We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading Website” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oranien

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Oranien
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Misleading Website”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

I would like to employ the person who created Oranien's website because they are a marketing genius. We chose Oranien as the first stop on our honeymoon roadtrip because the website showed it as a modern, beautiful hotel in a fantastic location which you pay through the neck for - totally misleading. In fact it is pure and simple a business hotel and the staff are not interested in dealing with leisure travellers. The receptionist was rude and spoke to us as if we were dirt - we felt guilty for inconveniencing her. The breakfast was delicious but expensive. The bar - oh the bar - we asked for a rose wine only to be given white, we specified again that we wanted rose and were told that it was rose - that the roses in Wiesbaden are very pale (you stupid English people). We paid after feeling completely embarassed (an extortionate price) and drank the worse (dry white) paint stripper ever. And under no circumstances buy the coffee - expensive cold mud!!!

The rooms are nice but this in no means makes up for the service or location. Situated in the rough area of Wiesbaden it took us two days to realise that the town is nice but on the opposite side to Oranien.

Do not go to this hotel unless you get a kick out of rude staff burning your money before your very eyes!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Oann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    81
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
55
16
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Spent several nights here, was fabulous. Easy walk into town, very friendly staff, good food, love the old world woodwork interior...truly a classy place with down to earth feeling. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldnpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

Very nice hotel central located with a good atmosphere and dignified design.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ckonstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2005

I had the good fortune of staying at the Oranien for almost three weeks on business. It's old world charm is inviting and the rooms were tastefully appointed and fairly spacious by German standards. The restaurant is top notch and the breakfast was included daily. There is a nice terrace in the back where one can sip a beer or eat schnitzel nestled in the woodsy surroundings. The staff was polite and friendly and even obliged my somewhat stilted German, even though they seem to speak better English than I do. There is ample parking available in the hotel's pay lot. The hotel is conveniently located near the "Fussganger" (Pedestrian shopping) Zone and there are myriad restaurants, shops, and pubs with walking distance. Although I generally loathe staying at hotels for extended periods of time, the Hotel Oranien made my stay pleasant. I recommend it highly. definitely a four star.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.9 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#6 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Motel One Wiesbaden
Motel One Wiesbaden
#1 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#11 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.1 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oranien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oranien

Property: Hotel Oranien
Address: Platter Str. 2, 65193 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oranien 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Oranien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing