We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but tries so hard to be trendy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Braunschweig
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Braunschweig
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
246 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice, but tries so hard to be trendy”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

From the check-in reception behind the bar to the flowered "Have a Beautiful Day" shower curtain in the bathroom, this hotel screams "I'm modern and cool! Notice me!" The good thing about it is they're consistent, with little trendy touches throughout the hotel and rooms.

The room was clean and comfortable, with fairly nice towels and bed linens. The decor is colorful and the staff vibrant. Maybe the business guests enjoy staying here because it's such a change from a dreary day at the office.

Internet is not included in the room price, but breakfast is. I'm confused about why modern hotels in today's society would not provide free internet for their guests. That is a huge drawback.

The location is good, and I would recommend staying here.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank elizarenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWEPH, Manager at pentahotel Braunschweig, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Dear,

thank you very much for your comments and feedback reflecting back on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to read that your stay was most comfortable. I am also pleased to inform you that we have introduced free WIFI Service throughout the hotel and public areas.

We hope to welcome you back with us again in the near future.

With best regards

Silke Ney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    410
    155
    47
    19
See reviews for
106
292
44
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

First thing we notice when we enter the hotel is the bar counter. That double up as a hotel counter. Check-in is painless as all the staff speaks excellent english. Rooms are of a good size with comfortable bed. Wireless is chargeable and so if you can get a good discount on mobile plan with Data, you may not need it. Location of the hotel is great, short distance to the central area where all the views, food and shops are.
Breakfast is a little pricey and simple but tasty with good selection.
Small fitness center with 4 pieces of equipment good enough for light exercise. Comes with a Sauna great for winter time.
First water bottle is free, the rest is not. Make sure to purchase water before Sunday as all shops are close on Sunday. Only eateries and pubs are open.
Rooms are clean everyday, but toiletries are not refilled automatically.

Room Tip: Ask for toothbrush and shaver, does not provide as default.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maqius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWEPH, Manager at pentahotel Braunschweig, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear maqius,

thank you very much for your positive review.
Hope to see you again. Best regards S. Ney General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend 2 weeks at this hotel while working in Germany in November. The staff was amazing, always helpful, friendly and were committed to making sure my stay was comfortable. The restaurant at the hotel offers a good range of food, all of the dishes I tried were delicious. My room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. All staff was great, but one man in particular was the friendliest person I've ever met. I can't recall his name, but he is perhaps in his early 30's, brown hair, glasses and a very friendly smile. He went out of his way to help myself and my colleague, and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWEPH, Manager at pentahotel Braunschweig, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Barbara S, thank you very much for your positive review.
Hope to see you again. Best regards S. Ney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on business. The hotel was trendy and the guy in the reception was really friendly. check-in was at the bar of the hotel which was fashionable and practical. rooms are spacious compared to other German hotels of the same caliber. price was reasonable. the hotel feel warm and cozy. close to the train station 7 mts by taxi and 5 mts walk from the city center where u get a massive mall linked to a palace which makes it classy.

Giving some constructive criticism would mean... 3 clients at the reception means its very busy so you have to wait for 15 to mts to get service. Except for 1 male receptionist who was very very friendly others get stressed when they handle a cowed which makes the guest uncomfortable. i hope the management would iron this out in time.

I would still stay at this hotel every time i visit Braunschweig and also would recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshan_Withanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWEPH, Manager at pentahotel Braunschweig, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Roshan_W...,

thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and we appreciate your direct feedback as this will allow us to further enhance our product and services offered.

Please rest assured that I have already reviewed the service issues you raised with our Supervisor in order to review this matter and to take the necessary corrective actions.

We truly hope that we can regain your trust in our Hotel and look forward in welcoming you back with us again in the not too distant future.

Should we be able to assist or guide you any further please do not hesitate to contact me back personally.

With kind regards

Silke Ney -General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I believe this is rare in hotel business and in Germany - all members of the staff were friendly, efficient, helpful, caring and professional. Rooms are good and stylish, bathrooms good and design / look of the public premises nice. Free pool-billard and good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnnSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWEPH, Manager at pentahotel Braunschweig, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear EnnSix,

thank you very much for your positiv review.
We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards Silke Ney - General Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my first over seas trip and had no idea what to expect. We were attending an international convention and this was one of the available hotels. Location was excellent. Was able to walk to shopping and local bars. The rooms are very "chic" and very large compared to others in the area. We had a king size bed (actually 2 twins next to each other) a large storage/closet area and a large bathroom with funky toiletries. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, and serves as the bar also. Nice atmosphere for a cocktail before dinner or night cap. Pretty good food too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristyk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The Pentahotel has the advantage of the location, it is at the very heart of the city but just a little retired to have a quiet place.
You have the schloss arcade at a short distance and also the Magni Viertel.
The rooms are very clean and you get very nice accesories for example the bathroom utensiles are really great. The only bad review would be the towels, which are very small and they look old.
The service on the other hand is fantastic, always on the move and very sharp. Their English was superb and their friendliness was really awesome.

The lobby and restaurant are really cool and have this chill out style that can be very relaxing.

All in all I was very very pleased to stay at the penta and i enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Braunschweig hotels
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Parkhotel Braunschweig
0.5 mi away
FourSide Hotel Braunschweig
FourSide Hotel Braunschweig
#3 of 32 in Braunschweig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.7 mi away
IntercityHotel Braunschweig
IntercityHotel Braunschweig
#7 of 32 in Braunschweig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Braunschweig
Best Western Hotel Braunschweig
#12 of 32 in Braunschweig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Stadtpalais
0.0 mi away
Altstadthotel Wienecke
Altstadthotel Wienecke
#6 of 32 in Braunschweig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Braunschweig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Braunschweig

Property: pentahotel Braunschweig
Address: Auguststr. 6-8, 38100 Braunschweig, Lower Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Braunschweig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Braunschweig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Braunschweig 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever you’re planning to do in Braunschweig, you’ll love the historic city centre. And you can of course stay at pentahotel Braunschweig, which is just around the corner – although we reflect the modern side of the city. The hotel has a warm, modern atmosphere that you might expect to find in Milan or London – that’s pentastyle. You’ll feel at home straight away: The in-house movie channels are free of charge and we offer you Free and premium WIFI. pentahotel Braunschweig – your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your pentahotel Braunschweig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braunschweig Penta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing