We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iwase

Iwase
Ranked #11 of 2,369 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Fish quality in this place is amazing - fresh, tender and delicious. They also have a nice selectio of other Japanese dishes.
The place itself is very small but the decor, staff and a lot of Japanese guest strenghten the feeling that you are in the proper sushi place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    74
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“A piece of Japan in Germany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Not that I've ever been to Japan, but this place really seems authentic. It is really different from the usual lame atmosphere you experience in most other sushi restaurants downtown. The food was not THAT spectacular, but nothing to complain about either. Iwase is certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denevoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

They spoke a little bit of English. I actually showed a picture of a rainbow roll and they made it for me. Good sake recommendations and fresh sushi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaggingEar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Ok Sushi Place!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My boyfriend and i decided to visit the IWASE restaurant based on the TripAdvisor reviews. First we couldn't find it because it was small, So i had to call and ask where they were located. It was right across from the big NH Hotel in Frankfurt downtown (Konstablerwache).
It is recommended to make a reservation, since its small. The staff are really nice and friendly and they know how to speak english.
The sushi we ordered contained wasabi in the rice which we did not know. So it can be spicy for some people. BEWARE!! You can probably ask them not to put wasabi in your sushi,
The appetizers: Chicken BBQ stick was really good as well as the Duck BBQ.
Main: Grilled Roast Beef with rice was really good!!!!! The Beef portion was ok for the price.
Overall it was a good experience. I would go there just to eat their main dishes. Not so much their sushi!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bolos5648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No 1 in Frankfurt? I don't think so.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hi to all,
I would not usually rate a dining experience, but I had too this time.
Initial greeting was good, ordering of meals we had 4 different waiters take our order.
Main first, followed by entree last after we mentioned we had not received it 40 mins after main.
The staff were polite but, we're more concerned with larger groups of Japanese.
Our last night in Frankfurt was not enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iwase also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Iwase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing