We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, reasonably priced”
Review of The New Holly

The New Holly
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Forton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Went as a family of 9. Had the lunch time menu 2 course for £9.95. I had for my main chicken stroganoff. This was lovely. Everyone else were very pleased with their choice. Would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oohhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean N, Manager at The New Holly, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hi woo_its_time,

I am happy that you and the family enjoyed your visit to us. I think the Lunch Lites menu is fantastic value and is always very varied; often changing many courses each day. We get lots of return trade from this and we hope to add your name to that list! Hopefully see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Relaxed, lovely Easter Sunday lunch with family. Food was fantastic. We've eaten at other pubs in this chain, this has to have been the best food we've had!

Thank the_stile_cafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean N, Manager at The New Holly, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your lovely praise of our venue. We have 9 fantastic places that are all unique and individual (however we are extra chuffed that you like ours best). We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We called up at 8.45 looking for a table as we had completed the 3 peak challenge in Yorkshire and I was told the kitchen shut in 15 minutes. Well this is a few minutes drive from the Travelodge so they were happy to take an order over the phone without a credit card so we ordered at 8.59! Turned up 10 minutes later and were greeted with warmth and awesome food. It's not cheap but worth paying the price for a lovely meal. Thank you

Thank Blasterchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean N, Manager at The New Holly, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hi Blasterchris,

We thoroughly enjoyed your visit after the groups completion of the fantastic three peaks challenge for a very worthy cause.

Our staff often go 'the extra mile' for our customers and I am happy you found time to write a glowing review of both their service and our great food!

If you are every around here again, with a new challenge or not, please call in and say hi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Good food, I had the chicken pie which was good although the filling was a bit thin on the ground. My wife had fish and unfortunately did find quite a few bones.

The place is nicely decorated, the staff are very friendly. Could of been a bit quicker bringing the mains out but no big issue.

Overall worth a visit.

Thank Hunny1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean N, Manager at The New Holly, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thanks for the 4 star review and hopefully you can come and try more from our full menu soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The New Holly is a nice drive out for us and was certainly worth the journey. We had been previously and always had a lovely meal and it has since been refurbished.
Again it did not disappoint. Both the food and the service were excellent.
Being Sundays we opted for the roast beef, which was presented wonderfully and tasted as amazing as it looked.
There is a children's menu available, which again came well presented and our 3 year old was quite excited about the the lovely little bucket his chips came in. We succumbed to desserts which again were delightful.
We will definitely be returning very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean N, Manager at The New Holly, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hi Julia B, just a quick reply to say a heartfelt thank you for all your kind words. Both myself and all our staff get a great buzz from receiving such high praise and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Holly also viewed

 
Preston, Lancashire
Dolphinholme, Lancaster District
 

Been to The New Holly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing