We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location overlooking the Rhine”
Review of Hotel Rheinstein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rheinstein
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location overlooking the Rhine”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The hotel was close to the train station and right across the road from the Rhine cruise embarkation point. However, the train track is also right across the road and the trains are frequent and noisy. At one point in the night, they were passing at 5 minute intervals! I didn't sleep much but my friend slept through most of the niose. So, if you are a light sleeper, it might not be such a good idea. There are a lot of hotels on the same street, though and even the ones further into the town would probably still be affected.
The room was adequate. The breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KimWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights yes, the building is old - but very clean - the bathroom just recently renovated the room was really just great - and they also installed new windows to help keep noise out - from the trains that go by day and night! and the windows helped a whole lot

the staff - were great - spoke English well, breakfast was great, location great and there was free parking and wifi,
we had great view rhein river
would stay again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank opth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The hotel is tired. The Resturant situated at the very front of the hotel is no longer owned by the hotel so the hotel only operated on a bed and breakfast basis. We had to park our car on some waste ground a good five minutes walk away and put a hotel card on the dashboard so there would be no parking charge. We were able to bring the car to outside the hotel to load and unload but were on double no parking lines. The weather was excellent so the parking was not a major problem but had it been raining then it would have been a different story. It is very convenient for the river cruise ships which are moored just across the road. Heavy goods trains with 15- 20 waggons plus passenger trains go past the window at the front every 15- 20 mins 24/7 and in between there is the warning pips of the level crossing gate shutting. There are numerious hotels in the town set away from the river front that would be less noisey but without the view of the river. There is a very small area on the first floor where you can sit outside on plastic chairs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrightdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Myself and wife have stayed here 5 times in last three years. While it's undeniable, that,due to the railway and church,it's noisy,. I would think though,that if you stay anywhere overlooking the Rhine,especially this area,then the train is going to pass your digs,every village also has churches,so the noise will be similar. The hotel is not the prettiest in the village,but it is two star and prices compare to say Blackpool. The breakfast is adequate,usual buffet style. The rooms are very clean and the ones we've had,quite large.Sofa,chair,coffee table,tele,the bathroom has a double sink and bidet,towels changed daily. If like us,you just want somewhere basicbut clean to sleep,and a bite to eat before going out for the day,then,at least in our opinion.it's ideal. Just a few minutes from the station and across the road from the ferries. Just for value,i'll give it four

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keeprockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Stayed at hotel on Shearings coach tour
Hotel okay generally but very basic, went on scenic tour but hotel window looked out at wall.
Food was basic but okay
Problem with hotel is noise, at front of hotel about 30 metres away is main rail line running 24/7 with both passenger and heavy goods trains. Church 20 metres opposite way to railway bells play for 10 minutes every morning at 7.
The only time I slept was on the coach when i should have been sight seeing.

  • Liked — Food was okay
  • Disliked — very noisey
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank welshmanEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels

North Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2006

The location of this hotel seems, at first glance, to be beautiful as it faces the Rhein. Unfortunately, the trains run opposite it all night and cause an awful lot of noise. The staff is friendly enough, but the hotel's decor is an absolute nightmare. Seventies style without chic, just dark and ugly. Everything was clean, though and the rooms had sizeable bathrooms, one of ours was even fitted with a bidet, rare enough in German hotels. As Ruedesheim is a small town, the hotel is very near to the retaurants and Weinkeller thronged by tourists. There are much nicer places to stay if you drive the route to Koblenz.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank persephone1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 24, 2003

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times over the past few years. Very accomodating staff. HOWEVER, ask for a room in the back of the hotel as the front is on the main street and railroad, with trains running about every 15 minutes. Very good rates for one person but not all rooms have TVs. A couple of blocks from the winekellers and convenient to everything you want. Wonderful town!

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
#16 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Felsenkeller
Hotel Felsenkeller
#2 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parkhotel Ruedesheim am Rhein
Parkhotel Ruedesheim am Rhein
#14 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hajo's Hotel Germania
Hajo's Hotel Germania
#15 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altdeutsche Weinstube
Altdeutsche Weinstube
#7 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rheinstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheinstein

Property: Hotel Rheinstein
Address: Rheinstr. 20, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rheinstein 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Rheinstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rheinstein Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing