We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Bentham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first class”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

After a visit to Barton Grange my wife and I went to the New Holly for lunch and I must say its one of the best meals out we have had for a long time.
The service was prompt and welcoming with friendly staff. The starters and main meals looked very nice and tasted fantastic.
My wife had the black pudding starter followed by the chicken Kiev and I had king prawn and crab fishcakes followed by Piri Piri steak fajitas .
We could not fault a single thing with the food ,and the sauces that came with black pudding and chicken Kiev made the meal fantastic.
All in all a very good dining experience, and whilst we were waiting for our food we registered on line with there website and received a voucher for £10 of our next visit.
Well done The New Holly .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean N, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review of our business. It makes all our hard work all the more worth while when one of our valuable customers takes the time to write a little about their experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to The New Holly again in the near future (where you can hopefully use your £10 voucher!) and hopefully impressing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    52
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
68
73
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, East Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were visiting Blackpool on a recent Saturday, with a view to popping into Lake Windermere the following day. We found this Bed and Breakfast on Hotels.com paying £56 for the night. As other reviewers have noted, it's not a B&B in the traditional sense, which isn't a bad thing in our opinion. It's basically a hotel over a pub. The family room we had didn't look as "fancy" as the rooms in the photos on the website, but was perfectly acceptable for us after a busy day in Blackpool. The beds were comfy, and there were enough toiletries in the shower room for us as a family and plenty of towels too. The shower was incredibly clean, in fact I don't think I've ever seen a glass shower enclosure so free of water marks.. well done to whoever cleans them!

We decided to have tea in the pubs restaurant. It was well set out, with nice looking furniture, and soft lighting. The lighting was probably a bit too soft, and I had to use my phone to illuminate the menu so I could see it :-) lighting problems aside the food arrived quickly.

My Wife and I ordered Supreme Chicken Kiev's. In fairness the presentation of the food looked great, but the tastes were a bit of a let down, with the food being pretty bland tasting. It was ok, but it was pricey for what it was. I don't know why food in our country is so often lacking in taste compared to other countries. Regardless it was nice to have a break and wind down after a hectic day.

Sleep wise, we had a pleasant evening rest. Breakfast was as stated elsewhere a selection of cereals, pre-packaged muffins and croissants. There was plenty of choice, and lots of hot drinks to make yourself. Certainly convenient for us as a family.

We would certainly recommend the place without hesitation.

Thanks for reading

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean N, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello RichCLayton and thank you for the review. I have shown your review to our staff and housekeeper and they were all very happy with the mainly positive things you had to say. I have passed on your comments about the kievs to the chef and he has taken them on board.

We are glad that you will recommend and use us again in the future - and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The portions were huge so we felt over faced with food but otherwise it was OK. The staff very friendly and offered good service. The wine selection as a little limited. Very handy for the B&B we were staying at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Jelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean N, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi Wibble_Northampton,

First of all can I just say thank you from the staff for your kind words about their service. We do appreciate the point about the portions being large, but are happy to cater for individual needs if asked. Our chef works on the basis that he wants to give quality and value; and we find that over all our venues that our portions are correct for the cuisine we provide. We appreciate that people may have different size appetites, but we get a lot of return trade as no one leaves hungry!

Thanks again for the review and we hope you will try us again soon - just mention you don't want quite as much on the plate and we will do the rest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lunch today at 2 courses for £6.95. What amazing value.have to admit we do go quite often to the Punchbowl and the New Holly but today the soup of the day was spicy carrot. OMG it was to die for. It's the best soup I 've ever had in my life! I could have forgone the main course and had two more bowls of soup!!! Having said that the gammon to follow was excellent. Value for money is second to none. If you haven't tried the New Holly then do. Paul the Manager is one of the best and runs the show very, very well. You won't be disappointed. Sorry to hear you are going back to Ireland Paul your bouncy happy personality will be missed but I know your Staff will follow on from you. Best wishes to you for the future. Ireland gains!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean N, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks for your very kind words. The staff were all very happy when they read all the lovely things you had to say about your visit. We were sad to lose Paul, however we are all working hard to maintain the high service standards and bubbly atmosphere that was here before! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and introducing the new team to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

excellent value with the luxury room, breakfast is as described, boxes or cereal,, chocolate twirlsyummm etc for breakfast with plenty of tea and coffee supplies. the service was excellent as we shown up 30 mins before check-in and we were shown straight to our room. when I walked into the room it was an eye opener!! Luxury is the right word to use, very gothic boutique.this room would be £150-£200 in the Lake district. Freeview, DVD player, printer sofa etc, the room overall was very clean and had lots of home comforts. Couldn't find a bad point about this hotel. Overall excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Highly recommend you upgrade to the Luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean N, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
First of all can I just say thanks for the wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed the stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our venue again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After all the batteries had packed up, and readers, im talking 2 IPhones, an Ipad and a a further smart phone, my sister an i eventually found a bed for the night, not a lot to ask for on our exciting road journey!!
The New Holly at Thorton, was found, and let me say, this was a very extremely challenging encounter!!!!
33 minutes later, we arrived at our destination, and what a pleasant surprise!
Nothing was too much trouble from start to finish, staff very assertive, went out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible!
Rooms, what a bargain, £59 for Sis and I and that included, continental breakfast in your rooms! Rooms very boutique, everything you'd expect from a 4* , restaurant and food couldn't be faulted, certainly could give any town centre establishment a run for there money!
Paul, our host for the evening was totally charming !
A winner
One negative comment, please get rid of the Ketup and Mayo Sachets and please, homemade biscuits with the coffee!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cagzy929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi! Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed Pauls company and charm! I hope you would choose the New Holy at stay at again next time you are up this way! Obviously we are a busy main road establishment, and some things we provide are for convenience and speed, ie the sauces and biscuits. But your comments on this have been taken on board and will be considered when assessing our service! I look forward to seeing you again soon, again thank you for taking time out to leave us a fantastic review. Kind regards, Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Paid £59 per night for the accommodation. This was a newly refurbished room of excellent quality. Superb value for money. Very friendly member of staff checked us in as we sat in the sunshine having a cold beer. Recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice little review, very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is an ideal place to use as a base if you are going out walking, so glad you found us and I hope you will think to stay with us again next time you are up this way! Hopefully see you again soon in the near future, Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
3.9 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,321 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Middle Holly Cottage
Middle Holly Cottage
#1 of 2 in Forton
166 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#1 of 1 in Dolphinholme
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Holly Country Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Holly Country Pub & Inn

Property: The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Address: The Hollies A 6 Lancaster Road, Forton PR3 0BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Holly Country Pub & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The New Holly Country Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing