We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a lovely lunch here. Myself, my partner and my parents are always looking for new places to eat. This one will definitely be added to the list.

The staff are very friendly but not overbearing. We chose different meals, chicken gammon and leek pie very tasty. The Irish burger apparently one of the nicest burgers my partner has had.

If there was a niggle it was a small one we had a garlic bread which was a bit dry for my taste.

However overall a very enjoyable visit

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BlackpoolCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review Carol, we take all comments on board here and I have passed onto the chef your comment about the garlic bread, so next time you visit us this should be perfect! Thank you for your custom and we shall see you again soon :) Rachelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 225 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were recommended to come here by the owner of John Charles Caravans after we had viewed a caravan. We had come from Anglesey with three children ages 7/9/11 and we were not looking our best having been sledging in Snowdonia before travelling up and not expecting to go out for dinner. We were given a very warm and genuine welcome. The menu was good and had lots of choice for the children. They had a special offer on where if the adults had two courses, one of the main courses was only charged at £1 which made the price for a family of 5 very reasonable. The portions were large and freshly cooked. Would definitely come again if I was in this neck of the woods.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you Glynneth for your kind review of our business, Im very pleased that you had enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again the next time you are up this way! Rachelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As soon as we walked in we were greeted by friendly , welcoming staff . The service was excellent . The food was fantastic . Well presented, good portions , didn't have to wait long . Can't fault it . Will be going again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairelorobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, General Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review Claire, I'm very glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon at The New Holly! Rachelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We visited for Sunday lunch and really enjoyed it. Great first impressiosn as we were greeted warmly at the door and the decor is very nice. The full menu was till on offer along with the Sunday menu and we were spoilt for choice. Everything we ordered was lovely and the service was very good. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chreoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about us, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Thanks again tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Called at the New Holly on Wednesday evening on our way home from Birmingham. The food as usual was excellent.

This is our 3rd visit since Bowland Inns took over and have they got it right.

Wealso visited last week at lunchtime and the Punchbowl at Churchtown had lost power due to electricity going down in the village so what did they do? They dispatched the Customers to the New Holly to finish off their lunches. Wht great service.

It was quite amusing with people announcing that they'd had their first course at the Punchbowl and were now ordering mains in the New Holly!

We hoped that the electricity wouldn't go off in the New Holly otherwise they might have had to go to The Plough (also in the Bowland Inns Group) for desserts and coffee!!!

Fantastic Service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you soo much for your kind words about all of our group, obviously when the punchbowl lost power the natural instinct is to panic but all credit to our team down the road they didnt and provided a great service to keep all you guys happy by sending you to us and i am so happy that you enjoyed the rest of your meal with us. Thanks for taking the time to recognise us :) tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here last night. Not all that familiar with the area and booked online, but don't think I could have made a more perfect choice! I booked the family room for myself, my partner and two children. Received a warm Northern welcome from the moment we walked into the tastefully presented bar/restaurant area. Room was immaculately clean and hugely spacious. En-suite a total modern delight! This place is currently having all the bedrooms refurbed and I was allowed a peek at the 'work in progress'... Tres luxurious and plush! We didn't dine there, but there were lots of people eating there and the menu looked delicious! We were able to put the children to bed and enjoy a relaxed evening in the bar and were waited on at our table with drinks by very attentive staff. I travel a lot with work so have stayed at numerous establishments and am very exacting, but this place could truly not be faulted... Totally superb! Many thanks for a pleasurable stay! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C69x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

i would just like to say thank you for your kind words and im so happy you enjoyed your stay with us (by the way the first room to be renovated is now completely finished so make sure you request the feature room 5 next time you come to visit) we will hopefully see you again very soon!! Thanks again tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

new holly decor beautifull, lovely log burner, staff very good service, food is ace , only fault is you get too much food , could not eat 3course meal, but that was us 4 females! plenty of parking too or is bus stops right out side new holly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Gina thank you very much for your kind words about us at the new holly, its always nice to hear when our hard work pays off so thanks for taking time out of your schedule to acknowledge us :)
tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
4.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
0.3 mi away
Middle Holly Cottage
Middle Holly Cottage
#1 of 2 in Forton
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Holly Country Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Holly Country Pub & Inn

Address: The Hollies A 6 Lancaster Road, Forton PR3 0BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wyre District > Forton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range: $88 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Holly Country Pub & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The New Holly Country Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing