We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food & Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food & Great Service”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I dined at the New Holly with a couple of friends and to say we were impressed would be an understatement
Paul and the staff were excellent from the moment we walked into the room – his uniquely warm, friendly and humorous style of greeting gave us all a great Irish welcome
Paul was specifically knowledgeable and helpful with menu selections and the staff remained attentive throughout, turning an ordinary evening out into an evening we will remember for some time
This newly refurbished pub is clean and comfortable and the overall ambiance is great.
The food was fabulously cooked and extremely well presented - the New Holly obviously has a gem of a chef
I would encourage any prospective diners to view the menu beforehand on the website as there is so much choice you may well struggle to make a decision which will only delay the gastronomic treat you have in store - any such delay would however allow you to sample their 'something for everyone' wine selection
In line with other reviewer's comments I would suggest that you hang fire on your dessert selection - the main course portions are so generous that you may well not have room for much more than a coffee
I don't usually write reviews but this one really is deserved
It leaves me just to say – we will be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian3766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our food and the service you received when dining with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    52
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
68
73
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by the taxi driver as we were originally on our way to eat at the Priory. It's a newly refurbed modern pub and the service was ok, except the waiter didn't know the menu at all and couldn't recommend anything.
Whilst waiting to order we were given a crusty white roll, no choice of brown or white bread, but as it was unexpected was ok. I ordered as burger, which when it arrived had 3 huge burgers in a bread roll, impossible to eat so removed 2 of the burgers which was far too much for one serving. My partner liked his fish and chips but again, far too much and had to leave some (which he never normally does). I'm told as we are from the south that the huge portions are a northern thing (which I can't believe is true).
All in all the food was ok, pub grub, not a very modern menu, we spent £45 for 2 mains, a bottle of red wine and a beer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieChabs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review, we like to hear these kind of comments to help further us as a business and we take on board everything said to try and better ourselves. Im sad you didnt enjoy your visit but more staff training for the front of house team has now been done to further their knowledge of the menu so we can help customers with recomendations as well as a menu review. If you would like to speak further about your visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the pub. Thanks Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Popped in for lunch today with family and must say was not disappointed!!
For a Tuesday lunchtime right after half term this place was busy! (Always a good indication of a decent place in my humble opinion) it was a catch up with family who live down south so we weren’t in any particular hurry, we could see the staff were busy however we were swiftly shown to a table by a lovely young lady, menus explained and drinks order taken. Now, we didn’t choose off this menu but the lunchtime specials menu is FANTASTIC VALUE , however we opted for black pudding which was delicious my only criticism would be the shower of chives the plate had to endure, but this is purely down to my own personal hatred of the pesky green things, and my partner didn’t mind one bit and loved the flash of colour. Despite how busy they obviously were the staff were polite, and the service was great.
The STEAKS... OMG to die for, well cooked and with numerous choices of potatoes and the usual side dishes, sauces etc. DELICIOUS. Utterly stuffed and couldn’t manage a dessert but they looked and smelled very nice so will definitely be back soon.
great stuff!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adviceangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words about us here at the new holly, im glad we were able to keep you guys happy and very much look forward to seeing you again soon, the lunchtime menu is very good value for money so make sure you try that next time you are with us and seen as you like your steaks, Monday night is steak night every week. Thanks again Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Went for an evening meal with a group of friends recently. Have to say the decor is beautiful and you immediately feel comfortable. The food really was outstanding, i had some mushroom soup to start which was great, but the main event was the Ribeye Steak. It was Massive! More importantly it was cooked to perfection, and i must say i really enjoyed it. I had no room for dessert but spent the rest of the evening being well looked after by the staff, who were very attentive and couldnt have been nicer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Kieran thank you so much for your kind words, im very glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed your night with us at the new holly and we look forward to when you are next with us, oh and just a personal recomendation try the Fillet next time that my favourite. Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent a wonderful evening catching up with friends at the newly refurbished New Holly and was very impressed. The Welcome from the staff upon arrival was warm and friendly. The menu had a great selection to choose from, and the quality of the food was really good and well cooked, and decent portions sizes. Really enjoyed the stuffed mushroom starter followed by Duo of Duck, both were exceptionally tasty.
The atmosphere was good, and the surroundings are fresh and modern. The wood burning stove would be absolutely brilliant come winter to sit and enjoy your drinks around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Jonno, thanks for your kind comment im very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us at the new holly and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon. Tom
p.s the wood burner is now lit so when you come back give us a ring and request a table near it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Came here at the weekend with a large group of friends. We were very well looked after, staff were attentive and service was excellent. I had the duck spring rolls to start, and the sweet chilli salmon, both of which were delicious. The place was very nicely decorated, with a good atmosphere. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Elanor thanks very much for your kind words and im glad we were able to look after your large party, we are always working to keep the consistency and improve ourselves so im glad to hear its paying off. See you again very soon. Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Decided to try the New Holly,went with my best mate to celebrate my birthday.Very nice inside,tastesful decor.The staff especially Tom were friendly and very helpful.The food was excellent and was presented well,we both really enjoyed our night out and will be back very soon.They could give The Sparlings a run for the money!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at The New Holly Country Pub & Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, its nice to hear you had a good evening with us celebrating your birthday, We hope to see you guys again very soon, Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
3.9 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
3.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#1 of 1 in Dolphinholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Middle Holly Cottage
Middle Holly Cottage
#1 of 2 in Forton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Mill at Conder Green
The Mill at Conder Green
#3 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Holly Country Pub & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Holly Country Pub & Inn

Property: The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Address: The Hollies A 6 Lancaster Road, Forton PR3 0BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Holly Country Pub & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The New Holly Country Pub & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing