We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you think a B&B can't be as good as a hotel, think again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middle Holly Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Middle Holly Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you think a B&B can't be as good as a hotel, think again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed here for one night en route to Scotland but would have loved to have stayed much longer. We got a lovely warm welcome from Hilary who showed us to our beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean room before making sure we knew where we could go to get a good meal that evening.

You can tell that Ian and Hilary have travelled a lot - they have used their experiences of staying in other places to ensure that the rooms have the sort of touches that make all the difference (bottle of water, quality fittings/soft furnishings, bathroom well equiped, hospitality tray etc).

The thoughtful touches don't stop at the rooms either. There is a welcoming sitting room for guests, with a sofa and table and chairs, overlooking the pretty garden - great if you're on your own and don't want to look at the same 4 walls all evening.

Ian cooked a delicious breakfast in the morning and Ian and Hilary's friendliness meant we ended up leaving much later than intended and reluctant to go. You really can't get much better than that.

The only reason we give the location 4 stars instead of 5 is that you do get some traffic noise in the garden (which is really inviting with tables and chairs available for guests to sit at). This is a tiny quibble though and really not an issue (especially as we couldn't hear any noise from the road in the house).

Having a pub and a restaurant within easy walking distance is such a treat too (no drinking and driving worries here). Having arrived late, tired and thirsty we decided to eat at the pub. It didn't look very characterful but Hilary assured us the food there is good and she was right. It has a hugely extensive, and varied, menu that should appeal to anybody (and the beer is good too). We would recommend taking a torch though as the lane would be very dark to walk down on a cloudy night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Review_only_rarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
79
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Ian & Hillary are lovely, warm and very welcoming owners of this fantastic B&B!
It felt like home away from home. We were allowed to check in early in order to attend a wedding later in the day.
Rooms were Immaculate and well maintained. Owners have maintained a very high quality decor. Ample parking space & Location is minutes within M6 Motorway. Very well maintained gardens and common sitting area.
Breakfast was awesome - freshly prepared form local produce! Certainly the best full english I have ever tasted in a B&B.
Wish I could stay for couple more nights! Already planning my next visit.
Highly Recommended! This B&B has written superlatives all over it ;)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HrishiLonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

This is a fantastic bed and breakfast certainly five stars in my book - very quaint and beautiful building in the country side clean and modern rooms with luxury bathrooms.Not far from little villages and Lancaster city centre. It is run by Ian and Hillary who are fantastic hosts - the breakfast is out of this world and the service is fantastic. All this and the feeling of being at home because you are surrounded by nice people and for women on their own its nice and safe - try it - it is a must .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritaturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Notts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

After travelling extensively most of my life, I was recommended 'Little Holly' by a colleague, and I would like to thank you, Rita. I have stayed in a few places in and around Lancaster but blinking heck, I thought I had landed in heaven... Food (breakfast is a must), Comfort (the rooms have been well though out, especially for a female traveller), Peace (this is on the edge of heaven). Don't pass this one by it has definately got the WOW factor. Nothing is too much trouble for Hilary and Ian. Thank you for looking after me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Completely agree with other reviews - v friendly, comfortable and great breakfast. Always tempting to drive straight though this area on way to Lakes - but there is plenty to see here too. Convenient for trips to Forest of Bowland, Garstang, Lancaster and canals. If you like Indian food, there is also a good restaurant nearby

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odraccir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

A beautifully restored cottage with superb facilities. The bedrooms are well appointed and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and plenty of it. The hosts Ian and Hillary are very warm, welcoming and friendly, Free Wifi and parking, I would recommend to anyone seeking a quiet, luxurious couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnatjspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Ian & Hillary are wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are absolutely spotless and beautifully decorated. Breakfast choice was fantastic. We will definitley return. Good pubs and an Italian resturant close by. Very well positined for exploring NW England.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank johnwoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
4.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
0.8 mi away
Cleveleymere The Lake House
0.5 mi away
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Property: Middle Holly Cottage
Address: Forton PR3 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a war,friendly atmosphere.All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen tv,complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray.Large private car park.Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33,ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland.Serveral good pus and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Middle Holly Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing