our room. After complaining with the concierge, they didn't offer us anything and didn't even apologize.

Worst hotel ever!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unit371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
19
Reviewed March 16, 2003

Hotel am Thielenplatz is not terrible, however it is lacking in quality in several ways. First of all, the room quality is very volatile with no major fluxuation in the pricing of the rooms. The room I was staying in had fairly interesting planning. The toilet seat was situated infront of the shower (you had to climb over it to get to the shower), however having visited a twin bed room I found its bathroom to be satisfactory. If you get a room at this hotel, note that not all rooms include toilet or shower.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
City Hotel Hannover
City Hotel Hannover
#57 of 159 in Hannover
40 reviews
Cityhotel Konigstrasse
#45 of 159 in Hannover
74 reviews
Mitte
Grand Hotel Mussmann
Grand Hotel Mussmann
#14 of 159 in Hannover
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Concorde am Leineschloss Hotel
Mitte
IntercityHotel Hannover
IntercityHotel Hannover
#29 of 159 in Hannover
310 reviews
Kastens Hotel Luisenhof
#6 of 159 in Hannover
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityHotel am Thielenplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityHotel am Thielenplatz

Address: Thielenplatz 2, 30159, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range: $77 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CityHotel am Thielenplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your CityHotel am Thielenplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing