We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
26
67
78
37
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
67
78
37
16
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 224 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife & I really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.
In the last decade I think it has been beautifully & painstakingly redecorated in the New Art style of 100 years ago. I Doubt it is original, but well painstakingly done. This adds a relaxing charm to the hotel which make for a peaceful stay.
We found the staff friendly & service excellent and we enjoyed the food. Secure underground parking is available across the street, for a fee.
We will stay there again next time we are in Kassell.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed there during documenta 13 and found the place okayish. Street facing room was spacious, clean and decent furnished. Backyard facing rooms seem to be quite noisy because of the nearby night club and bars. Stuff was ok. We did not have breakfast there because EUR 12.50 seemed totally overpriced (get it at the railwaysation for 6.-).
As we payed 81 EUR for a single room and 90 EUR for a dbl by early booking, it was a fair deal. other people payed 150.- for a single room, what is definitely to much.
Anyway the place is not half that nice as the website suggests...

Stayed: September 2012
Thank 30andtravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We'd changed to the GCH Domus from a hotel further out of town as we were here for Documenta & wanted a central base. The Domus was absolutely fine - as other reviewers have said, a bit underwhelming outside, but the rooms were monstrous, & the whole place looked as if it was stuck in an art nouveau timewarp.
The restaurant was good - buffet breakfast was a great way to stoke up foodwise for a big day on the art trail.Only minor issue was the very surly night clerk who several times spent up to 10 minutes on the phone haranguing someone while several people stood waiting for service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here in Kassel at the end of June, as we were visiting Documenta. The location was very convenient, as it was only about a 5 minute walk to the main sites of Documenta. The outside of the hotel is a bit run down, however, the room we had was extremely spacious. The ceilings are high, and the windows are quite nice as well. There was no AC, but fortunately the weather cooperated with us and we did not require it. The staff was friendly and courteous, and the lobby and dining area was quite the art deco spectacle. We were only there for one night, and we did not try the breakfast, but it seemed to be pretty good. The hallways are dark, and they were reminiscent of the hotel in the Shining. Also, plugging in our laptop with a converter made the entire floor lose power (blown fuse?). The hotel shows its age in the rooms, but overall it was pleasant and comfortable. One caveat - when arriving in Kassel, take note of the train station you arrive at, as there are two. The hotel is quite close to one, which was not the one in which we arrived!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel. We booked a double room, only to arrive and be given a single room instead, and then be told that there were no other rooms available since the hotel was booked out. Although we were transferred eventually to another hotel, this was completely outside of Kassel. Those staying in the hotel said that the double room was in fact a single bed and a couch converted into a bed. There was only one staff member there, and those asking for a drink at the bar etc, were denied. This was all during the documenta, the busiest time for Kassel. The couple behind us had the same problem (i.e. had booked a double room, but were given a single instead). The room we saw was old and dated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews