We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and Ambience”
Review of Holbein's

Holbein's
Ranked #23 of 2,473 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food and Ambience”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Holbeins have recently acquired a new head chef and the food has improved significantly !
Some great sushi now available plus some Thai dishes along with the more traditional.
I had the some Thai chicken curry, followed by the "New York Strip" burgers washed down
with a superb bottle of Numanthea from Toro.
Service as it has I have always found it very good and friendly. The restaurant is nice both
inside and out (weather permitting) Saturdays has live music too !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    173
    40
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really a good restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I asket to the concierge of the hotel where I stayed last week for a restaurant, and he suggested me HOLBEIN'S. What can I say? Really a GOOD restaurant, really a GOOD choice.
Nice location, delicious food and amazing atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zighy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baiona, España
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Chic”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place, very romantic.
The food is excellent.
Bit expensive, and very expensive if you drink wine.
I recomend this restaurant if you are in Frankfurt and would like a nice experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tete550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Food / Drinks overpriced for taste..”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The atmosphere is nice but nothing out of the ordinary. The wine drinks are quite expensive i believe a .1 or .2 cl shot will cost you between 7-9 euro. So you are better off getting a bottle between 32-65 euro if you are a wine drinker. The sushi was quite good 6 pieces cost us 15.00 euro and the sushi circle is better. I ordered A rack of lamb which cost me 38.00 and got 4 little pieces of meat with some rice that my newborn baby could eat. And my fiance got a steak which was okay. Overall the atmosphere is nice, we had to call our waiter every time we needed our wine glasses filled. We would have filled our glasses ourselves but it was far from us for some reason ?? Overall if you are looking for a nice restaurant to eat or a special occasion this is a nice place. However the Drinks and Food are okay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bolos5648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“What a perfect setting”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

What a perfect setting for a restaurant, right in a beautiful museum. The space was wonderful with high ceilings and elegant modern decor. But that is not where the positive atmospherics end. The food was equally impressive. I started with scallops, perfectly cooked but sliced in a criss cross I had never seen before, while salty on their own, when combined with the other ingredients on the plate, the flavours combined wonderfully. My main was house made spaghetti with a vegetable sauce. Again the pasta was perfectly cooked, al dente, with that little bit of firmness. Desert was equally delicious and all the matching wines were also impressive. Service was brilliant!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arno_franz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbein's also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Holbein's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing