We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very refined hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantik Hotel Gebhards

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Gebhards
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Goettingen
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A very refined hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is an attractive building with rether traditional decor and furnishings but none the worse for that. I had an excellent room with all that you could want. The staff were very attentive. It is very well placed for the town centre and the university

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
19
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at Gebhards in early June and September/October of last year. We traveled with two large dogs and the staff could not have been more accomodating. Nice breakfast. One night we dined in the restaurant at it was terrific.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Ambience and decor reminds one of the old movie with Charlotte Rampling. The vintage elevator with the brass portholes and dark, dark panelling reinforces the impression. We stayed here twice on business. Most standard rooms are a little on the small side for a property of this ranking.

Service here is top-drawer, the bar is well-stocked, and the breakfast buffet is superior (champagne, just in case you need an octane boost to get the engine running.). Apropos, there's a pharmacy just down the block should you require something for a hangover.

Train station's only two blocks away. All the bikes parked out in front of it remind you this is a college town. And there must be an awful lot of students who commute: If you plan to arrive by train from Frankfurt or points south, try to avoid Friday afternoons. If you must travel to or though Goettingen at this time, seat reservations mandatory, because even in first class, it's SRO.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 268.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exspecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Old fashioned hotel with high service degree. Very traditional (German?) style hotel, thick carpets, heavy drapes, dark wood eg. Well maintained with very high service degree, they even parked my car! That haven't happend before... Perfectly located in the center of the city - if you like to be in the center....Beautiful old town center by the way! Great route for running as well on the inner city "fortress". Small single bed room, first time for that, thought they diden't exist any more :) But as a business hotel? No - more for "Romantik", so the name fits - cramped parking, not efficient enough for check-in/out, and so forth, the hotel require more time than the typical business hotel.

Room Tip: Sorry not sure, but not well noice insulated hotel, so go for top floor, but dont worry about street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

I was in Göttingen for the primary reason anyone goes there (the university), and my host put me up at this hotel. (On the previous trip, I was in the Hotel Stadt Hannover, which is across the street, and also perfectly reasonable.)

The hotel gave us truffles in our room, which were tasty, and I was pleased with the size and shape of the room. Really, it felt like there was a surprising amount of space here, and it was relaxing to stay here after long research days.

Breakfast was good, but, well, I missed having pastries with breakfast. (I really like German hotel breakfasts.) Still, there was good variety, and fresh OJ.

I don't know how much the hotel cost (I didn't pay), but the wifi was crazy stupid expensive, like €24/day or something like that?

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

The Gebhards is supposed to be the best hotel in town, with a five-star-rating. I visited it on my own and booked a single -room. The overall impression: It is a nice place , the staff is very friendly and flexible, the breakfast very good. Only minor flaws: The room was very small, no working desk to speak of, bathroom okay but definitely not above 4 star. In fact, I´ve seen more luxury in many 4-star-hotels. While at breakfast, it took some time to find someone to serve coffee - I made this experience on both mornings I spent there. The parking lot is far too small - not easy to get on or off without bumping into something (use the parking service!).
So, my overall rating: a good 4 star but not more.

  • Liked — location, breakfast
  • Disliked — small room, small bed
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TMuend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

We stayed for 1 night in a superior room. The room was spacious and had 2 big windows. The room was overlooking the parking yard at the back so we had a safe place to park. The hotel has a very good loocation. The room was furnished in Art Deco style. It was OK, but it shows signs of wear. The bathroom was clean but modest. No place to put your own toilet requisites. No luxury. The room was clean, has safe, minibar, bathrobes and the beds were good. We got fresh orangejus in the room when we arrived, very nice on a hot summerday. The hotel has a whirepool and sauna. We did not use it, but it looked very clean and delicate. The staff was nice and friendly. We had dinner in the Georgia Augusta-Stuben and the food was very good. Very good breakfast. The hotel has 5*. We do not understand where the 5th star comes from, but it is a pleasant cityhotel and we will stay there again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Can not find anything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank axelOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goettingen hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Gottingen
0.7 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#2 of 19 in Goettingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stadt Hannover
Hotel Stadt Hannover
#3 of 19 in Goettingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#9 of 19 in Goettingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Freizeit In
Hotel Freizeit In
#4 of 19 in Goettingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Goettingen-City
B&B Hotel Goettingen-City
#6 of 19 in Goettingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Gebhards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Gebhards

Property: Romantik Hotel Gebhards
Address: Goethe-Allee 22/23, 37073 Goettingen, Lower Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Goettingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Goettingen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Goettingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Hotel Gebhards 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Romantik Hotel Gebhards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel göttingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing