We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oranien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oranien
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quaint and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

European hotels have a very different feel from those typically found in the USA- there is a focus on customer service and a history associate with each hotel.

This hotel is no exception. Located a few hundred yard from the town center, it is nicely situated to allow for quick and easy trips around by foot.

The breakfast buffet is very good, filled with multiple choices- of course it is fresh and well presented.

As for dinner- it is great from a convenience standpoint, but you may fair better taking the few steps into town.

Rooms are tight- both the bathroom and sleeping area. If you visit in the summer, there is no air conditioning.

I would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlobel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    81
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
55
16
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Hotel Oranien is an amazing property with a quite friendly and attentitive staff. We found the staff to provide above & beyond service with great pleasure. My husband and I were traveling on a leisure trip and after he left back to the US, it turned into a business trip for me. Food was excellent. Wine and beer selections excellent. We were able to enjoy dinner one evening on the patio, which was romantic by candlelight. You do need to walk into town - however, the walk is just a couple of blocks before you hit the shops and sights. We did not mind walking. We met friends for dinner at Kafer in the Kurhaus and it took us about 15 minutes to walk there. My husband and I stayed at another property across from the Kurhaus before staying at the Hotel Oranien. When we return to Wiesbaden - we will be staying at the Hotel Oranien. Rooms, Staff, Food, Wine - overall experience - Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel was PERFECT! The whole reception staff was incredible. ESPECIALLY Gabriele. They took the time to recommend places to us, helped guide us with maps, told us what bus routes to take, scheduled a shuttle service for us and more!!! The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and they always made sure we had everything we needed. It was in perfect walking distance of the town centre, shopping, bus stops and restuarants. I would and WILL without a doubt stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apickle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed two nights in Autumn 2011. The staff were very nice and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable with a nice fluffy duvet (something I find a lot of European hotel rooms don't have!), room service was very nice (I had the wiener schnitzel) and the breakfast buffet was second to none.

Room Tip: My room was on the 3rd (top) floor and sometimes had to duck under the eaves when walking around in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeejayL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-O-C-G, Inhaber at Hotel Oranien, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We appreciate your comments and are happy to read that you enjoyed the service and food quality (especially our Wiener Schnitzel) you have experienced in our hotel.

It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back at the Hotel Oranien Wiesbaden during your next visit in town.

Kind regards

Gerald Kink
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Was is this hotel for business meetings. Very convenient meeting rooms, good staff, good value.
Stayed there for the week-end, rooms are quite small, especially the bathroom, really tiny, limited availability of towels. Expensive mini-bar and internet is 5 euros a day (fair).
The lobby conveys a old world athmosphere which you don't find in the room.
Restaurant is ok but nothing romantic there.
Then the hotel is not really downtown, you may want to be closer to the streets where bars and restaurants are.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slecombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

I would like to employ the person who created Oranien's website because they are a marketing genius. We chose Oranien as the first stop on our honeymoon roadtrip because the website showed it as a modern, beautiful hotel in a fantastic location which you pay through the neck for - totally misleading. In fact it is pure and simple a business hotel and the staff are not interested in dealing with leisure travellers. The receptionist was rude and spoke to us as if we were dirt - we felt guilty for inconveniencing her. The breakfast was delicious but expensive. The bar - oh the bar - we asked for a rose wine only to be given white, we specified again that we wanted rose and were told that it was rose - that the roses in Wiesbaden are very pale (you stupid English people). We paid after feeling completely embarassed (an extortionate price) and drank the worse (dry white) paint stripper ever. And under no circumstances buy the coffee - expensive cold mud!!!

The rooms are nice but this in no means makes up for the service or location. Situated in the rough area of Wiesbaden it took us two days to realise that the town is nice but on the opposite side to Oranien.

Do not go to this hotel unless you get a kick out of rude staff burning your money before your very eyes!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Oann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Spent several nights here, was fabulous. Easy walk into town, very friendly staff, good food, love the old world woodwork interior...truly a classy place with down to earth feeling. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldnpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.9 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#7 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Motel One Wiesbaden
Motel One Wiesbaden
#1 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#11 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.1 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#4 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oranien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oranien

Property: Hotel Oranien
Address: Platter Str. 2, 65193 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oranien 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Oranien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing