We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”
Review of Hotel Felsenkeller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Felsenkeller
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Very nice room.
Excellent restaurant.
Friendly, cordial service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EriePeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is a pleasant hotel in the middle of Rudesheim with helpful staff. If you are worried about the noise ask for a room looking over the vineyards, these are very quite except for the mob of crows that seemed to get going about 7am! Parking is available. Only downside is that the restaurant closes down at 8.30pm so we never got to eating there. Breakfast were good and as expected in Germany. Try eating at Schloss Rudesheim that offers excellent food.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fragrantfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hi, we have just got back from the 10th Harley Davidson Magic Rally which takes over the whole of the village.
Rudesheim is a beautiful town on the Rhine. The hotel is central and quite close to the Drosselgasse and a square. During the day it is bustling and I thought it would be noisy at night, but things quieten down around 9pm. The hotel was very well kept and clean, including the rooms. The towels were changed everyday. The couple who own the hotel constantly man reception and keep things running. They were very helpful for us AND they let the residents park their bikes in their secure car parks, which helps with a good nights sleep. A comprehensive continental buffet breakfast was provided with lashings of great coffee. The hotel is situated next to the lift to the monument on the top of the hill behind which is a must. The rhine valley is filled with vine yards and castles and has got to be seen to be believed.
Folk just seem to use trip advisor when they have a grievience, so I wanted to leave a reveiw to redress the balance. We will definately be coming back as long as we book early enough!!

Room Tip: Great hotel in central location, but book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel twice. Both times I had a room at the back of the hotel facing the vineyards. Hotel is in the heart of cobblestone streets in a quaint village. Owners are friendly and speak English quite well. When I drove up to the hotel on this very narrow street, the owners came out to escort me to a parking spot that they had reserved for me. There is a cable car near the hotel to whisk you to the top of the mountain where the Niederwald monument is. You can hike the rheinsteig trail and then take the chairlift down to the town of Assmanhausen.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband I stayed for three nights. We used Rudesheim as a jumping off point to explore the lower Rhine. Hotel Felsenkeller is located in the center of Rudesheim, very close to many bars, restaurants, and activities. At night it was a little noisy since we had to leave our windows open, but not so much that you couldn't sleep. Breakfast was an assortment of meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, fruit, etc. It was delicious and very typical of a German B & B breakfast. The room and bathroom were very clean, albeit small by American standards. The bathroom was very modern and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owlsroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed for a week in July 2010. We had a large modern room at the back of the hotel overlooking the vineyards. The hotel is on a pedestrianised street at the front, and open countryside at the back.
Room clean. Bathroom modern and clean. Hotel owners friendly and helpful. Great location - in heart of old village, near Drosselgasse. Short walk to Rhine/boat tours in one direction and train/ferry to Bingen in other. Cable car next to hotel. No train or traffic noise (unlike the hotels next to the rhine)! Great choice of local restaurants.
Breakfast was plentiful, standard fare - eggs, cheese, meats, yoghurt, bread etc.
Only negative thing i can think of (which is very minor) - the only drinking vessels in the room were plastic beakers in the bathroom. I like to have a glass of water next to my bed, and really hate drinking from plastic!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_fxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for six nights on a half board basis. The hotel is in the center of the town next to the cable car and close to all bars, restaurants and only a few minutes walk to the banks of the River Rhine. The hotel was spotless. The room we had faced the river and was also spotless and a good size with very comfy twin (joined together) beds. Breakfast was a buffet, but was very good with all the usual meat, cheese, bread and cerials etc. As part of the package we had, we did'nt have a choice of evening meal, but every night the food we got was really tasty (I would expect other items on the menu to be likewise). This was a family run hotel and all the staff were more than helpful and any request was never a bother. This hotel has a terrace and weinhaus cellar, I only had a quick visit to the weinhaus, but it was also spotless and looked like a nice spot to have a glass (or two) of local wine. To add to this great hotel the weather while we we there was superb. This certainly made our stay even better and allowed us to enjoy the hotel, town and surrounding area to their full potential. Overall a great hotel and a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
0.1 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lindenwirt
Hotel Lindenwirt
#12 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
#4 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen Kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#17 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
126 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alte Bauernschaenke
Alte Bauernschaenke
#11 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald
Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald
#16 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felsenkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felsenkeller

Address: Oberstr. 39-41, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range: $95 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Felsenkeller 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Direct proximity to the valley station of the cable car, which leads to the Niederwald Monument and the very popular with walkers distance hiking trail " Rheinsteig ". • The outdoor seating area located on the side Property (Terrace) immediately adjacent to the upper street and the square in front of the cable car station (with direct access ) and is therefore in the immediate attention of passers-by and visitors to the cable car. • Central location with a short distance to the world famous Drosselgasse that only approx. 50-100 M away , the Rhine River and to the jetties and other attractions (about 150-200 m . ); The train station is within walking distance in approx. 5-10 Minutes walk to reach. • The bed tract has a very tranquil location , he is transported back to the Upper Street , adjacent to the back of vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Felsenkeller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Felsenkeller Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing