We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice and quiet hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is very nice on the outside, it has a splendid facade. It 'a small and very quiet hotel.
The common parts are well kept and beautiful. My room was a bit small but well maintained and clean. The decor was elegant, but needed some element more modern and I didn't like the carpeted floor.
Breakfast was good and plentiful and certainly not expensive!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
45
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Small, quiet hotel in great location. Excellent breakfast for 8 euros. Don't expect a lot from your room. It is clean, quiet and comfortable - not luxurious. You can walk to a wide range of restaurants. Central Wiesbaden is at the door. Lost of historical sites are steps away. Don't leave your key at the front desk if you will be out late - they lock the door before midnight. Wireless is free and fast. There is plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the fourth floor as they can have very small windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wearybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked this hotel because we liked the location in downtown Wiesbaden within walking distance of the old town area and historic attractions. We also liked the fact that it had a restaurant on site that someone on TA had suggested had the best wiener schnitzel. We arrived in the rain and discovered that there was no more parking available on site. We found a place on the street but had to feed the meter regularly for our 1 night stay. While the entry to the hotel is pleasant, our room on the 3rd floor was very small and the bathroom was even smaller! Decor was shabby and it was difficult to find a place to open the luggage without tripping over it. We went to the hotel restaurant only to discover that it had changed ownership 3 months ago and now was very upscale and expensive. We ate there anyway and had a lovely meal with great ambiance and service which made up for the poor accommodations. Would advise requesting a larger room, as other reviewers have noted and viewing the room before accepting it.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Profs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have just stayed here with four work colleagues for two nights.

The rooms were large and well appointed, the service was excellent, parking available nearby (do book as it is a small multiple car garage nearby), and it is in a perfect city-centre location in a beautiful place. Breakfast is amongst some of the best of it's type. We did not try the restaurant, as there are loads locally catering for every taste / pocket.

Do bear in mind it is a city centre hotel on a busy road, so if you are in a front-facing room with the windows open, there will be traffic noise. There is excellent double glazing if the windows are shut, or quieter rooms at the back.

The weather was blisteringly hot at over 30 degrees C, which did mean that the rooms were quite hot, but there were fans, and to be honest, what else can they do with an older building?

Recommended for those people who do not like the very modern 'clinical' type hotels with neither character nor service orientated staff. This gives you (thankfully) the polar opposite. A find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Have to agree with the reviewer who criticized the 4th floor rooms. The room we got was not really the same as the pictures presented in here. Didn't look larger than 6 square meters in total and the bathroom was the size of the train toilet. Anyway, stayed there for one night, so it was ok. Beds were rather narrow, but soft. Overall, nothing special, probably won't stay again there (seems like other reviewers were all staying in luxury suites, as I can't really chime in with the praises for the regular room :) ).

However, the reception staff was *exceptionally* helpful and friendly, especially Jessica, who went out of her way and beyond all our expectations to help us resolve all the issues we had with the booking - thanks to her efforts our short stay in the city did not turn into complete disaster.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackbodhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welches, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Hotel de France. It is located within easy walking distance to the Alt Stadt and on a lovely street in Wiesbaden. It keeps getting better:) This time our room was bigger and situated on the garden... but what we really appreciated is the great attention from the staff! Everyone is so very helpful, friendly and nice. Breakfast was again more "gourmet" than the usual and the outside dining was really great on the hot weekend. The only problem was the
lack of street parking due to the wine festival... next time I will reserve a parking place ahead
with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katterbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent two days in Wiesbaden at Hotel de France. The room was very nice, clean, comfortable and beautifully designed. We got an excellent support from the hotel personel and all were very friendly. The location is very nice and the price was remarkably low for the high quality we enjoyed. If you go by car you have to remember to book the garage beforehand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#9 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#4 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oranien
Hotel Oranien
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#6 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: Taunusstr. 49, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing