We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middle Holly Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Middle Holly Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Excellent, clean, warm , excellent facilities and friendly welcoming hosts. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom modern and spotless. The breakfast had a lovely choice and really good quality

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
79
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Middle Holly last summer and just loved it. The folks made us so welcome, and I must say it was the best farmer's breakfast I've enjoyed in a long time. It was a delightful few days while we visited with my aunt nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Middle Holly Cottage is a great location for visiting our family north of Preston, Lancashire. Lovely house, great hosts, excellent breakfasts (my wife says thank you for the scrambled eggs and I say likewise for the sausages)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were welcomed by Ian into his well appointed and delightful home after we had endured a tortuous journey from the West Country. We had arranged this half-way stopover en route to a weeks holiday in Scotland. Our room was so comfortably furnished with those extra touches - a plate of fruit, a small of water and a bottle of fresh milk in the table-top 'fridge - as well as the usual tea/coffee/chocolate makings and biscuits - to support the weary travellers. After a good nights sleep we experienced "the breakfast of breakfasts" from our lovely hosts, Hilary and Ian, who ensured that our every wish was granted. A week later, on our way back home, we received the same warm and generous welcome to their beautiful Cottage. We felt that departed as friends - is was as if we has known Hilary and Ian for much longer than the two visits, such was their ability to provide their guests with a totally enjoyable experience

Room Tip: All the rooms would be of the very high standard that we enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a wonderful overnight stay here. We were impressed from the start by the welcome and the overall neatness and tidiness as we walked through the door. Once in the room, first impressions were confirmed, and the comfort factor was there to see .Everything was in place, including thoughtful touches like fresh milk and bottled water in a mini fridge to accompany the tea, coffee, biscuits etc.The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom shower was very welcome, with the accompanying toiletries.The cooked breakfast was very tasty, and all the food and drink items were fresh and guaranteed to build you up for the onward journey. We wouldn't hesitate to revisit and would highly recommend Middle Holly to those passing through or those visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just can't stop away from what I consider the best B&B in the UK.
Having stayed in other accommodation this is so superior.
Hilary & Ian are excellent hosts.
The breakfast, I consider the best I have ever had. Try the Bury Black Pudding!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My stay at Middle Holly Cottage last evening was booked at the last minute and arriving late on Sunday evening, I was greeted by a warm welcome from the proprietors. The room was well appointed, warm, very comfortable, spotlessly clean and had all the facilities I needed.
Following a good night's sleep in a quiet room appointed with a comfortable bed, I enjoyed a delicious English breakfast of freshly cooked local produce. Great value, superb!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
4.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
0.8 mi away
Cleveleymere The Lake House
0.5 mi away
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Property: Middle Holly Cottage
Address: Forton PR3 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a war,friendly atmosphere.All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen tv,complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray.Large private car park.Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33,ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland.Serveral good pus and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Middle Holly Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing