We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb French Haute Cuisine but VERY expensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Francais

Restaurant Francais
Ranked #59 of 2,444 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $146
Cuisines: French, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Description: Our award winning restaurant holds a Michelin Star and 17/20 Gault & Millau points and receives constant praise from countless restaurant critics. Chef de Cuisine Patrick Bittner is an outstanding chef and master of his trade. We look forward to welcoming you to our restaurant!
Plymouth
Level Contributor
902 reviews
582 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Superb French Haute Cuisine but VERY expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I came to this restaurant because of its Tripadvisor reports. It absolutely lives up to its claims for being an exceptional restaurant. I was lucky to get a table and its very lucky I called to reserve one! The Tripadvisor price guide is totally wrong. I did not realise it would be so expensive but it is an exceptional restaurant so you can expect to have to pay! Two of us ate for Euro 350.00 including €20 tip and we had two modest half bottles of wine. A super restaurant that I highly recommend for special occasions

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    23
    3
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Le Francais Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wow! What an amazing experience in high quality dining! Exceptional cuisine; all staff expertly trained and skilled professionals of the highest order; unquestionably my most memorable experience of Frankfurt - will definitely head right back there for another meal on my next visit.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin S, Manager at Restaurant Francais, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Gavin S, thank you for your positive words about “Le Francais Restaurant”. We are happy to hear that you had such a great experience. The staff will be glad to hear your kind words. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
587 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 765 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of my favourites in Frankfurt. Never disapoints, service is exceptional and the food is creative and executed so very well. Wine list is very good

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Lechiffre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Francais Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had an amazing meal in the Restaurant Francais. The Food was very creative and tasty and the service impeccable. The sommelier was outstanding and recommended the appropriate wines for every course. It was one of the best dining experience I have ever had. I will be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Germanykt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerlan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memorable, fantastic dining experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Amazing dining experience that was one of the highlights of our frankfurt visit. Fantastic and friendly service, with the most charming dining room i have had the pleasure of visiting. Flavours of the seven course degustation menu were at times things i had never tasted before, combinations were so unique. If you are after a menorable experience (and not just a meal, do not hestitate to book).

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NazDak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Francais also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Restaurant Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing