We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old German hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lindenwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lindenwirt
Oxford
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Old German hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

A beautiful old classic German hotel dating from the 17th century.
We were a little disappointed by the first room we were shown it was in a different post code from the reception desk, along many corridors with many stairs. The receptionist changed our room without any fuss. This room was also very small and poorly furnished, a wardrobe made for one person, no mirror and an ancient carpet. It was a clean room. The bathroom by contrast was
very good and newly fitted.
The food was excellent especially the huge choices at the breakfast, fresh fruit, coffee, bread. lots of different German meats and cheeses.
The only waitress was very busy, this made the dinner booked for 8pm very late. The staff were helpful and polite. There was live music every night which created a happy atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room don't be afraid to ask for another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    92
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
42
83
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

iv just stayed at this hotel and it was excellent. food was good as was the staff. as you can see in all the photos about this hotel its not a modern hotel its a traditional German hotel. so why do you all go booking it then complain on hear that its old and not modern. that its got a Center courtyard and it looks like a motel. are you all thick or what. it only takes 5 mins to look at the photos of the hotel and if its not what your looking for don't book it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Out of 6 hotels on a 14 day trip to Germany this was a dump. Everything in this place is old. The rooms are around a center courtyard were you park your car and it looks like a " Motel" since you enter the rooms from a walkway which goes around the buildings. The room was very small, around 16 " on one side and 24 " space on the other of the bed with 2 small night stands. There was an old 24" x 24 " wooden table and a wooden chair. The wardrobe was a 24 " by 24 " x 6 feet high wooden box. The maybe 20 year old 12 " TV was mounded high on the wall. The wall had a more than 5 feet crack by the window and had recently been lousy painted.
The room or rooms are right above a " Wine Garden " and during the day they play CD's very loud and after 6 PM live music until 10 PM.
The Shower had a new tile job, the toiled with sink was not much larger than in an airplane and had fake wood paneling.
For breakfast there was nothing on the table and I have never seen this in any another hotel. Even in no " Stars" holes in the walls were you had your fork and spoon on the table. In this dump you had to get everything yourself !! Plates, coffee cups and coffee from a glass bowel, milk, sugar salt, napkins. etc. and not much selection for breakfast. Forget about a table cloth!!
For dinner we had to wait more than 30 minutes with not many people in the restaurant, the food was overpriced and of poor quality. My fried potatoes must have been fried 2 times already before.
There is nothing good I can say about this hotel except the location, it is a primitive tourist trap not even worth 2 stars and they charge 140,- dollars.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place if you get the same room we had !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank erniep747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Although Rudesheim is a very little town, this hotel have a great location. The restaurant door is right on Drosselgasse, the narrow and long (144m) street full of restaurants and stores. At night, dependin on which side of the hotel your room is (my window was right in front Drosselgasse) it might get loud outside but it´s not really a problem. The rooms and bathroom are very small. Breakfast was good. They actually have some rooms inside huge wine barrels, which is quite unique (might work depending on the kind of trip you´re in). If you´re travelling by car, they do have their own parking lot. Overall is a good choice in Rudesheim, I´ve stayed there twice with a group of people and would try it again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisele864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
217 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Restaurant Lindenwirt is located in the Drosselgasse section of Rudesheim, a short walk from the Rhine River, shopping and the cable car stop up to the Niederwald Hills. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were adequate. Since it is very close to the city and the action, it can be loud and difficult to sleep. The crowning glory of the hotel is its attached restaurant also called the Lindenwirt. This is a large hall with tremendous waitstaff serving many different German dishes. I had the Veal, stuffed with ham and cheese with pea pods which was great. They had al sorts of fish, sausage, and veal dishes all of which look good. All this was accompanied by German music most of it sing along. Although the hotel may be average (except for its location) the restaurant makes it worth the stay.

Room Tip: avoid the front rooms overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJMAYNARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay here in September of 2012 while on a road trip down the Rhine River headed to the Black Forest. We had not pre-booked a hotel as we weren't sure of the exact dates we would be in Rhudesheim. We had to change rooms for the second night but we did not have an issue with doing so. Our first room was upstairs from the lobby and nice and clean. It was also a good size. Our window faced over the cobblestone laneway leading into the hotel. We had no problem with parking. The second night we were moved to a much smaller room that faced out onto the courtyard where the restaurant is. The room was still clean and comfortable and we found out that evening why earplugs were supplied! We did, however, not require the earplugs and we had no issues with the noise and getting to sleep. This hotel is reasonably priced and a great central point to discover this quaint town and everything it has in it. It is also a fabulous location for heading out to explore all the local castles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loonsgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAngeles
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Located right in the centre of all "action" in Rhudesheim, this hotel is perfect if you only have a few days at hand. Location wise you could not ask for better. Easy to reach by car and visible right from the main highway. Surrounded by all the other attractions and I will add, being an attraction itself for many other tourists due to its historical aspect but also for the very lively beer garden.
The hotel is old but very well maintained, maybe the rooms are a little too basic but you are not going to miss anything. Despite the location it was pretty quiet, even though our room was in between the interior court and the main car entrance. Talking about car, it is simply wonderful that you can park your car at no extra cost right there in the courtyard, in the middle of such a tiny and very carefuly manicured town centre.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, cleanliness of the hotel was perfect.
The elevator in such a historical building was a modern blessing.
The beer garden was very nice and could not go unnoticeable due to the live music that was in competition with the other restaurants in the area. Very different from America, expect lots of people well past their youth but with the same energy like in their 20s. Dancing and singing and having lots of fun. I reccommend also the bar/dance club right accross the street at Drosselhof hotel. The batender there, Adem, was absolutely fantastic, an expert in both mixing drinks and music and making sure that everybody in the bar has the greatest time of their life. He definitely succeeded with us.
We will return gladly in Rhudesheim and we will pick again Lindenwirt, it simply offers you everything you need.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LATraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
0.0 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Felsenkeller
Hotel Felsenkeller
#2 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#16 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
#14 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altdeutsche Weinstube
Altdeutsche Weinstube
#5 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rudesheimer Hof
Rudesheimer Hof
#7 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lindenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindenwirt

Property: Hotel Lindenwirt
Address: Amselstr. 4, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lindenwirt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lindenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenwirt Hotel rüdesheim Am Rhein
Hotel Lindenwirt Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing