We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only on business or with points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I'm glad I spent points on this property. If you can't put it as a business expense or not spend "real" money on this property, I wouldn't bother.

Impeccably clean room in an otherwise average 4 star property. Nothing really to do in Wiesbaden; I would suggest a hotel closer to Frankfurt proper or even Mainz than out here in this suburb. 30-40 minute train to FRA means a slow (but cheap at 4.10 EUR) overnight hotel for catching a flight.

Slowest internet I have ever seen. You can pay to up the speed though.

They did include a free sparking water, cookies, tea, and coffee in the room which was nice; I couldn't find the ice maker for the life of me though.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all good because my low level room was extremely clean.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Manager at Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Jim,

Thank you very much for providing us with details about your stay. Only with your consistent feedback we can improve our service.
We are glad that you were satisfied with the cleanliness in your room. Also thank you very much for your compliment about the complimentary treatments in your room. If you need some ice during your stay, our room service department would be glad to provide you with it the next time. Otherwise we have an ice machine on the 4th floor in front of the elevators.
We are very sorry that you felt the internet connection was too slow, we already took action regarding this and have improved the speed of our complimentary Internet service. As you mentioned, we also do provide a High Speed option for a fee.
We really hope that you give us and Wiesbaden a second chance and looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Irene
Social Media Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 531 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

1) I specifically paid 25 Euros extra for a non-smoking room reservation --- and specifically got placed on a smoking floor.
2) This was the worst fitness room of any business hotel I've ever seen. All the cardio machines were at least 20 years old --- and did nothing.
3) Unbelievably slow Internet connectivity. So bad that I had to measure it to see for myself. With a full 4 bars WiFi on my laptop, I was only getting --- 0.06 Mbps. Snails could carry traffic faster than that.

Totally not functional as a business hotel. Hard to imagine that my visit just happened to surface 3 unacceptable faults. More likely --- the problems here are symptomatic of the poorest hotel management and poorest oversight.

The location is great : minutes by foot to the old city center. And Wiesbaden is one of my absolute favorite cities in Germany. But this was one of worst hotel experiences ever.

Never again. You should avoid this hotel, until recent reviews show marked improvement.

Room Tip: For a good room --- stay in a different hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vagabiztravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Manager at Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you very much for your comment. We really appreciate your feedback which gives us the chance to improve our performance.
We are very sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. Regarding the internet connection, we would like to tell you that we already took action regarding this and have improved the speed of our complimentary Internet service and provide a High Speed option for a fee as well. However we would be very glad if you give us the chance to talk to you directly to find out more details about your stay. We would really appreciate it if you contact us directly via email sales.wiesbaden@ihg.com to speak about your stay.
We are really looking forward to speaking to you and hope that you give us a second chance.

Regards,
Irene
Social Media Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is one of our favourite hotels, we have stayed there many times over the last 20 or 30 years. The hotel has always provided excellent accommodation near the centre of Wiesbaden. On our recent visit we found that the hotel had been refurbished, our room was excellent, clean comfortable and well equipped. Unfortunately however the room and other prices have been increased disproportionately. For example, parking now costs 18 Euros a night. The restaurant always was expensive for dinner and this continues. However breakfast is good value as there is an excellent selection and the same friendly and helpful lady chef still cooks eggs to order. We used to enjoy a cocktail in the cocktail lounge but this has been replaced by an extension of the restaurant and the pool which we have only occasionally used seems to have been made smaller than we recall, and is now really too small and claustrophobic for us to enjoy swimming there. Finally we found the reception staff to be not as friendly and welcoming as in the past. We will stay at this excellent hotel again but are really disappointed by some of the recent changes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Christine_Roger,
thank you for your loyalty and positive feedback about our hotel. We are happy that we are your first choice when it comes to stays in Wiesbaden. As you saw, we refurbished our hotel in 2011 and offer a new and fresh product.
The room price depends on several factors, not only our great product but also how busy the season is. Your stay was in a time period where we had a big fair in Frankfurt and all hotels were sold out, therefore the prices were high. Parking is still at a very competitive price for such a central location in town.
We are happy to hear that you enjoy our breakfast buffet and would like to suggest to you that on your next stay you try a cocktail in our Lili Bar, as we have a world champion in flair tending mixing great cocktails there.
We are looking forward to have our pool area refurbished in the near future as well, however we have made no changes to the size of our pool.
Thank you as well for your feedback of our staff at reception. We certainly value your opinion and want you to feel as comfortable as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Hanna, Social Media Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hi All,

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden and I was really impressed. The room were large and airy, beautifully furnished with welcoming colours. I love new and fresh. The breakfast buffet was very good and the bar and restaurant meals had a good choice with friendly and efficient service. The barman won the competition of being best Bar Tender in Europe and he certainly was happy to impress the guests with his skills.

I would not hestitate to recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling to or near Frankfurt.

NRM

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear NRM001,
thank you for taking the time and writing such a positive review of our hotel. Since the hotel is newly refurbished we are very happy that you like the new design of our rooms. Our breakfast buffet has a great selection with good value and of course we are very proud to have the world champion in flair tending working at our bar, not only mixing great cocktails but also entertaining our guests.
We hope to welcome you back at our hotel.
Hanna, Social Media Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I planned to give this Hotel a better rating since my last review and stay, but had to actually downgrade the rating.
The Room I had (Rm 313) mattress was hollow on the right hand side, but the left hand side was fine. The Wi-Fi did not work on the day of my arrival (20/09/2012) and very slow to non-existent the next day. I gave up. The mini-safe in the room did not work and would not lock. The Aircon was working, but you could barely feel it even if the highest speed was selected.
Two Guys cleaning the Carpet outside in the corridor made such a noise that I had to call reception to quiet them down. I ordered room service and was told that because my order was below 20 Euro, I had to pay an additional 5 Euro. After a long fight this was reversed.
The things I liked was the neatness and cleanliness of the rooms. The linen are high quality.The English channels on the TV was also a plus. I liked the little touches like the pillow spray and aromatherapy oils provided. The Breakfast is excellent value for money. The reception staff are always friendly and polite.
This Hotel can do with a better rating and deserves a Five Star rating, but until they fix the problems I experienced, a two star will have to do.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Revenue Manager at Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Hello Hannes D,
As a very regular guest to our hotel, we are very thankful that you provide us with consistent feedback to give us the chance to improve.
We are very happy that you rewarded our efforts in further improving our breakfast buffet, that changed your opinion from average two star breakfast to excellent value for money paid.
We also expect that now as we changed the presentation of our free water, you are able to take advantage of our complimentary refreshment. We already checked the room of your last stay and scheduled works to resolve the points you mentioned in your review. We changed cleaning procedures and schedules to postpone more intense work into the afternoon hours.
We are very delighted that you pointed out the great advantages of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program with the high quality sheets and the aromatherapy set. This program also features a guaranteed wake up call and a quiet zone on the 3rd floor.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Wiesbaden very soon.
best regards
Katrin
Social Media Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The rooms are clean and spacious. The front desk service was very friendly and professional. In general a Hotel I would choose again coming to Wiesbaden, it was good value for money. The car park and the wifi are expensive.

They recognised status members and offer a choice of benefits to select from instead of just upgrading and forgetting about you

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goetz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Revenue Manager at Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Goetz79,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write something about your stay in Wiesbaden.
We are glad that you, as a valued Priority Club member, had a good time at our Crowne Plaza.
Maybe you could tell us what price you would expect for parking and internet?
We are looking forward to hear from you.
best regards
Katrin
Social Media Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel was nice and clean. The bedrooms were large with one king bed rather than two twins pushed together (which seemed to be the standard in Germany). The bathroom was clean. The room was cleaned daily and was relatively quiet and cool with the air conditioning on. It was only about 60-70* though, so it's hard to say what it would have been like if it were really warm.

The one downside was the wifi. It was free, but it was very spotty. There were paid options, but our friends said they didn't work much better.

The gym was small but adequate with one treadmill, a bike and some weights. There is a pool and a sauna, but I didn't check them out.

The hotel is centrally located in Wiesbaden making it a convenient and safe walk to the town as well as the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza W, Revenue Manager at Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Hello Kate M,

thank you very much for your positive review.
We are happy that you liked our central location and the facilities.
We are currently working on the internet connectivity with our provider.
Hope to see you back at the Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden very soon.

best regards
Katrin
Social Media Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#4 of 45 in Wiesbaden
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
#12 of 45 in Wiesbaden
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#10 of 45 in Wiesbaden
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Favored Hotel Hansa
Favored Hotel Hansa
#16 of 45 in Wiesbaden
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City

Address: Bahnhofstr. 10-12, 65185 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wiesbaden
#2 Family Hotel in Wiesbaden
#5 Business Hotel in Wiesbaden
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wiesbaden
Price Range: $98 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City. The centrally situated business hotel is the perfect starting point for your visit to Wiesbaden and the Rhine/Main region. The hotel's excellent location means that it can be reached easily by car, bus and train. Frankfurt International Airport (FRA) can be reached by taxi in around 30 minutes. The hotel's own underground car park has 140 spaces. The proximity of the Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City to Wiesbaden city centre makes it ideal for your tour of the city. You can reach many sites, such as Wilhelmstrasse, the casino, the theatre, the historic old town and the Wiesbaden Kurhaus, in only a few minutes' walk. The popular Rheingau region starts immediately in front of the city's gates. For business trips to Wiesbaden, the hotel can boast a handy proximity to local companies and the authorities. The hotel has more than 235 modernised guest rooms with free Wifi internet connection, air-conditioning and Flatscreen Entertainment System. Especially high-quality beds we have for a special sleeping experience. For a greater comfort we are modernizing from 4th of October 2016 the public areas for you. The expected duration of the reconstruction is planned to October 2017th. We try to be quiet, but there may be disturbances during the day anyway. Please note, that we cannot assume any luggage for you at reception during this period. The wellness and fitness area is closed from 30.11.2016 until 30.09.2017. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Wiesbaden Hotel Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing