We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Quiet hotel"”
Review of Hotel Felsenkeller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Felsenkeller
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Location, Quiet hotel"”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed for a week in July 2010. We had a large modern room at the back of the hotel overlooking the vineyards. The hotel is on a pedestrianised street at the front, and open countryside at the back.
Room clean. Bathroom modern and clean. Hotel owners friendly and helpful. Great location - in heart of old village, near Drosselgasse. Short walk to Rhine/boat tours in one direction and train/ferry to Bingen in other. Cable car next to hotel. No train or traffic noise (unlike the hotels next to the rhine)! Great choice of local restaurants.
Breakfast was plentiful, standard fare - eggs, cheese, meats, yoghurt, bread etc.
Only negative thing i can think of (which is very minor) - the only drinking vessels in the room were plastic beakers in the bathroom. I like to have a glass of water next to my bed, and really hate drinking from plastic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_fxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    69
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
82
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for six nights on a half board basis. The hotel is in the center of the town next to the cable car and close to all bars, restaurants and only a few minutes walk to the banks of the River Rhine. The hotel was spotless. The room we had faced the river and was also spotless and a good size with very comfy twin (joined together) beds. Breakfast was a buffet, but was very good with all the usual meat, cheese, bread and cerials etc. As part of the package we had, we did'nt have a choice of evening meal, but every night the food we got was really tasty (I would expect other items on the menu to be likewise). This was a family run hotel and all the staff were more than helpful and any request was never a bother. This hotel has a terrace and weinhaus cellar, I only had a quick visit to the weinhaus, but it was also spotless and looked like a nice spot to have a glass (or two) of local wine. To add to this great hotel the weather while we we there was superb. This certainly made our stay even better and allowed us to enjoy the hotel, town and surrounding area to their full potential. Overall a great hotel and a beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury, england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We have been visiting the area with a group of our motorcycling customers for almost ten years. Having stayed at other hotels in the Region we found Felsenkeller and would never go anywhere else. The family owners are very friendly, the rooms very clean and we have always been treated very well. The owners even allow us to put our motorcycles in their own garage. One review said the area was noisy. Depends on what night but we have been there every night and can find nothing bad about the place.

I would highly recommend it. It's a great town, a great hotel. Two or three times every year for nearly ten years says a lot.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

I took my wife and 2 teenagers to Germany in Septober 07.
We arrived in Ruedesheim am Rein on a Saturday during the "Rhine in flames" festival. The touristy old-town area was buzzing with activity.
The Hotel was very close to the legendary "Drosselgasse" and right on the main pedestrian zone. However, even though the town was noisy till after midnight, we could just close the double glazed windows and sleep soundly.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a generous Buffet. Our rooms were spacious, clean and Tidy. The Maids left us in peace untill we had risen for Breakfast. The Views will vary, but we had lovely Rhine views in one room and Vineyard views in the Kids room. The costs were not excessive for this type of Hotel.
I would go back anytime.

  • Liked — Location, views, spacious rooms.
  • Disliked — Lift does not reach ground floor.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 1, 2003

7 days in Rudesheim... our hotel was excellent, just as the brochure described. At the front , the main street, at the back vineyards. the hotel rooms were very good, maids cleaned every day and the staff were friendly and efficient the town is 'olde worlde' but very clean,all the shops were tourist friendly the bars all offered some type of music, but prices of drinks varied greatly

Try the music museum !! tour of the vineyards, and a trip on the rhine Rudesheim is well worth a visit.....

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2003

We stayed at this hotel June 22, 2003. The hotel was nice although not as described in either the Frommers guide (surrounded by vineyards) we referred to; nor the hotel website that describes it as quiet. We were to stay 2 nights but could only stand one. The bars and restaurants lining the streets were open until 5AM and the patrons were drunk, singing and yelling until 6AM. We even had fireworks put off under our window at about 4AM. When we went to check out after only one night the owner became irate and told us it wasn't his fault it was noisy. All was not lost as we went for a drive down the Rhine to a lovely town named Boppa and stayed at a wonderful Best Western.

Helpful?
3 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
0.1 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altdeutsche Weinstube
Altdeutsche Weinstube
#9 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rheinhotel Lamm
Rheinhotel Lamm
#4 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
#19 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#17 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felsenkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felsenkeller

Property: Hotel Felsenkeller
Address: Oberstr. 39-41, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Felsenkeller 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Direct proximity to the valley station of the cable car, which leads to the Niederwald Monument and the very popular with walkers distance hiking trail " Rheinsteig ". • The outdoor seating area located on the side Property (Terrace) immediately adjacent to the upper street and the square in front of the cable car station (with direct access ) and is therefore in the immediate attention of passers-by and visitors to the cable car. • Central location with a short distance to the world famous Drosselgasse that only approx. 50-100 M away , the Rhine River and to the jetties and other attractions (about 150-200 m . ); The train station is within walking distance in approx. 5-10 Minutes walk to reach. • The bed tract has a very tranquil location , he is transported back to the Upper Street , adjacent to the back of vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Felsenkeller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Felsenkeller Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing