We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class food and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First class food and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Have enjoyed a fantastic lunch at the New Holly today, we were a table of seven, out to celebrate my birthday. Our 5 year old grandson really enjoyed his gammon and chunky chips, as did his dad and his 86 year old great grandad. We would particularly recommend the fishcakes and the garlic mushrooms (starters) - but all the dishes we ordered were 'spot on' and my fillet steak was beautifully cooked. One word of warning though, if you are thinking of ordering the Irish Burger then starve yourself for about three days before your visit - it's huge!! Everything was lovely and hot, the food well presented and the staff were super - really helpful and attentive without being overpowering. Considering we all had starters and main courses (would have had pudds too but far too full!) and we had a couple of drinks/coffees each the bill was very reasonable. We will certainly be dining again there soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We seem to have a reputation for our Irish Steak Burger! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your visit, I hope you decide to visit us again (don't forget not to eat beforehand if you're having a burger!!) Rachelle :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    51
    22
    8
    12
See reviews for
67
71
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend decided to have a drive out and a bite to eat on a Saturday afternoon and decided to go the the new holly as some friends had reccomened it . We received a warm and friendly welcome from Paul he told us we could sit where we wanted and attentively came and took out drinks order and brought the menus. There was a good variety of choice on the menu , We both decided to go for the 2 courses for £9.95 we ordered the chicken wings which were very delicious and well presented. Our main course was fish n chips which was presented on a plate with fish and chip paper and came with a little pan of mushy peas which looked great the fish was devious and lightly battered not greasy at all ! We were very full so decided not to have a desert even though the desert menu looked good. We would highly recommend this place it was excellent service the staff were great, the food brilliant and not over priced ! Definately be returning :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review Mel! Im very glad you enjoyed your visit, and our fabulous 2 course lunch menu! We hope to see you both again soon :) Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

As we walked through the door into the hotel, Paul, who had just taken over as the manager, met us and took our bags and asked if we wanted a drink while he checked us in. He was extremely friendly and suggested we leave our cases while we checked that the room was acceptable. It was more than acceptable, as it had recently been completely refurbished to a very high standard. This included having dressing gowns and slippers! We had booked this offer through Travelzoo and a 3 course evening meal was included in the price. Despite the restaurant being very busy Paul was very attentive and treated us as well as the other diners. The food was very good, although my duck was not as pink as I would have liked! The bed was very comfortable and we had a really good nights sleep. The continental breakfast was already in our room,cereals, pastries, muffins, fruit juice and there were small cartons of fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge. All in all, we could not have asked for any more from our stay. We hope to stay here again some time in the future and wish Paul all the best in his new venture.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was more of a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi Margaret, thank you very much for your kind words in your review. It goes without saying that we always endeavour to ensure all our guests leave with a very positive oppinion of our business, and on this occasion we have done just that. Thank ou very much for choosing to stay here with us, and we hope that you will be visiting us again very soon! Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

A classic example of looking great but failing to deliver. The menu is fairly restricted and for pub grub vastly overpriced. We were greeted by a staff member who told us we didn't need to wait to be seated despite ther being a large sign telling us to wait. Our drinks order came quick enough and then we placed our food order. After about 25 mins it arrived. Three dishes.
Fish and chips - looked impressive, but was greasy and lacked flavour. The chips were underdone frozen chips. Now if you're going to charge £12.75 for fish and chips make sure it's good.
Gammon steak - dry and over cooked with skinny anaemic fries.

The third dish was ok in our friends opinion but nothing great. And seriously, £12 plus mains and you serve sauce in sachets!

The manager asked if we enjoyed our food, but probably realised that we hadn't as most of it was still on the plates.Credit where it's due though, he didn't charge for the food. However, we'd rather have had a decent meal and paid than ave to think about finding somewhere else to eat.

It's unlikely I will return as there are so any better places in the area to eat. My advice to the management, mystery guest this site. You'd be disappointed as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigtoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Many thanks for your review Craig... I can only apologise that your visit was not up to standards, and that you did not enjoy your food. I have taken all the comments you have left on board and it goes without saying that I shall use these to ensure this type of situation does not happen again. As you mentioned, you would not return to us so may I thank you for your custom thus far, and for you taking the time to leave a review and also aide us to improve our service and standards. Many thanks again, Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This was my first trip to the New Holly. I always drive past and I'm glad we went there. The food is excellent quality and delicious. And two courses for £9.95 at lunch was value for money.
Very much enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lady_lolo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! Our two course lunch is very popular with both our regular and new custiomers, Im happy you enjoyed it! We do change the menu every couple of days so I hope you'll choose to pop in and see us again sometime! Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Absolutely awful.

We got to the room, stains on wall, toilet was dirty, kids beds were like camp beds, wires hanging out of TV - Manager advised that privious customer had nicked the Digital BOX, also advised that the Kettle had been nicked a little earlier (In front of my daughter, which made her really uncomfortable).

Went down to get refreshments at the bar, only to be told it was closed.

Decided to go out for a drive and was that relieved at leaving the place, we kept driving and decided not to return. found a decent hotel, would not recommend the New Holly at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lpb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi, firstly thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your visit here with us earlier this year. May I apologise for your experience, as this is clearly not what we want to offer to our customers, and certainly not the opinion of us that we want them to leave with. Myself and Paul came here in late March/April, and have been working extremely hard on building on and improving the quality of service, first impressions, and standards that we offer our customers. I can confidently say that things have seen a large improvement over the last few months, and the hotel rooms are under ongoing refurbishments to improve their standard. This is reflected in the positive reviews we have been receiving on here. Whilst I appreciate that you have said you would not return to us, I do hope that at some point in the future if you are passing you would pop in for a visit, and the impression that you leave with would be a much more positive one. If you feel there is anything further that you would like to discuss with me personally then please do not hesitate to contact myself or Paul at the New Holly. With kind regards, Rachelle - Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

i went with my husband to celebrate my birthday. we started with the black pudding and prawn starters, the black pudding was outstanding, the prawns were in a sauce that was nothing special but good. for mains my husband had the burger and i ordered the duck. the burger was cooked beautifully but the chips were a disappointment. my duck was overcooked, but this was sorted by the restaurant manager and when it came back it was cooked to absolute perfection. unfortunately there was a small problem with the sauce, Andrew the restaurant manager was amazing and very lovely. he sorted everything out and went out of his way to help us. sadly, nobody came to ask how the food was until the starter plates were taken away. even after these hiccups we will definitely go back and eat there again. thank you Andrew for your help, without you and your personal customer care we would have left very disappointed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepeachyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, all your comments regards the service have been taken on - we are constantly training the staff and aiming to achieve even higher standards, so thank you for pointing out these issues to us. I hope to see you again at the New Holly. Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
3.9 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
3.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#1 of 1 in Dolphinholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Middle Holly Cottage
Middle Holly Cottage
#1 of 2 in Forton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Mill at Conder Green
The Mill at Conder Green
#3 of 25 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Holly Country Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Holly Country Pub & Inn

Property: The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Address: The Hollies A 6 Lancaster Road, Forton PR3 0BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Holly Country Pub & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Holly Country Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing