We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Gutshof

Restaurant Gutshof
Ranked #15 of 358 Restaurants in Kassel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant is just down the street from the Schlosshotel where we stayed and from Kassel's monument, the Herkules. Good location, ample parking, and very good service and food. My husband had a Schnitzel and I had a fish dish, both quite tasty. Good beer and wine selection, too. Nice atmosphere; we would return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2traveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    57
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Changed Place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have been eating here once or twice a year for many years and always experienced great food and great service. This year I had reservations for six, and everything was changed. The reception was cold, and the service service was spotty to rude. While we were still eating our salads, the main courses were dumped on our table. I will not go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Herbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is quite a large restaurant and is was busy on a Tuesday evening - usually a good sign. They had no problem finding a table for five and soon supplied us with English menus when we asked. One thing - one of our party is German speaking and he looked at the German menu and saw that the English one didn't contain the specials. The specials all seemed to be herring dishes and he suggested we tried a herring tartare dish - and we were glad that he did. It was delicious - served on a bed of sliced beetroot, it consisted of a layer of herring tartare (with onions, capers, etc) topped by a large, thick layer of cream cheese - served with crusty bread and a 'spread' that wasn't butter. etc- don't know what it was, but it all went together so well. For main course I had the Forester's Daughter (€13.75) - a schnitzal, served button cream mushrooms, fried potatoes and salad. Only one of our party could manage a desert.
The bill for five (including a round of beers) came to €160.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great taste of kassel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We wanted to try some German food and this was recommended by the locate people, and it was Delicious. The Potato soup is definitely my favourite. We ordered a 2 soups(potato and seafood), schnitzel with mushroom sauce with all you can eat salad from the salad bar, a dish with 3 types of meat(turkey,chicken, pork), and 2 drinks. It costs us no more than 40 euros, so it was good value for money. If you are tired of italian food in Kassel, and don't mind going a bit further out, it is definitely worth a try. One point to note is that it is reservation only, and it is always fully booked. No walk-in session. We were lucky that they allowed us to wait for a table in the bar because it was raining. It is a 20 minutes walk back to the Wilhelmshoher station without a car or umbrella.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaloong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Good classic food fo great quality, huge portions! Not a very nice setting right beside parking lots, factories and playgrounds full of plastic slides.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mknordstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gutshof also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Gutshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing