We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for business and leisure travelers alike”
Review of Hotel Freizeit In

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Freizeit In
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Goettingen
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the space of two months (Sep and Nov 2013) on business trips.

I would highly recommend this hotel for travelers to the Gottingen area - both business and leisure. It is located right off the autobahn and only a 10 min taxi/bus ride from the bahnhof.The service is friendly and helpful; the rooms are clean and quite spacious by German hotel standards. There are plenty of restaurant options - I have had both the ala carte and buffet options for dinner and both have been good. The breakfast spread is excellent to fill you up for a day of meetings or sightseeing.

Their gym is the best hotel gym I have experienced in my years of international travel!!

I have never used the spa but it certainly looks impressive.

The only complaint I would have is that the beds are too soft and there is only one very soft pillow available. That's a recipe for a sore neck in the morning for me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniruddha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 234 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a wellness hotel. The sauna is womderful and has not lost one bit of it's charme in 10 years. There is a small pool for swimming and another small pool integrated in the sauna paradise. There are more than 5 different saunas, a garden (for the summer)and sunbeds to lie on(not enough for everybody) and a "tepidarium" with heated stone-chairs.
You have a gym with a circle, about 10 years old, so I would say it is not that modern, but it's o.k.
Very good are the classes, pilates, step or yoga, even aqua- cycling.
The breakfast is really good, in a freshly renovated, modern restaurant with eggs, omelettes, fruits, coffee, bagels..nearly everything. Dinner is not special, quite "normal", no spices or specialties, but it's o.k.
The standard room was o.k., no safe, no balcony, no bottle of water, but a good, comfortable bed and a quiet room, that is fine.
You don't come here for the surroundings, there is not much.It's the commercial zone of Göttingen, but the city center is only about 4kms away. There you have the university, pubs, a cafe,theatres.....shops.....
We will definetely return for wellness!

Room Tip: In Göttingen, you just have to visit Cron&Lanz, a wonderful cafe in the middle of the city. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneK474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

this hotel is a fantastic place to stay, the entrance to reception is a grand open space with a bar and fountain, the staff are all very helpfull and polite, and the rooms are clean, large, and laid out really well with modern decor and a safe for your belongings. i would readily stay here again

Room Tip: room 321 was very nice. i couldnt think of anything i would change
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbrisland1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very nice and modern looking hotel. SPA is very nice, it's so close! I like the modern look of hotel building! Small garden front off hotel was lovely! Restaurant is big, the roof is made of glass, in warm, sunny days it's a little bit too warm. Really very nice place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutiN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The best thing about this particular hotel is its sauna area. I spent the most wonderful afternoon and evening there. It's very well organised, with different kinds of Aufguss, not really crowded (but probably it's not a rule on weekends or holidays). I highly recommend to go outside to small wooden building which has the greatest herbal sauna and a room with enormous fireplace. Oh, and the entrance to the wellness and fitness areas is included in the room's price.

Without a car it's rather hard to get there, as the hotel is situated on the city's border. Nevertheless, the bus stops almost right in front of the hotel. The building(s) is rather old, darky and gloomy. Not really pretty. The receptionists work rather slowly.

I had the cheapest room and it looked rome like a dorm room (very small thou, no view at all), didn't like the bad at all. But the room and the bathroom were ugly but very clean). I suppose that they more pricey rooms look better. Always check their offers at their home page. For about 50 euros a night you can get a room with breakfast (I didn't have it) and entrance to the wellness and fitness area (both huge and well equipped).

I do recommend this hotel and surely will consider it in case I should have to stay over night in Göttingen again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me_not_likey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Placed in a industrial area and to park the car, outside costs €8! When you enter you wish you didn't. Looks dated. I imagine this hotel has three types of guests: events, sales men visiting local businesses and last but not least people like myself; someone trying to find a hotel in the area and trust the reviews... Rooms are OK but my room is right now very warm and it is just 18 degrees outside! When it's hot outside you will not be able to sleep.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a dream!
Included: clean room/wifi/manyy spa/inside pool/outside pool/ice fountain/many lifts/out of the noisy center but close to it by bus for 2€ in 6 minutes/or 4 minutes drive/many restaurants/bar/booling ++++
Probably all rooms are good (some seams larger with large screen and balcony).
Outstanding is Wellness area (german style..) with "Aufguss" every hour, ice fountain, direct acces to the indor/outdoor pool, including Sauna in the garden with large windows (perfect zone). The barmann is awsome, speaks many languages and knows all drinks.
Reception team is "very high class and helpfull"

Improvment needed (seams to be in progress ) the hotel looks very old outside and also worn. The spa garden is to close to the road and therefore noisy, only bad point several waitress should go back to their farm.

Room Tip: Request a room in 4th level at the end of the hotel (shouth side) away from the street and garden si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nieves67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goettingen hotels
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Gottingen
2.8 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#4 of 19 in Goettingen
157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Gebhards
Romantik Hotel Gebhards
#5 of 19 in Goettingen
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Parkhotel Ropeter
0.9 mi away
Rennschuh Hotel
Rennschuh Hotel
#9 of 19 in Goettingen
110 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Goettingen-City
B&B Hotel Goettingen-City
#2 of 19 in Goettingen
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Freizeit In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Freizeit In

Address: Dransfelder Str. 3, 37079 Goettingen, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Goettingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Goettingen
Price Range: $129 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Freizeit In 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Freizeit In located in Göttingen offers its guests a huge variety of conference and leisure programs and leaves nothing to be desired. The Hotel Freizeit In in the city of Göttingen is located in the middle of Germany. This all around hotel not only comfortably accommodates its guests but also offers them a range of unique experiences. The hotel concept incorporates future trends and has already received several awards such as Germany’s best congress hotel and Germany’s best convention hotel within four categories. The Freizeit In has its main focus on conferences and events. With 44 conference and seminar rooms, there is room for up to 1200 people for all kinds of activities. Business people can rent rooms in the hotel owned Seminarvilla, a separate house with conference facilities. Besides the rooms they can book leisure and wellness programs for their participants. The guests relax in the wellness area Vital Spa, an 8, 800m² area which gives them the feeling of a wellness oasis. It offers wellness packages, massages, over 60 sports and relaxation courses, work out rooms, saunas, an indoor- and outdoor pool, 6 tennis courts and 12 bowling alleys. It leaves nothing to be desired for its clients. The Freizeit In also offers a spectacular XL-Orient Lounge, where one can experience wonderful oriental nights, foods and dances. The Hotel Freizeit In was founded in 1978 as a sports and leisure hotel and has developed into one of the largest and most successful conference and event hotels in Germany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Freizeit In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing