We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel”
Review of Hotel Zum Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zum Baeren
Certificate of Excellence
Cranage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed for four days in December for the Christmas market (which was excellent). The hotel is within walking distance of the markets and the river Rhine. The rooms were small but well equipped and our room (15) was absolutely spotless with an en suite shower room, TV (the only programme in English was CNN) and a lovely comfy double bed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, they speak good english.
Breakfast was buffet style with nice fresh bread and rolls, cheese, ham, salami, scrambled or boiled eggs etc. fruit and cereals, juices and nice coffee or tea. The hotel serves breakfast only but there are plenty of good reasonably priced restaurants for lunch/dinner within walking distance.
If you're taking your car it's best to reserve a parking space, there's only room for four cars but there may be space on the street if you're lucky. If you're relying on satnav make sure you set "Rudesheim am Rhine" not Rudesheim, otherwise you'll finish up at the wrong Rudesheim about 15 miles away, we did!
The town is lovely, old unspoilt buildings, narrow streets and the hotel was excellent, quiet and comfortable, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    47
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
82
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great location, quiet and warm rooms, big bathroom, good breakfast. Alot of shops and activities close by. The staff was very friendly and helpful I would recommend it and when we come back will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had 4 rooms reserved wanting someplace that was a more local hotel and did not have a chain feel. This hotel is it. We arrived after reception desk hours, which we let them know in advance may happen. They instructed us that our keys will be waiting for us in a lock box outside the hotel and they were. The rooms were plenty large, very clean and quite comfortable. The hotel has great location on a side street so it is quiet yet plenty close to everything so all is an easy walk. Breakfast was generous and filled with all the usual - breads, fruits, beverages, eggs etc. The staff was great and advised us on our day trip on the Rhine and even waved us off as we were leaving. I almost booked a hotel on the river side of town but glad I didn't as there had to be a freight train every 15 minutes which, having been there before, I knew would be the case. You probably wouldn't notice it so much in a hotel room but just walking along that side, sitting at a restaurant and hearing the frequent trains almost got annoying. All in all you won't go wrong and I would certainly check-in here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This small hotel is central and quiet. Ideal location if you do some shopping and want to drop it off in your room and go back sightseeing or eating. it is more or less around the corner. The hotel is very clean, the staff are pleasant, quiet and efficient.
Our room was around the back. Quiet. I think even the front would be OK as the street is also quiet. The room was big, the new bathroom had a huge shower room. Very modern and had everything needed. The bed and pillows were comfortable and we did not hear any noise at all. Very comfortable. The outside shutters are very convenient.
We had booked a parking spot but could not get it as our car was too high. Never mind we got directed to a nearby good carpark again just a couple of minutes walk, so all good.
The breakfast was excellent and at a good price.
We had two nights there and used one day to take the cable car, pleasant walk through the forest, chairlift down to the other town, quick look and a drink, then ferry back to rudesheim. Enjoyable day. You can buy a ticket at the cable car that covers the chairlift and ferry back. Windy up there, so take a jumper in Autum winter and spring.
I recommend this hotel. Very good value for money in a lovely clean quiet hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wobblywombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel and were greeted by a very friendly lady who showed us to our room and explained their facilities including the very impressive 6 car parking space. We had reserved a space when we made our booking.

The only thing we were not told about were the shutters on the windows which would have made us feel more private and not allowed the sunshine in in the early hours. There were nets to the window but no proper width curtains,.We did not find these until the morning we were leaving.

Our room was very quiet as it was at the back of the hotel, also the Hotel's position is just a few minutes walk from the busy centre.

Our room was huge but we felt very basic in design. The bathroom was a good size too. The toilet however was very creaky and the towels not very soft. Everything was immaculately clean. Water was provided but there were no tea making facilities. There was also a drinks vending machine in the corridor which was good. Also a small fridge with bottles of wine to buy in the reception area. A safe was also un the room.

All staff were extremely friendly. The lady owner when we arrived, the owner, and also the ladies who served in the breakfast room.

Breakfast was excelllent. Lovely bread, cheeses, meat, cereals, fruit etc etc etc. Also at a fantastic price .

Rudesheim is a busy place and really lovely with very friendly people working in the many restaurants and shops. We particularly liked Hotel Schloss for lunch and evening meal. The car ferry is easy to use, also the cable car taking you above the vineyards up to the monument, great views, a pleasant walk through the forest, and then a chairlift down. A boat ride on the Rhine then back to Rudesheim. A very enjoyable day.

A little train takes you through the vineyards. However, we felt this was disappointing as there was no English commentary. Therefore much better view by cable car.

We noticed that the railway line at the bottom of the town is quite busy so we were pleased that this Hotel is nowhere near it.

We loved Rudesheim and also Hotel Zum Baeren and hope to return in the future

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a nice, one night, stay at Zum Bären in Rüdesheim. The hotel was nice and clean, rooms were nice and the location good (within crawling distance from everything). The breakfast buffet was overwhelming and staff were friendly and helpful. A really good choice for seeing picturesque Rüdesheim.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augustekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

noisy hot room outside our window a live band complemented by arrogant staff

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
0.2 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Felsenkeller
Hotel Felsenkeller
#2 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altdeutsche Weinstube
Altdeutsche Weinstube
#9 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#17 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
118 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rheinhotel Lamm
Rheinhotel Lamm
#4 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Baeren

Property: Hotel Zum Baeren
Address: Schmidtstr. 31, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Baeren 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Zum Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zum Baeren Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing