We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No flaws, but not cheap”
Review of Holbein's

Holbein's
Ranked #22 of 2,473 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
194 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“No flaws, but not cheap”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is an excellent restaurant in the same building like the main art museum of Frankfurt, the Städel. Ideal for a lunch after or during a visit to the museum. Also good for a classier kind of dinner. I went there for lunch after looking at the Städel's 'Black Romantics' exhibition. It was my 5th visit, maybe, and it was as good as always.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    173
    40
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You have never eaten good and original food like that”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The design of the place its self makes you happy – you got here!!! The service was excellent, and all dishes were served just on time. The wine was good.
But what we really loved was the desert – like an ice cream with vanilla flavor and some pecorino cheese on top. Sounds weird but tastes like heaven!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff were not especially friendly. This seems to be a chain, rather than a family run place. But the food was fine, and the steak (their speciality) made the trip definitely woithwhile.

Helpful?
Thank Miles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
424 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Consistently good, but also expensive”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have had dinner here on several occasions over many years, most recently on two evenings during a recent business visit to Frankfurt. It's always a good experience - an elegant dining room in which pleasant, professional staff serve consistently good food. The menu when I visited recently was eclectic - with sashimi, pasta dishes, fish, steak (and even a burger) featuring. Everything I had was good - except perhaps the steak which was just ordinary and bland. Desserts were outstanding. Allow for approximately $100 per person including a glass of wine. Not cheap certainly, but not exorbitant for food of this kind.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely in all respects!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I loved the restaurant as soon as I walked in. It is located in a stately building housing the Stadel Museum. As I walked up the stairs to the restaurant's entrance, the railing lit up in soft blues. I opened the large glass door and was met by high ceilings , elegant decor and charming waiters. The menu reflected its modern decor - fusion. Everything that my husband and I sampled was delicious and beautifully served. The extensive wine list offered many wines by the glass. We definitely will return.
A word of caution : when taking a taxi, keep an eye on the meter. When we arrived at the restaurant, the driver instantly turned off the meter! Not wanting to spoil the beginning of a romantic evening, we paid the amount requested. Our fare back to the hotel was half what we paid going to Holbein's!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montrealtravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbein's also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Holbein's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing