We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adorable lunch”
Review of Kartoffelhaus

Kartoffelhaus
Ranked #14 of 204 Restaurants in Goettingen
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“adorable lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

the food here is really good. very tasty and fresh. calm atmosphere with friendly shop owners. Quick at serving with quality. enjoyed an awesome lunch. cheap and fun experience

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    75
    22
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goettingen, Germany
1 review
“Tasty and affordable”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a wonderful place with a real calm and smooth amosphere. The food here is great. It was a really good experience for a first timer. It is definitely worth a try. we ate chicken and roast beef both of which tasted really good. the service was really fast and the people working were really friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good all round restaurant”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Unfortunately the Kartoffelhaus was closed on my most recent visit but I have eaten there on several occasions in the past. Popular with students and academics. Good quality standard German food and beer at a reasonable price. Beer garden available if the weather is right.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lewes1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not for vegans”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and i ate here last night and as vegans were totally disappointed. Firstly it took 40 minutes to get food and it wasn't busy. Aside from that we ordered from the vegan menu. I had the oven potato with 3 dips. My husband had the salad with pan fried mushrooms. The salad was actually ok. But my potato came as it would from the oven- natur. The 3 dips were all from jars ( we checked with the kitchen and they confirmed) purchased from al natura. Not bad in itself but vegan sandwich paste which is dry in itself is not something I'd add onto a fluffy dry oven potato. These spreads are for bread/ sandwiches. It was all so dry it was inedible. I had to order more water to get through the meal. We gave feedback and the staff seemed receptive. Although mainly they seemed stressed and a little aloof. We waited another 20 minutes to have our plates cleared and another 15 for the bill. 32 euros for 1 salad. 1 dry potato with sandwich paste. 1 ginger juice and one berry juice (all shop bought ) yes we checked. I wouldn't go back and think its misleading to advertise as vegan when the staff and kitchen don't really understand what a vegan meal requires. Shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitchBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Frozen potatoes at the "Potato House"”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Really awful food. Remember that scene in "European Vacation" where the French cooks stuck French flags into frozen TV dinners" Well, that's this place. AVOID IT.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kartoffelhaus also viewed

Goettingen, Lower Saxony
Goettingen, Lower Saxony
 
Goettingen, Lower Saxony
Goettingen, Lower Saxony
 
Goettingen, Lower Saxony
Goettingen, Lower Saxony
 

Been to Kartoffelhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing