We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Steak in Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M Steakhouse

M Steakhouse
Ranked #97 of 2,279 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $175
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Based on Tripadvisor rating we booked a table at M.
The location is off putting but once you enter you think it's NYC or Chicago.
The meat is outstanding.
Wonderbar!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brad_holbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    64
    22
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
218 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Food good, service not so nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just arrived here after reading good stuff on Trip.
We where met by the Maitre and sat down. Not very friendly. Then several waiters came by during the evening. Normally they are closed on sundays but because of the big Car show they where open, i think this reflected the atmosphere among the staff. Service was rushed all the time with no smiles or any attention to details, While still havinf food in my mouth they started to clean the plates. I feel this place has a commercial sting to it. The food was good, we had som chili fritters, just ok, shrimp cocktail also just ok( 18,50 euro for 4 shrimps and some salad is way too much) and some fried shrimps, they where good as starters. Then we where told that rib eye on the bone was out, but they had rib eye in two sizes 420gr/600gr. We had one of each. Never in the world they where that weight. I often portions out entrecote myself and this was max 350gr/500gr max. Anyway. Coocked to perfection both( one medium plus and one medium raw). All the sides and sauces was good and great taste and tender meat. So i would actually have given this place 4 out of 5 if the service had been better, but they need to sharpen up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank norvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottmingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The first cut is the deepest...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have never been to an American Steakhouse before. (Only visited the standard ones...)
The staff explained all types of meat and the various dishes skillfully. When we received our orders, everything was exactly as described before and the tast of every piece of meat and side dishes as well as the deserts was fastastic.
Although the prices a bit on the high side, this wasn't a single expierence for me.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMS1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“My favorite steakhouse in Frankfurt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is my favorite for all the years since they have opened. Of course, the price level is rather high, but the meat..... Is on it's best! The sitting space could be more generous for the level of restaurant, but be lucky to get also that place:). Dark, noble, very masculin, done after best americans idolic steakhouses, when yoy enter, you understand- there is no place for vegetarians. This is a real MEAT-place in it's best!
Is always booked out, so take you time to come through and to make a reservation in advance, don't be late, they will give your table quick to the first to ask. To start try their tatar beefsteak and surf'n turf-yammi.
The mozzarella di buffalo is also great, but the meat is a must here. The waiters bring you all the steak types to choose, then the chosen item goes to the kitchen- et voila! Enjoy it, with a good vine ( the vine list is huge, be ready to their prices!) I am not sure some can arrive to deserts with some reserved space in the stomach, but if this happens, the place can offer some. After this steakhouse is hard to think about others - as to me- i prefer to eat the real MEAT on occasion here, then more often in not- their- quality.
Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best steak in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We ordered food more than we could eat, and we asked to take the lift over , they refused , and said it is the resturant policy , which is not right, we wanted to take the lift overs to give to the homeless people in the city center

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to M Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing