We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, loads of history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel, loads of history”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great hotel - bathrooms are spotless, bed is comfortable, service lovely, and the historic nature of the hotel (and premium location) meant that this was a terrific trip. First floor rooms have little balconies as well!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have high ceilings and Juliet balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    193
    82
    30
    15
See reviews for
71
148
32
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a great hotel. Nice amenities, rooms and bathrooms are spotless. This is definitely my kind of hotel. Close to the main shopping area and some very, very nice restaurants. However, check-in was not smooth, or efficient. We stayed for 3 nights, I had booked and paid for the room in advance, but when we arrived, Simon at reservations could not find our reservation, or the fact that we had paid in advance. I found this to be frustrating and very annoying, as I had phoned and emailed the hotel several times prior to our arrival. He did not have a room available as per our reservation. Eventually, he did upgrade us to a better room because that is all he had available; however, he did try to extract $20 per night more for the room, failing that,he said we would have to relocate to another room in the morning, which we did not appreciate as the problem was due to a hotel error. In the hotel room literature, it states that if a mistake is made, the hotel will rectify the problem at no cost to the guest(s). Well, the next day, they did say we would not have to change rooms, and we did not pay extra fees for the upgrade, but we had to stand our ground with Simon and reiterate our position several times, before we were accommodated. Although I am satisfied with the outcome, the process we had to go through to resolve the problem was not appreciated. Basically, it marred our trip and what we felt should have been an exemplary experience.

As a final note, the pool area and sauna does not open until 9 a.m. and it closes in the early evening. These are the times I would have liked to use these facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
348 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First impressions are so very important and the warmth of the greeting when we arrived at the Schwarzer Bock Hotel got us off to a great start. Throughout our stay, every member of staff we encountered was helpful, friendly and professional and this was my first thought as I began to write my review.

The hotel is a long established feature of the city and the proportions are generous (with the odd exception of the tiny lobby). Ceilings are lofty, rooms spacious and elegant - but corridors are long and routes to and from the lifts can be rambling. On this occasion we were travelling with a friend who has limited mobility and particular difficulty with stairs, so were particularly aware of small flights of steps here and there, especially with luggage. The decor of our room was a little dated but it was well maintained and the bathroom spotless. Fresh air came through open windows rather than a/c, which was fine with us.

The selection offered at the breakfast buffet was excellent and served in an elegant dining room. Attentive staff offered additional items and hot drinks.

We'd return to the Schwarzer Bock, especially in view of potential refurbishment. The location is great and surprisingly peaceful, considering the city centre neighbourhood, too.

Room Tip: Small flights of steps here and there may prove tricky for people with limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed again at this hotel and was happy to see that they are underway on a major renovation of the rooms. I was fortunate to be one of the first to stay in a renovated room and it was a real treat to see the grand hotel being updated.

The staff is still fantastic, the room is great, and the price is reasonable. I just wish they would get a few American TV stations.

Room Tip: Get a room on the fifth floor, it is the only one renovated at this point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel Property - very nice.
Spa - looks terrific, but pool is about 90 degrees (a bit warm for laps for me). Very nice spa facility with massage rooms etc - very nice masseuse.
Food - breakfast was very good.
Room - nice with very high ceilings. BUT the A/C is TERRIBLE. It was completely useless. No cool air comes out - it only blows warm air. And other rooms were no different. They claim it's because they are located above hot springs. But any decent a/c system should blow whatever temperature air you ask for, regardless of where it happens to be located. After spending one night here, I began reading reviews of other Wiesbaden hotels. I couldn't find a decent place in town which appeared to have effective a/c, so the next day we moved to the Marriott Courtyard (which is very pleasant and does have working a/c) for the rest of the week.

I'd be happy to return to the Schwarzer Bock if they can convince me that they have updated their a/c system.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheretonext32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
225 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was our second time at the hotel and I was disappointed, because I remembered it was nicer the previous time. They are renovating the hotel, so there is structures everywhere. We asked for a bath and had a difficult time to get a room with a bath and not a shower. The spa area changed so it lost it's atmosphere and it was very crowded. Some of the staff was helpful. The breakfast was too expensive so we ate in the shopping street. It is located close to the bus stops

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeyore707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

After reading some of the other reviews prior to our trip, I was concerned we would be disappointed with the hotel but we actually enjoyed it. We had a business class room which was extremely spacious with 2 bathrooms and a large entry way. Our only problem with the room was the temperature. April was very warm for the area so they had trouble cooling the building. It wasn't uncomfortable, though, just a bit warmer than we prefer. The rooms do need updating but my main concern is always cleanliness and that was not a problem in our room. It was extremely clean.

The service was great and it was a relief that the staff spoke English since I know about 5 words in German.

We liked the breakfast as well with enough variety to please everyone.

Also, the hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and shops.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the local area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEG1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#10 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#7 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oranien
Hotel Oranien
#4 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel One Wiesbaden
Motel One Wiesbaden
#2 of 45 in Wiesbaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
Address: Kranzplatz 12, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wiesbaden
#8 Business Hotel in Wiesbaden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel in Wiesbaden, the oldest grand hotel in Europe and home to a historic bathhouse and spa. The luxury hotel boasts an eventful history going back to 1486. The Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel is located in the centre of Wiesbaden, the capital of the region of Hesse. Its excellent location on Kranzplatz square allows the guest to explore the city by foot. Saunter along Wilhelmstrasse, Wiesbaden's magnificent boulevard, or visit the numerous attractions, such as the Kurhaus, Casino, or Hessian State Theatre, which are all just a stone's throw away. Frankfurt International Airport is located 28 km from the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, which is approx. a 30-minutes drive. The Hotel is also easily accessed by public transport. ROOMS & SUITES The Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, Wiesbaden has 142 rooms and suites, which combine a traditional atmosphere and timeless elegance with modern technology. Choose from one of our four room categories: Classic, Superior Class, Business Class and Suites. Enjoy the unique charm of our historic hotel. All room have air-conditioning and Internet access included. The Business Class rooms offer the following additional amenities: a complimentary gift upon arrival, a daily newspaper, bathrobe, free TV entertainment program, a Nespresso(R) coffee machine with a selection of specialty coffees as well as the "Super Breakfast" buffet in our Restaurant "Le Capricorne". RESTAURANT & BAR Bistro-Bar 1486 The Bistro-Bar 1486 combines traditional with modern architecture as well as regional and international cuisine. A relaxed bar atmosphere and historic flair gives the Bistro-Bar 1486 a unique feel. Whether you are in the mood for an exquisite menu or just want to round a successful day off with a glass of fine wine, our Bistro-Bar has everything you could possibly wish for. Restaurant ,,Le Capricorne" Start the day in our Restaurant "Le Capricorne" and enjoy a varied breakfast buffet. The elegance and charm of our restaurant provides the perfect setting for your breakfast,lunch and dinner, making it an ideal venue for celebrations, weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing