We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Middle Holly Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This wonderful little B&B has been very lovingly and thoughtfully upgraded in recent years to create a first class place to stay. Everything, from the warm welcome on arrival to the excellent breakfast made my stay very pleasant. This B&B is very reasonably priced for such a high standard of accommodation and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience of staying there.

Room Tip: Contact the B&B directly to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent a night here. The accommodation is very comfortable, the welcome was warm and friendly and the cooked breakfast was superb.
The beds were very comfortable and we were surprised by the high quality of the facilities. Ian was very informative and helpful in directing us to a suitable place for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ian & Hilary have really got it right, they provide a superb B&B which is spotless clean and everything finished to a very high standard. The room, bed and large on-suite was faultless with the room kept nice and warm . The breakfast was absolutely delicious with all local produce used.
Well done to you both as you provide a first class B&B. If you are looking to stay in this area we can certainly recommend a stopover here, one we will definitely use again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which overlooks the road but with the double glazing we had no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Ian and Hilary are lovely hosts and they have a wonderful home for guests. All areas are clean and welcoming. Rooms have everything you may need - I used the hot water bottle which was a lovely touch! Breakfast was absolutely delicious.
Definitely recommend if you are coming to the area!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ChicagoCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is how it should be done! Hilary & Ian are the perfect hosts, The cottage is very cosy whilst still offering a guests lounge and many facilities.
My wife & I stayed in room 1, This gave me probably one of the best nights sleep that I had benefitted from in some years, and after investigating I discovered that the matresses were Memory Foam. So now ordering one for our bed immediately!
The breakfast was amazing!!
The place was immaculately kept! spotlessly clean! & a joy to stay in! Home from home! OUTSTANDING!
We will be back , rest assured!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LESASTRELLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent. Extremely clean room and we were made very welcome by our hosts. They couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, nothing was a problem. It was like a home from home. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hosts are charming, the room cosy and scrupulously clean and the breakfast excellent. I do a lot of travelling for my work and Middle Holly Cottage is one of the best B&Bs I've stayed at. I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation and will definitely return when in the area again (if they'd have me back!) 5 stars for both the room and the hosts!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Address: Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wyre District > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range: $109 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a warm, friendly atmosphere. All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen TV, complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray. Large private car park. Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33, ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland. Several good pubs and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Middle Holly Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing