We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful Fairytale Castle on the Hill Top of Bergpark in Fairytale City of Kassel

During our stay in Frankfurt, we took an excursion to Kassel, the charming city of Grimm Brothers... read more

Reviewed August 21, 2020
Jae L
,
Long Island, New York
Fairytale castle under construction

The castle looks just like in the fairytales - fitting, considering its fake origins... read more

Reviewed August 20, 2019
JonasJansson
,
Stockholm, Sweden
via mobile
Read all 204 reviews
  
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
89
76
30
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
89
76
30
5
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 204 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2017

The castle is smaller than some of the more famous castles, and there was no guide available when we went. We also weren't charged to get in. There was a vending machine on site.

The view from the castle was absolutely incredible, better than the castle itself in my opinion. Of our two weeks in Europe, this was one of the few places I wish we'd budgeted more time to stop and breathe in the experience.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank LysolPionex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

The Lowenburg Castle is a lovely little castle. We only went to see it from the inner square but did not go inside.

I think you can visit the interior but we lacked the time to do that.

On the outside you can see that it is being renovated (so hard to take pictures with the works showing)

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Bice historical place. Good to visit. The place carries so much information of the history. Importantly nearby to many other visiting places in the Bergpark.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank AzadAjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

This is closer towards the bottom end of Bergpark Wilhelmshohe. We walked around and took some pictures. They were doing some renovating. We didn't get the inside tour because we didn't want to spend the extra money. They did have bathrooms, thank goodness! Even if you don't opt for the tour, it's worth walking over to see.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

Löwenburg castle is small and beautiful. Opening hours are 9-15 weekdays. The park around it is spectacular and lovely!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Casaja91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews