We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

i went with my husband to celebrate my birthday. we started with the black pudding and prawn starters, the black pudding was outstanding, the prawns were in a sauce that was nothing special but good. for mains my husband had the burger and i ordered the duck. the burger was cooked beautifully but the chips were a disappointment. my duck was overcooked, but this was sorted by the restaurant manager and when it came back it was cooked to absolute perfection. unfortunately there was a small problem with the sauce, Andrew the restaurant manager was amazing and very lovely. he sorted everything out and went out of his way to help us. sadly, nobody came to ask how the food was until the starter plates were taken away. even after these hiccups we will definitely go back and eat there again. thank you Andrew for your help, without you and your personal customer care we would have left very disappointed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepeachyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, all your comments regards the service have been taken on - we are constantly training the staff and aiming to achieve even higher standards, so thank you for pointing out these issues to us. I hope to see you again at the New Holly. Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    52
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
68
73
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Me and my sister decided to go here after hearing great things, we were not disappointed. We both had starters which were delicious! Would recommend the fish cakes. The decor is very inviting with open fires and pleasent surroundings. The service was excellent, very friendly staff.
Will definitely be returning very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah8416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi Sarah, thank you for your kind comments, and for your custom. Im glad you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out Rawcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our first visit here, food was very good. Staff were excellent, got a very warm welcome, great service and took time out to chat, found them passionate about the place and proud of it. Would definatley return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review Karen, and for your valued custom and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I went with my hubby an 2 boys today after a friend told me how family friendly it was. I have a child with autism so this is very important to me. One of the young girls in there was great an made a real effort. The other looked at him like he was a freak. I didn't say anything as this was my early Mother's Day meal. The menu was very over priced. My hubby and I both had burger an chips. The meat was discussing. So greasy. My youngest had fish an chips. He enjoyed his.My eldest had chicken covered in breadcrumbs that was so hard he couldn't eat them. We paid £70 for our meals an soft drinks. Total waist of money. On leaving my kids needed the toilet. I thought it was terrible that baby's highchairs was stacked up next to the toilet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi LIsa,

I am very sorry that your last visit with us was not what you were expecting. As I was not working on the day that you visited us, I can only go off the review that you have left and apologise for the impression you have been left with of the New Holly. In terms of the food that we serve, if there are any problems we always endeavour to change anything that is not up to standard, nothing is too much much of a problem for us. We have taken all your comments on board, and are working really hard to ensure that everyones visit here with us is a positive one.

I would hope that in the future you would take the time to visit us again, and hopefully we can turn this negative outcome into a positive one. In the meantime should you wish to discuss your visit with me personally please do not hesitate to contact me at the New Holly.

Many thanks, Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancahire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A large very demanding family of 14 descended on 30th Dec for a 2/3 night stay.we were welcomed by Tom and shown to our rooms,room 5 was fabulous and recently refurbed along with the downstairs bar and restaraunt,the remaining rooms were a little dated but clean and comfortable and are scheduled for refurb this year.we ate several times during our stay and the food was fantastic beautifuly presented large portions and delicious lots of choice as well.the service at all times was excellent nothing was to much trouble for the staff they went out of their way to make us feel at home they were friendly and polite even though they were working very long shifts over the new year period.new years eve started with a fabulous 5 course meal prepared by John and then a DJ with music and dancing until 5am.our party ranged from a toddler, 40 somethings,teenagers and oaps we all went to bed tired and happy after one of the best New Years Eve's we have had in a long time.will definately be going back.Thanks guys you did a terrific job,Thanks for making us feel so welcome and for all your hard work Mandy and family

Room Tip: room 5 is the only one to be refurbed at the moment however it is at the front of the hotel and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are very pleased you chose the New Holy to see in the New Year, and that you enjoyed your visit as much as you did! As you mentioned, all the rooms are scheduled for a refurbishment this year, so hopefully if you choose to see in 2014 with us, you will be able to enjoy the newly decorated rooms! We take all comments on board and as you mentioned the traffic does cause some noise however with us being on a main road this is unfortunately unavoidable! We were very pleased to have you stay with us, and we will hopefully see you and your family here again for any family celebration! Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a lovely lunch here. Myself, my partner and my parents are always looking for new places to eat. This one will definitely be added to the list.

The staff are very friendly but not overbearing. We chose different meals, chicken gammon and leek pie very tasty. The Irish burger apparently one of the nicest burgers my partner has had.

If there was a niggle it was a small one we had a garlic bread which was a bit dry for my taste.

However overall a very enjoyable visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review Carol, we take all comments on board here and I have passed onto the chef your comment about the garlic bread, so next time you visit us this should be perfect! Thank you for your custom and we shall see you again soon :) Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were recommended to come here by the owner of John Charles Caravans after we had viewed a caravan. We had come from Anglesey with three children ages 7/9/11 and we were not looking our best having been sledging in Snowdonia before travelling up and not expecting to go out for dinner. We were given a very warm and genuine welcome. The menu was good and had lots of choice for the children. They had a special offer on where if the adults had two courses, one of the main courses was only charged at £1 which made the price for a family of 5 very reasonable. The portions were large and freshly cooked. Would definitely come again if I was in this neck of the woods.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you Glynneth for your kind review of our business, Im very pleased that you had enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again the next time you are up this way! Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
3.9 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Middle Holly Cottage
Middle Holly Cottage
#1 of 2 in Forton
166 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#1 of 1 in Dolphinholme
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Holly Country Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Holly Country Pub & Inn

Property: The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Address: The Hollies A 6 Lancaster Road, Forton PR3 0BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Holly Country Pub & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The New Holly Country Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing