We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreaded 4th floor?”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dreaded 4th floor?”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Have to agree with the reviewer who criticized the 4th floor rooms. The room we got was not really the same as the pictures presented in here. Didn't look larger than 6 square meters in total and the bathroom was the size of the train toilet. Anyway, stayed there for one night, so it was ok. Beds were rather narrow, but soft. Overall, nothing special, probably won't stay again there (seems like other reviewers were all staying in luxury suites, as I can't really chime in with the praises for the regular room :) ).

However, the reception staff was *exceptionally* helpful and friendly, especially Jessica, who went out of her way and beyond all our expectations to help us resolve all the issues we had with the booking - thanks to her efforts our short stay in the city did not turn into complete disaster.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackbodhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
48
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Welches, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Hotel de France. It is located within easy walking distance to the Alt Stadt and on a lovely street in Wiesbaden. It keeps getting better:) This time our room was bigger and situated on the garden... but what we really appreciated is the great attention from the staff! Everyone is so very helpful, friendly and nice. Breakfast was again more "gourmet" than the usual and the outside dining was really great on the hot weekend. The only problem was the
lack of street parking due to the wine festival... next time I will reserve a parking place ahead
with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katterbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent two days in Wiesbaden at Hotel de France. The room was very nice, clean, comfortable and beautifully designed. We got an excellent support from the hotel personel and all were very friendly. The location is very nice and the price was remarkably low for the high quality we enjoyed. If you go by car you have to remember to book the garage beforehand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a lovely small hote on a tree lined street not far from the center city of Weisboden.
The rooms were a bit small however I upgraded to a llarger room that was not that much more then a single room.
The restruant attached to the hotel was sold by the hotels owner however it was very good.

The hotel owner chef has mioved his resrtruant to a lovely spot just a mail or so from the hotel. In the hills and just behind the tree line you will find Villa im Tal.

Just next door to the hotel you will find a small chees shop and accross the street on the cornor a lovely produc market.

Thereare anumber of restruants along the street and a large number in the city center.

When in Weisboden this place is a must stay.

Room Tip: ask for a double room on the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-Super-MAre
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Really great experience. We booked the Austrian Junior Suit with handmade furniture for 2 adults and baby daughter. Size of the room wasn't big as suppose to be, but you should understand that this is very old town spa town, and it is impossible to get really big room in the city center. On the town outskirts-no probs, but not in the center. Room had entrance in the garden. Food was great, breakfast is really delicious.Staff is very helpful. Home cinema in the room. Located on the shopping street, but amazingly quiet inside. 10 min walking to main sights. Good shower and 5stars hotel toiletries.Private GARAGE in 7-10 min walking with automatic door and your private remote control just for 12 euro per night(for Wiesbaden it is top of luxury) Overall excellent experience.From contras: small lift. As we have been with pushchair, it makes a little problem. But I don't think that many people going to Wiesbaden with baby, so you can count this as irrelevant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

BEWARE THE 4TH FLOOR! We got stuck in a tiny room w/ cheap looking stucco walls, mangy looking carpeting & zero artwork. We had a small window over the radiator offering a "garden view". Maybe if I hung my head outside the window I could see a plot of dirt waaaaaay down below, but all I saw were the windows of the other building 15' away. The bed is similar to sleeping on box springs w/ no mattress. The linens are clean. The ancient hotel elevator (one car) holds two people snugly w their luggage or four people who don't mind close body contact & have no luggage. The elevator wait & travel time was so lengthy we used the stairs even though we were five levels above the entry. It was faster. The bathroom had room for one person to stand (no more) and lacked a fan. The door to the bathroom was paper thin & located at the end of the bed so make sure you don't mind hearing EVERYTHING that goes on w/ your travel companion as they use a bathroom. The hotel front lobby is unimpressive even by cheap motel standards. The large candy vending machine next to the lobby sofa wasn’t exactly a 5 star element. The used condom we stepped over on the sidewalk next to hotel didn’t speak well for the immediate area. We also did not appreciate the commentary on our teenage daughter from the other hotel occupants who stood in front of the hotel while smoking their cigarettes. Ugh. Would never stay here again or recommend it. There are far better hotels w/ better locations at the same or lower prices. Do not trust the hotel website photos. They are well edited & only show their best rooms.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
774 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Having stayed here several times I would not have any hesitation in both recommending and staying at the Hotel de France. The staff are excellent, rooms comfortable and the restaurant serves imaginative and creatve dishes. Fairly near the Centre of town and the spa.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klemm
Hotel Klemm
#9 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
#12 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.1 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#10 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: Taunusstr. 49, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HRS, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing