We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, clean, family-run place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, family-run place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Nice and clean. Good style to the place and we enjoyed the family-run atmosphere. Some of the staff were very welcoming and friendly and tolerant of our active toddler! Good English spoken by all staff.

We nearly stayed again on our way back through Germany but decided to gamble and try another place. The hotel very politely and efficiently processed our (free) cancellation.

Coffee was terrible. Breakfast lacked some hot selection but was generally quite good.

Some of the other staff were not particularly helpful.

A little out of the main action in Wiesbaden but the walk down not too long.

Room Tip: Nice and clean. Good style to the place and we enjoyed the family-run atmosphere. Some of the staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkey_Widget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Spent a week in Sept 2011 seeing Weisbaden. Hotel had free parking, and right on bus line also. The basics - we were on third floor, it was very quiet. We slept well, Hotel has elevator

Staff were very friendly, someone on each shift spoke English. My wife speaks German, but mine is nich sehr gut (not very good.) Hotel is 12 minute walk to downtown, and 5 minute walk to Casino. Very good public bus stops close to hotel - best bus deal is a day's pass for 5 Euros. Or each 1 way trip is 2 euros. The downtown is very active, pedesterian friendly. The casino is well known, but actually is small. I would be surprised if it had more than 200 slots. Table games highstakes.

Hotel clean as a pin, mostly European business people using it. Good full breakfast 7 to 9 but pricy - 13 Euros for buffet type breakfast. But had American cereal, to German sliced meat, and hard rolls. No "cheap" restaurants right around there. For sight seers, old style pristine turn of the last century homes to admire right around there. It is in a nice part of the city, no slums, or street people hanging about - no grafatti.

I left a jacket there. They were nice enough to write me in Ameria asking if I would like them to mail it back to me. It was an inexpensive jacket, but I was impressed at the gesture of kindness they took to see if I wanted it.

They did not go out of their way to attract children. I liked that. I don't travel with kids, and do not like them in a neighboring room making noise. No kids about - a strong plus in my book. I raised 3, but I was young then, now I am older, and my nerves are shot.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor,no street noises. Don't get room right next to elevator, people getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We needed a room for only one night and this hotel was a very good choice. It's close to the city centre (10 min) and you can walk through the ‘Kurhaus’ park. There's free parking on the street in front of the hotel but they also have 4 free parking spaces in the courtyard.
Room was clean and not too small. It was facing the shady side therefore it was cool although it was a hot day (I don’t remember whether there was an air-condition or not). Staff is nice, only breakfast is a bit expensive. But you can always take a walk to the park or city centre and have it there (all cafes serve breakfast).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pipistrello99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
275 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Hotels in Wiesbaden are extremely expensive. As we needed to stay just one night, we decided not to spend too much. The location of the hotel is about 10 minutes walk TO the pedestrian area in Wiesbaden's center, but the walk back is a bit uphill and it took us 20-25 minutes to walk in hot weather. The room was plain, small old TV set, they charge a lot for wifi so I skipped the idea. Parking is limited. Either under a roof for 9 euros per day or if you come early enough you can park for free in the front of the hotel. There is no air condition in the hotel like in many 3 star hotels in Europe, in summer Wiesbaden tends to be very hot and visitors should take this into consideration.

The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We did not have breakfast in the hotel, which is not included in the price of the over night stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We just got back from a trip to Wiesbaden to visit friends and stayed at the Fontana. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly. They gave us a wonderful room with plenty of room to move about and it was very clean. The hotel is situated on a side street near the Kurhouse which keeps you out of the noisy area but was close enough to walk down to all the restaurants in the city center to eat. We were also able to park right out front! The breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day and had plenty of variety. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to that area. Everyone on the staff also spoke english which was a tremendous help for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hditro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

The carpeting was very dirty. My wife dropped something behind a seat cushion. When she pulled her hand out it was black with dirt. When my wife complained about the front desk being vacant most of the time, the manager was surly and rude. They advertised wireless internet, but neither we or the staff could make a connection.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wladz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2006

We just happened upon the Hotel Fontana and we're happy we did. We were given a lovely room with lots of windows that overlooked a garden. It was a quiet and comfortable stay.
The staff were extremely helpful and Wiesbaden is a charming city. We will return to the Hotel Fontana.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SDMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#4 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
#12 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Wiesbaden
B&B Hotel Wiesbaden
#13 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Oranien
Hotel Oranien
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Property: Hotel Fontana
Address: Sonnenberger Str. 62, 65193 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and comfortable hotel is privately run and offers that special personal touch. It is located opposite the spa gardens, surrounded by magnificent old villas and within walking distance to the city centre. All rooms offer precious marble bathrooms with bath tub and shower. Standard single bed / comfort queen size bed and standard double / comfort twin bed rooms. Non-smoking hotel. Rooms on 3rd floor with terrace for outdoor smoking. Inviting lobby and hotel-owned parking. One conference room with max 12 persons capacity. FINDING THE FONTANA IS EASY AND FREE OF STRESS. The spacious hotel is surrounded by historic mansions and offers relaxation from the first moment on. The hotel-owned parking spaces are easy to use. The rooms are high-class designed and equipped with 42" HD-TV and 3 complimentary sky-TV channels, telephone and minibar. Wi-Fi access free at lobby, in-room extra cost (partner The Cloud). YOUR ALTERNATIVE TO HOTEL CHAINS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing