We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for walking around and if you take the train”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Gebhards
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Goettingen
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location for walking around and if you take the train”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

this hotel is directly across the street from the train station. and it is on the "wall" , it is easy 5 minute walk to the cathedral/old town shopping. a mix of new and old shops, including bakeries, sweets, and clothes. the hoel itself has housed Einstein! our room was nice, and like a lot of europe, in an old building, to me (but not my wife) it felt old as well. little things that some may feel are charming--when leaving the building would give your 2-lb key to the front desk, instead of a modern card lock. the included breakfast was very nice. if you drive isuggest you get the extra parking...there did not look like any other readily available parking was near unless you got lucky with some street parking. This hotel was the most expensive of our7 night stay and was not the best value we had...but it was the only hotel that had vacancy during our 2 nights. I would stay again, but if a couple of other hotels nearby had vacancy i would try those first. Also of note we had a king room which apparently in Germany means pushing 2 twins together and NOT putting king sheets on the bed. so you might fall through the crack if you are not carfeul

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldNavy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
20
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is very close to the station and with easy access to the town centre. It is immaculate with a lovelt relaxed atmosphere. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but again this was excellent. The reception staff are probably amongst the best I have encountered. Finding us an extra room without a fuss, and asking what time we needed to keep the rooms until, rather than being told what time we had to vacate. The room are well kept, and spotless, with lovely touches like a fresh rose in the bathroom, chocolates and gowns with slippers, and a well stocked mini bar. I will be going back without a doubt over the next year and hope to return to this hotel. It was lovely to book into a hotel that did not refer to payments or swiping a card on arrival. There was an offer of help for carrying the luggagge and we were shown to, not told, where the lift was. Good old fashioned customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

In many ways this is an excellent hotel - a couple of minutes from the main railway station and just a few minutes walk from the town centre. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts good quality though some people may find the range of food available a bit limited. Staff very friendly and helpful. There is a small spa which seems underused. The only drawback for a business visitor is that the WiFi in the rooms is very slow and even logging on is a pain. Whether this is down to the hotel or the network in Gottingen I don't know. Otherwise the hotel is excellent if a little pricey compared with others in the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewes1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Confortable and friendly hotel, walking distance from downtown Göttingen and the train station. Excellent breakfast buffet with sparkling wine and fresh OJ. Spacious rooms and good beds. They gave us truffles in our room. Very clean. Surrounded by little coffee shops and interesting restaurants. A little bit expensive but if you are tight with your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is an attractive building with rether traditional decor and furnishings but none the worse for that. I had an excellent room with all that you could want. The staff were very attentive. It is very well placed for the town centre and the university

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at Gebhards in early June and September/October of last year. We traveled with two large dogs and the staff could not have been more accomodating. Nice breakfast. One night we dined in the restaurant at it was terrific.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Ambience and decor reminds one of the old movie with Charlotte Rampling. The vintage elevator with the brass portholes and dark, dark panelling reinforces the impression. We stayed here twice on business. Most standard rooms are a little on the small side for a property of this ranking.

Service here is top-drawer, the bar is well-stocked, and the breakfast buffet is superior (champagne, just in case you need an octane boost to get the engine running.). Apropos, there's a pharmacy just down the block should you require something for a hangover.

Train station's only two blocks away. All the bikes parked out in front of it remind you this is a college town. And there must be an awful lot of students who commute: If you plan to arrive by train from Frankfurt or points south, try to avoid Friday afternoons. If you must travel to or though Goettingen at this time, seat reservations mandatory, because even in first class, it's SRO.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 268.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exspecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goettingen hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Gottingen
0.7 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#3 of 19 in Goettingen
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stadt Hannover
Hotel Stadt Hannover
#2 of 19 in Goettingen
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Goettingen-City
B&B Hotel Goettingen-City
#4 of 19 in Goettingen
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
IntercityHotel Goettingen
IntercityHotel Goettingen
#16 of 19 in Goettingen
106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Parkhotel Ropeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Gebhards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Gebhards

Property: Romantik Hotel Gebhards
Address: Goethe-Allee 22/23, 37073 Goettingen, Lower Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Goettingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Goettingen
#4 Business Hotel in Goettingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Hotel Gebhards 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HRS, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Romantik Hotel Gebhards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel göttingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing