We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE! UNAUTHORIZED CHARGES TO CREDIT CARD!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Mula, who claims to be the owner, is EXTREMELY RUDE. When asking for assistance with the wireless connection, she angrily opens a closet door, turns on a computer from the stone ages for me to use, and then storms off.

BE AWARE: SHE CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD A SECOND TIME WITHOUT MY AUTHORIZATION!!!

The rooms smell dank, especially after the moisture of taking a shower. In addition, you have to fold the pillow and use the decorative pillow to even try to support your head. The pool and sauna were nice, though the sauna is quite small. Simple breakfast, but nice enough. The location in the Rhinegau was the nicest part.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tropix99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 117 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in April, my husband and six year old son. We booked a "suite" - the top priced accomodation, perhaps this is why we were a little disappointed.

The room was pretty basic, lighting rubbish, couldn't control the lights in the 2 areas separately, only 1 lamp (so no lamp in the child's sleeping area). Tiny windows with blinds on them that blocked the view, couldn't see a thing which was a shame because the setting was beautiful. Basic bathroom, basci decor, v old telly etc. Would have been happy with the room if it were cheaper but at €250 pm - expected better.

The pool area was really lovely - smart and modern and a great spa pool with jets etc. Could have been a bit warmer though.

The restaurant again was disappointing for the price. We had an incredibly rude waitress who made an error with our order then when we realised the mistake, didn't correct she just stalked away every time we tried to speak to her. She was shocking.
The food was average.

Rudesheim itself was incredibly touristy but we enjoyed the cable car, took a boat ride etc.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essex_Becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed here with 3 friends during May.

The hotel is located in a very pleasant setting, surrounded by forest and rolling hills.

We enjoyed using the pool and sauna - which were nicely appointed with the pool being a lovely temperature, and found the breakfast to be good.

The terrace is a nice place to sit outside for a beer or coffee, and the view from the dining room where breakfast is served is great.

The chairlift down to Assmannshausen is only a five minute walk away. The lift down to Rudesheim is more like 30 mins walk. A taxi ride down to Rudesheim costs about 10 euros and takes 5 mins or so.

The rooms themselves were nice enough, but on the whole some parts of the hotel could do with a little love...just a little dated looking.

There is Wi-fi, but I found it to be very patchy. Mobile phone reception is minimal as well.

I do think kids would like the hotel...there are dear to be fed and lots of paths through the forest.

I would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coalshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

If you are looking for a serene setting just outside the bustling wine town of Rudesheim, this is the place for you. The location is actually above both Rudesheim and Assmanhausen(wine town known for their red wines). The location is also walking distance to the Niederwald Monument and the watch on the Rhine. This place is an old hunting lodge that has been beautifully restored. The rooms are clean, quaint and roomy and the bathrooms are suprisingly very modern. The service from the staff is exceptional. This is a great spot to do some hiking and exploring of wildlife. There is a deer sanctuary on the property. You can feed the some 50 deers that are fenced in along the grounds. The restaurant at the hotel is quite good. We ate here 2 nights in a row. They have a very international menu which includes much more variety than the traditional German cuisine. If you walk or drive to the Niederwald monument, you can take one of the seilbahns (ski lifts) down to the base of the town where you can wander along the Drosselgasse(smallest and busiest street in Germany) and stop at various wine shops and beer gardens. Rudesheim is somewhat touristy but it is a beautiful area, flowing with wine and it is a good base for exploring the Rhine. I fell in love with this property and I would highly recommend a stay at this beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mitch627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Setting and views were lovely, food was great.
Bit disappointed as 4 star and no tea making facilities or mini bar. First bottle of water was complimentary then it was 4 euros a bottle.
Television was really old, although our friends had a flat screen.
The staff were friendly and polite and most spoke excellent English.
Did not see pool or sauna, so cannot comment.
There are more superior rooms , but did not see those either.
Clever photos make rooms look much bigger.
The blinds were miles awat from the window so let sunlight in really early.
Get the chair lifts down to Rudeshiem- great views.
Maybe needs a little TLC here and there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan1robe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

We spent spring break here with our four children (ages 14, 11, 8, 4) and their babysitter. All the kids loved this hotel - feeding the deer, riding the chair lift from town, walking through the forest, swimming, playing table tennis, eating in the restaurant - everything was perfect. We had such a great time at the hotel the kids didn't want to leave each day to explore the area. The location is great - hidden away up on the mountain, the rooms are clean and spacious, and the staff is wonderful. We had a very early flight back to the US, so we hadn't planned on eating breakfast at the hotel, thinking we would have to leave too early. Well, the staff arranged for a full breakfast to be in place at 4am when we arrived at the front desk to check out. That's just an example of the fine hospitality at this hotel.

The one setback we had was that we were not prepared for the cold. Our hotel rooms only had heat at certain times of the day, which we expect in certain places in Europe, but April in Germany was colder than we anticipated. However, we just bundled up in the comfy hotel bathrobes and waited for the heat to come back on.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Beautiful location and property. Our suite was very nice. The only drawback is that it's about 3-4 miles from the main town of Rudesheim, so if you don't have a car, you will probably need to take a cab. However, perfect for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wis.gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
1.7 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krone Assmannshausen
Krone Assmannshausen
#21 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
174 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lindenwirt
Hotel Lindenwirt
#11 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen Kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#18 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alte Bauernschaenke
Alte Bauernschaenke
#12 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
153 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Felsenkeller
Hotel Felsenkeller
#2 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald

Address: Jagdschloss Niederwald 1, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range: $147 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Jagdschloss Niederwald" In the Rheingau you are located on a traditional landscape which is shaped by successful visions. The attractive and peaceful location of this aristocratic domain offers the ideal frame for working and recreational purposes. Leave the details with us. Let us spoil you with our international cuisine and the best of our service to make your conference or seminar a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagdschloss Niederwald Hotel
Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing