We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING! The BEST service! Like visiting family!”
Review of Rudesheimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rudesheimer Hof
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I cannot say enough good about this fantastic hotel, the owners and the staff! We arrived very late (23:00) and the Hotel Rudesheimer Hof was closed. We thought we were going to have to sleep in the car when my wife noticed a man waving his arms from a window above the parking lot. I recognized him as Wilhelm, the owner. Although we had never met, he knew me by name and had left a key at the front desk for us. Mind you, we never gave credit card info for a deposit. His daughter let us in and showed us to the room they reserved for us on solely a "handshake"! Wilhelm saved us from a miserable night, but the great service did not stop there! Sissi, his lovely wife, held the massive breakfast bar open for us past the 10:00 am shut down so we could sleep in after a long day. Then, at dinner, my older son wanted to try "Blood Sausage". The wonderful waitress (who spoke pretty good English) discouraged it but brought my son into the kitchen and had the chef prepare a "mini portion" of Blood Sausage for my son to try. She didn't have to do that and most wait people would just have let him order it and not even let him try, let alone bring him into the kitchen! Everyone, and I mean everyone, was so kind and helpful there! As for the hotel, Beautiful! Quiet, rustic and traditional. Close to everything Rudesheim, Germany has to offer as well as castles along the Rhine River. If you are driving here, follow the directions on their web site. They are perfect. Just watch out for the one-way street. I made a mistake one time and got, justifiably, a couple of beeps! The included breakfasts are awesome, the dining room is breathtaking and the outdoor dining is comfortable and quaint! We did have dinner there (no, my son did not get the blood sausage but said it was OK) and the meals that each of us had were very delicious! I had a glass of traditional rose wine from the Rhine Valley and, although I am not a wine expert, it was fantastic! All this service and all the friendliness and all the cleanliness and all of the great food were at an extremely fair, if not cheap, price! Wilhelm and Sissi should teach hotel and restaurant owners across the world how to run one to perfection! Would I recommend this hotel? Let's just say, the Hotel Rudesheimer Hof is the best! Why go anywhere else?
To Wilhelm and Sissi and their daughter, a very heartfelt Dankeshun from MJ Monaco in Texas! We will see you again, hopefully earlier in the day next time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EagleOfArgyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Rudesheimer Hof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 181 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

Good to very good. 5 minute walk to the sites to visit. On a somewhat busy street but windows and A/C blocked out all noise. Good breakfast. Free parking across the street. Rooms were good but nothing special

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We returned to Rudesheim where we stayed in our fifth hotel in the town. I have to say that the Rudesheimer Hof is by far the best hotel in Rudesheim. It was clean, comfortable, friendly, the rooms were spacious, the bathroom was easyily the best we have experienced in Rudesheim and the towels were vastly superior to what you normally get in Germany. Rudesheim is a great place for a relaxing time, although with the superb display of the Rhine in Flames it was busy on the weekend. The only noise was the night they beat Argentina when car horns were sounding until midnight. The night before we left they lost to Spain and it was areally quiet night. TRY THIS HOTEL. It will be well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We flew into Frankfurt at 6 AM and headed for the hotel, about 45 minutes from airport. They took our luggage while we headed for the 9 AM boat to tour the castles on the Rhein. This turned out to be a great idea, being outside all day as we were tired from the flight (landing at midnight EST). My suggestion, you go to Boppard for lunch, back to St. Goar to visit the Reinfels Castle and take the train to Bingen Sud (2nd station) to get
the ferry accros to Rudesheim. Should be back by 5.
The owners were very nice, The restaurant is as good as any in town. There are airconditioned rooms, which you need to ask for when you check in. Stay away with rooms on the main street, can be very loud early in the morning. They switched our room with no hassle. Would stay there again. The trip up the gondola with th circle ticket was a lot of fun..

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rickpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I travelled to the Rhein area with my husband and two 9 year olds. I liked the beauty of the area and the idea of the restaurant row with its charm and music. Then I saw a few posts about music going late into the night beyond the time most people go to bed. I realized I would prefer to stay at a charming hotel just a few blocks away from the revelry---the best of both worlds. Rudesheimer Hoff was it!

All you have to do is walk in the front door and you see the charm and the friendliness. This is a family run hotel, the person behind the desk takes tremendous pride in making sure your needs are met and exceeded. We were given directions to places which seemed far to us....and were 4 blocks away, and the person who helped us, frequently the owner, was as kind and encouraging as if we were going on a long journey.

The rooms were bright, cheery, spacious, spotlessly clean, many have slanted ceilings that made it very charming. The bathrooms & windows modern. A small elevator exists (European size/style), and a number of the rooms have air conditioning (ours did and it worked well). Our room came with a queen bed & single bed in one spacious room plus a small alcove (twin bed) with a door between the two. Our son was very happy to have his "own" room (the alcove).

The breakfast was served as a buffet, many kinds of cheese, cold cuts, cereals, and delicious breads, jams, fresh squeezed juices, hot chocolate (the real thing), in a quiet dining room with wide beams and pretty windows.

This atmosphere is not a place for a child under 6 years of age, but my two 9 year olds enjoyed it very much and were not out of place and were made to feel welcome. English was not a problem and everyone there was very friendly. If you need TV or a phone in your room, you should check on whether that is availalbe, but there was wireless in the lobby.

Note there is an easy adventure involving taking a chair lift up a vineyard to a large monument above the Rheine, then a 1-2 mile lovely, easy (flat paths) walk through some vinyards and woods, and then a chairlift down the other side, and a brief 10 minute ferry ride on the Rheine river, to return you to Rudesheim. You buy a combination ticket and it was one of the highlights of our trip to Germany, suggested to us by the owner of Rudesheimer Hof.


Last two points: if you are thinking about staying in Rudesheim: no one talks about this but nearly every hotel in Rudesheim (this and a few others are exceptions) are on the strip of the lane where all the restaurants are. It is a very exciting place with all sorts of restaurants, live music, passersby for people watching, etc. The train runs right through this area, in fact the train rails are basically the main street, with the actual main street and sidewalk running parallel only 20 feet from the tracks, right in front of and right behind the hotels and restaurants. The train goes through this area 4-5/day...and all night. It is VERY VERY LOUD and had I booked near the "fun part” of town, I could not have stayed. Beware (or bring earplugs). Because the Rudesheimer Hof was a few blocks away, there was no noise so we were able to enjoy the restaurant area, yet could sleep undisturbed by the trains by being a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SuzieeQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We greatly enjoyed the hospitality of the owner-managers and the considerate, personal and thoroughly professional service. Our room was spacious, well equipped and spotless. The restaurant is among the best in town, presenting regional cuisine with an innovative touch as well as international fare. The hotel is located on a central but busy and sometimes noisy street, and it does not offer great views. Then again, since the railroad tracks and the main thoroughfare run right along the scenic banks of the Rhine, any place in Rüdesheim will involve some compromise between view, noise and central location. For foodies, the main downside at the otherwise great restaurant is the somewhat limited choice of wines. If you are travelling to the Rheingau for the wine, maybe the Krone Assmanshausen or Breuer's Rüdesheimer Schloss might be better for you. Then again, everything is within walking distance anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dipl0matic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I stayed here with eight friends for four nights in late April 2009 and was delighted with the service and food. The owners are very involved in the daily operation of the hotel which has been in the family since the late 1700's. The hotel has an excellent chef and we loved the white asparagus soup, a seasonal offering on the menu. Great care is taken with the service, table linens and fresh flowers. The hoteliers assist in the training of enthusiastic young people and we especially enjoyed Florian and Dustin Hoffman (yes, that is truly his name).

The town is busy with many boats, trains and cars, but the hotel does a good job of maintaining a sense of peace amongst the busy local scene. From visiting other rooms, I found some of them renovated and updated and others a bit tired. You can request a recently renovated room. There are some with balconies but the busy streets throughout the town make sitting inside more attractive. There is also free parking available behind the hotel and an outdoor beer garden with fountain.

The owners offer invaluable assistance with special requests and touring information. The longer we stayed here, the more we enjoyed it. Hospitality is the greatest asset of the hotel and I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
0.3 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Felsenkeller
Hotel Felsenkeller
#2 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Baeren
Hotel Zum Baeren
#8 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altdeutsche Weinstube
Altdeutsche Weinstube
#9 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
101 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rheinhotel Lamm
Rheinhotel Lamm
#4 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudesheimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudesheimer Hof

Address: Geisenheimer Str. 1, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range: $102 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rudesheimer Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rudesheimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudesheimer Hof Hotel Ruedesheim Am Rhein
Rudesheimer Hof Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing