We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gets better & Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Middle Holly Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
reading
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just gets better & Better”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Can't let this visit go without saying Mid Holly Cottage just keeps on getting better.
Ian and Hilary just make you so welcome.
The rooms are brilliant, latest is a mini fridge to keep your bottle of water and the milk for your tea or coffee cool.
Breakfast is still the best.
Hilary has done a brilliant job painting the stairs etc.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. We like the barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
89
23
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our third stay here. Ian and Hillary were as welcoming as ever, serving their usual high quality breakfast on the way up. On the way home we chose to leave early and tried their take away version which was just as good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuildersMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A very enjoyable and relaxing stay for only one night. A peaceful and very comfortable, warm room. Excellent shower bathroom, all very modern and spotlessly clean. A fantastic breakfast the next day. Ian and Hilary give you very helpful advice about the area. A lovely meal in the nearby recommended pub was very useful. We intend to return again and stay longer.

Room Tip: barn is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandHilaryYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here on 26th May as a stopover. We booked the barn on recommendations on here. Glad we did. I can assure you the fixtures fittings and bedding is outstanding. I even made the point of saying the bedding is something you would get in a 5 star hotel. The room was warm and comfortable. Ian's welcome made us feel at home and showing us around the B & B and for places to eat.

The standard of this B & B is one which I feel would outshine most hotels and I am sure if you stay here you would feel the same. The breakfast next morning was a delight and set us up for the day.

Would I stay here again, you bet.

Long may the success of this B & B continue and Ian & Hilary you are a credit to the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Every thing about this B/B is excellent and can be highly recommended. The standard is one which most expensive hotels fail to achieve yet Ian and Hilary's relaxed and friendly attitude quickly puts their guests at ease. This B/B is a credit to the tourist industry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wotersay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were made very much at home in cheerful bright clean accommodation. The breakfasts were delightful and the quantity enough to last until tea time.
Ian and Hilary gave us lots of travel information as well as other interesting information.
The location was very central for all our touring.
When we left we felt like we were leaving family.
You won't find better.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to attend a local wedding. The room was very tastefully decorated and was in fact far nicer than some of the most expensive hotels I have stayed in. Breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritso351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
2.2 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
211 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,329 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
1.0 mi away
The Priory
The Priory
#1 of 1 in Scorton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Property: Middle Holly Cottage
Address: Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a warm, friendly atmosphere. All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen TV, complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray. Large private car park. Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33, ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland. Several good pubs and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Middle Holly Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing