We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was transferred here from another local hotel which was overbooked. At first it all looked very grand, but I was given a newly refurbished room which was really quite small. Despite the size they had tried to cram in all the things that would be in a much bigger room, leaving no workspace, or space on the bedside table.

The room did have a huge balcony which would be lovely in the summer. In the winter it's little use. The bathroom was the same size as the bathroom, which didn't make sense. I think the space could have been used a lot better.

The room was also very hot which affected sleep, despite turning off the heating and having the balcony doors open for an hour before sleeping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griangraf2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Mr. griangraf2001,

Thank you for your feedback via tripadvisor.
That is correct, you get a new renovated room, but without a working desk.
Unfortunately we had just the small single room available.
We had problems with the heating and air conditioning, but we have already taken all steps to find a solution.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel Wiesbaden.

Kind regards
Wolfgang Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 583 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a 10 day business trip and was unfamiliar with the area and transportation resources. All of the hotel staff was extremely helpful in providing assistance. The room was spacious and very comfortable. It provided the amenities needed for a working trip (internet, desk, etc). The spa area was a wonderful amenity. The hotel location has great access to shopping, dining, bus service, and taxis.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Mrs. Donna T.,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay from our hotel, Europe´s oldest traditional hotel.
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to feel comfortable in the whole hotel.
We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future in our hotel, restaurant and SPA Area.

Thank you!

Wolfgang Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three nights to participate in a training course that was held in the hotel premises.

The building is quite charming and so was my room, although I understand that room sizes are quite uneven and I appear to have ended up with one of the larger rooms. My room, including the bathroom, was large and adequately furnished. There is an amazing array of television channels that probably represents the clientele of the hotel. For some reason, connecting to the free WiFi using my laptop proved slower than connecting to the same network using my iPhone, although once I was connected, the internet speed was fine.

I ate all my meals and snacks at the hotel during my entire stay and was only disappointed by one or two dishes. The snacks during our breaks were brilliant and very creative, a good combination of healthy and not-so-healthy treats that were all yummy. The meetings rooms are on the top floor of the hotel, which allowed us to enjoy good views of the city during our breaks.

The hotel is situated very near the shopping center and the old part of town, allowing for nice walks in the evening and lots of alternative dinner options for those who chose not to join us for dinner.

Hotel staff were always friendly, something I cannot say about some hotels I have stayed at in other German cities.

The second floor of the hotel is currently under renovation, but that didn't really spoil my experience. If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room that is at least two floors above the construction site.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talampakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Talampakan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay from our hotel, Europe´s oldest traditional hotel.
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to feel comfortable in the hotel as well in our meeting area.
We have already forwarded your positive feedback to our staff and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the future in our hotel.

Thank you!

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Outside (and partly still inside, like bar): charming old palace out of Germany´s imperial past. Inside: freshly renovated rooms with all modern standards like WLAN and TV. What I liked (and still like) most: the bed - never slept better in a hotel. And the staff: it took only a couple of days until everybody welcomed me saying my name.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Malte-Fabian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Malte-Fabian F.,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us.
We have already forwarded your positive feedback to our staff.
We are pleased to welcome you again at our traditional hotel.

Thank you,
kind regards

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My Second time staying at this hotel.

My room was smaller this time but still ok. The room was a little warm and the ac didn't seem to do a whole lot when turned on. I found the pillows too soft and they had no alternative ones. But apart from that everything was great. Nice powerful shower, comfy bed and good TV.

The swimming pool was great after a long days work.

We also ate at hotel restaurant and had a very nice meal.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

I will be back again.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be fairly small while some are very large in size. Try and request as large as possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_F_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Mr. Fear,

Thank you for your second booking at the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel and taking the time to give us a your feedback.
It is a pleasure for us, that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to feel comfortable with us. We would be very delighted to welcome you again in the future with us.

Thank you!

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stay in hotel Radisson for a week while visiting Wiesbaden. The hotel building was quite charming despite of the ongoing reconstruction of the 1st floor. The room was comfortable, stylish and very clean. The hotel spa was modern yet cozy. However, the nicest quality of this hotel was its staff. The receptionists were always smiling, always friendly, always helpful...nothing was ever a problem. The staff in the restaurant of the hotel, the breakfast attendants and also the housekeeping personnel were just as amazing. One may suggest it is to be expected. Based on my own experience, the expectations and the reality in hotel settings often differs. The staff of this hotel simply stands out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Mr. George J.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay from our hotel, Europe´s oldest traditional hotel.
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to feel comfortable in the whole hotel.
We will share your feedback with our staff and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the future in our hotel, restaurant and SPA Area.

Thank you!


Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

As I used to live in Wiesbaden before moving to the UK - this city is very special to me. It was the first time I stayed in the Radisson BLU Schwarzer Bock combining a Business Trip with Leisure. Unfortunately I didn't have enough time to use all the facilities offered - so I guess I have to return soon again. The new rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Mrs. Tina S.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to feel comfortable with us.
We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future with us.

Thank you!
Wolfgang Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.8 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#9 of 45 in Wiesbaden
430 reviews
1.9 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#10 of 45 in Wiesbaden
321 reviews
0 mi away
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
#14 of 45 in Wiesbaden
420 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wiesbaden-Nordenstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel

Address: Kranzplatz 12, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wiesbaden
#8 Business Hotel in Wiesbaden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wiesbaden
Price Range: $113 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel in Wiesbaden, the oldest grand hotel in Europe and home to a historic bathhouse and spa. The luxury hotel boasts an eventful history going back to 1486. The Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel is located in the centre of Wiesbaden, the capital of the region of Hesse. Its excellent location on Kranzplatz square allows the guest to explore the city by foot. Saunter along Wilhelmstrasse, Wiesbaden's magnificent boulevard, or visit the numerous attractions, such as the Kurhaus, Casino, or Hessian State Theatre, which are all just a stone's throw away. Frankfurt International Airport is located 28 km from the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, which is approx. a 30-minutes drive. The Hotel is also easily accessed by public transport. ROOMS & SUITES The Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, Wiesbaden has 142 rooms and suites, which combine a traditional atmosphere and timeless elegance with modern technology. Choose from one of our four room categories: Classic, Superior Class, Business Class and Suites. Enjoy the unique charm of our historic hotel. All room have air-conditioning and Internet access included. The Business Class rooms offer the following additional amenities: a complimentary gift upon arrival, a daily newspaper, bathrobe, free TV entertainment program, a Nespresso(R) coffee machine with a selection of specialty coffees as well as the "Super Breakfast" buffet in our Restaurant "Le Capricorne". RESTAURANT & BAR Bistro-Bar 1486 The Bistro-Bar 1486 combines traditional with modern architecture as well as regional and international cuisine. A relaxed bar atmosphere and historic flair gives the Bistro-Bar 1486 a unique feel. Whether you are in the mood for an exquisite menu or just want to round a successful day off with a glass of fine wine, our Bistro-Bar has everything you could possibly wish for. Restaurant ,,Le Capricorne" Start the day in our Restaurant "Le Capricorne" and enjoy a varied breakfast buffet. The elegance and charm of our restaurant provides the perfect setting for your breakfast,lunch and dinner, making it an ideal venue for celebrations, weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing