We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A golfer's paradise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middle Holly Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A golfer's paradise!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

My golfing friends and I have stayed here about four times over the last two years when we have been golfing in the area. It is without doubt a superb place to stay. The rooms and breakfast are top class. Ian and Hilary are great hosts and we are already looking forward to staying with them again next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireTelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
83
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed 11 nights at Middle Holly Cottage and found it to be just perfect. It is 5* quality and both Ian and Hilary were so kind and helpful on a number of issues. One of the best B and Bs we have ever stayed at! We heartily agree with the other reviews!

Mr. and Mrs. N

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V&RLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at Middle Holly Cottage for the first time Saturday 15th October. It was to be our last night away before our baby is born. We wanted a nice relaxing night, in comfortable surroundings and that is exactly what we got. We stayed in the barn which is a room on its own at the back of the property, it was very clean and tastefully decorated. The cottage is set in lovely grounds with a very pretty garden and Hilary and Ian were very welcoming. Last but not least the breakfast was lovely too! We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is the third time we've stayed here this year! Once again the accommodation was perfect, there really is no negatives with this lovely B&B. I very rarely grade accommodation excellent but with Middle Holly I struggle not to. Not only is it tasefully decorated and spotlessley clean, Hilary and Ian are extremely friendly and helpful and they serve a great breakfast. It's situated in a great location and easy to find. There is a very nice italian restaurant within walking distance as well as a good pub and fish and chip shop, that offer other choices. There's also a really lovely 'foodey' pub (Bay Horse} within 5 minutes by car. The area is great for walkers, cyslists as well as those who like beautiful scenery or historical villages and towns (only a few miles from Lancaster). If you're travelling to the Lakes or Scotland and want somewhere to stop on the way or you just fancy a nice weekend away, I'm sure you'll love Middle Holly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_mallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Have stayed several times and it just gets better. If this is not perfection we are not sure what is

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Lovely house set in a very pretty garden. Warm welcome from Ian and Hilary, attentive and caring hosts. Cosy well appointed room and tasty breakfast. An excellent place to break our long journey. Will go back next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Ian and Hilary were perfect hosts,with lots of extras like big fluffy dressing gowns and really well stocked tea tray. So much choice for breakfast and all beautifully prepared. Great italian restaurant just three minutes walk away. We really enjoyed all the cycle paths in the area. they are Lancashire's best kept secrets. Definately going back again next year as so much left to see and will be staying at Middle Hiolly Cottage when we do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
4.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cleveleymere The Lake House
0.5 mi away
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Property: Middle Holly Cottage
Address: Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a warm, friendly atmosphere. All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen TV, complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray. Large private car park. Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33, ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland. Several good pubs and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middle Holly Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing