We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a city stopover”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #47 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect for a city stopover”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I spent one comfortable night at the Grand Palace. My room was quiet, even though it was at the front and I feared for traffic noise. However, I slept well. The room was large, warm and had everything I needed except tea/coffee making facilities. I went towards the restaurant for an evening meal and as I passed the bar, a member of the staff overtook me, entered the restaurant and turned on the light. Not a good sign, so I ate down the road at the Ruethai - excellent Thia food.
The hotel breakfast was excellent - good range of cold foods, delicious hot plates and very swift service. Perhaps the coffee could have been hotter. The 12.00 check-out allowed me a couple of hours walking around the city - well worth the effort - before my flight. I wouldn't hesitate going back to the Grand Palace.
B&B cost €116.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    58
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
8
36
14
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Super friendly staff, great hotel to stay at when visiting Hannover. Right in the center of Hannover, and close to shops, attractions, and train station. Great brick hotel, looks like it was newly renovated and very cozy. Rooms are large, and quality. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbdullahDakroub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Va
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I just returned from CeBIT where the number of visitors typically far exceed the capacity of the hotels, which means that the pricing is very, very high during the first week of March.

That being said, the Grand Palace is a beautiful older hotel that offers many architectural features to be expected of an old hotel with the smaller corredors leading to the bar and breakfast year, etc.

Since this isn't a modern hotel in the sense of being a new construction, there are things that you must be willing to accept. However, typically the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and offer a good night's rest. The bathrooms can be spacious as well.

I had an opportunity to look through several of the rooms since I was traveling with a large group, but there does seem to be a difference in room type, so some care should be given upon arrival to make sure you're in a room that will offer you the greatest pleasure and comfort.

The staff is primarily German so English & German do not seem to be a problem and everyone is rather friendly at check-in and all questions seem to be answered efficiently.

However, if you are so lucky, then you'll have an opportunity to meet with Julia, Benjamin and Sandra who are exemplary employees and went FAR above the call of duty in making sure that the needs of their guests were satisfied. I actually changed rooms and can tell you that they were very gracious and kind. They really bend over backwards to assist their guests. Some of the other staff were polite, but I wouldn't go so far as to say friendly....however, as long as Benjamin is working there you'll be in good shape for a pleasant stay.

The proximity to the railway station and city center also make this hotel a good choice! It's walking distance and is safe.

The airport (Hannover Airport) to the hotel will run you about 40 euros, but the return trip was only 25 euros. This may be a CeBIT additional airport fee situation that caused the difference, but there is trains and other modes of transportation that offer lower cost alternatives.

I would recommend the hotel if being downtown is what you're looking for and are willing to pay a slightly higher price for the Grand Palace ambience, etc.

Room Tip: Avoid the 307, 407 & 507 Rooms. These are small, small, small and not so comfortable. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A36127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

It is not Grand and it is not a Palace. Small room, internet only in lounge. Breakfast ok. It was not too expensive, but on balance I would not stay there again. At least parking is on site so convenient.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Grand Palace Hotel is the Best Hotel in Hannover region for the price and the service quality that they offer. The best thing is that it is so close to the main train statin and center that it takes you just 5 minut to reach. Also, it is a new hotel with comfortable furniture and high quality service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdurraxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is very convenient for a visit to Hannover in that it is about 5 minutes walk from the HBF or main train station and the public transport system in Hannover is superb. It is clean and everything works properly. there are, in my view, two drawbacks, it is very expensive for what it is and the only internet connection in the bedrooms is by cable.

Room Tip: the back of the hotel is on the road and the back is on the railway line so take your pick. i sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have stayed there on November 2011. I had no problem with the room but when checking my invoice few months later I realised that they charged me extra 15 EUR for using a charger that they have lent me! How outrageous, they didn't even tell me that I would be charged.
Needless to say I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hannover hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Grand Hotel Mussmann
Grand Hotel Mussmann
#12 of 161 in Hannover
182 reviews
Mitte
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hannover
Kastens Hotel Luisenhof
#7 of 161 in Hannover
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cityhotel Konigstrasse
#43 of 161 in Hannover
70 reviews
Mitte
Concorde am Leineschloss Hotel
Hotel Loccumer Hof
#19 of 161 in Hannover
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Lavesstr. 77, 30159, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing