We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touristic - but locals do frequent this place as well”
Review of Zum Gemalten Haus

Zum Gemalten Haus
Ranked #44 of 2,468 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Touristic - but locals do frequent this place as well”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A typical Frankfurt Äppelwoi (cider) place. Prices are ok, not cheap but worth the historical spot. You'll find a lot of tourists, but local people like it as well: older Frankfurt inhabitants who might know the place before the tourists came over...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HolliBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    195
    51
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
212 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Traditional Frankfurt”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very nice, and as usual, trestle tables, stacks of meat and bembels of apple wine. Either this or the similar Wagner a few doors down will do the trick, though personally I prefer Wagner. Main reason is I often eat with members of our party who are vegetarian and Gemalten is definitely not for them.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Authentic Frankfurt Place with great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I was in this restaurant yesterday and I really enjoyed it. Authentic food, great atmosphere, very good service. This is real local German place, where the locals meat and enjoy the food and own company. In my opinion this is the place where you can explore real Germany you have to there as this place have nothing to do with tourist place, which you can find everywhere in the world.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Globtrotter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Authentic Old Frankfurt”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is one of the few places in Frankfurt-Sachsenhausen which managed to keep it's tradional way. If you are looking for a typical "apple-wine" place, that's the place to go. You even might find there someone, who's actually grown up in this part of town.
It's all the way like it used to be about 50 years ago: The furniture, the dress of the waiters and the food. The prices changed, of course.
One of their special foods is called "Tartar". It's raw minced beef mixed with a raw yellow of an egg plus onions and a lot of spices.
I didn't dare to eat it, but a lot of people say, it's tasting very well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnxmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Meat Feast”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I ate here during a Pan-European conference as part of a group of about 30.

In my experience the normal service tends to drop off when you are a group booking , but the service here was good and our group managed to utilise their entire stock of foreign language menus.

The menu is a little biased towards meat with a broad selection of various Wurst and unusual cuts of meat. We opted for the Franfurt platter which had just about everything on the menu included. The food, like the Restaurant is very traditional and Ithought was very reasonable.

This is an Old and authentic Franfurter tavern. You get meat and Saurkraut and Apple wine. They do what they do very well, If you are expecting fine dining , go elsewhere

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berksihirelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Gemalten Haus also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Zum Gemalten Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing