We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“incompetence combined with rudeness”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Die Leiter

Die Leiter
Ranked #551 of 2,455 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“incompetence combined with rudeness”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

this former landmark in frankfurt recently disappointed big time. so much so, that we will not re visit.
is spite of having made a reservation for supper, management and waiters were incapable to find a suitable table and tried to switch us to various different tables once we were seated as a result of other obviously MORE important bookings!
after one of the waiters became quite rude asked for the cheque and left!
not be be seen there again.

best avoided. plenty options in frankfurt!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always tasty, always fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Food is original and always fresh. One of my favorite in the city. Stuff is friendly service is quick.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZolSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A real Italian oasis in the center of Frankfurt.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I spent a incredible time in this restaurant. First time I visited in this Ianuary2013 . I like it but generaly I prefer to visit to time a place in order to understand it. For my plesant surprise also secund time was a spectacol. Incredibile good food, fresh and teasty following by a rich colection of wines. The staff is operativ and porfessional and offer a great service. From an " ex-pat" restaurant is a nice asset to arrived to offer aitalian atmosfer in the middle of a German Town. I will recame with great plesure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iulian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, great wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ate the filet steak alexander, which was cubed and served in a tasty sauce. I had spatzle, fried! I have never had it fried before, and it was delicious, not greasy at all. My wife had fried potatoes which were also good.
The wine list is extensive, with Italian wines from many different provinces to choose from.
Dessert was also excellent.
Most of the other guests appeared to be German business people, and the restaurant was full, a good sign.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerP138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne
Level Contributor
570 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Great food and service in the center of Frankfurt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Consistent great international cuisine with an imaginative twist, outstanding service and a good value at lunch. A few German dishes of outstanding quality ( calf, not pork, Wiener schnitzel!). The best if you want a quite place to meet for business but also unpretentious and intimate enough if you want to meet with friends. I have been coming for years: when I lived in Frankfurt at least once a week and now if I go to Frankfurt I could not imagine not eating at Die Leiter. Open late also perfect after the opera or concert. Service always friendly and flexible, will accommodate wishes if possible. If you do not want to meet real Frankfurter ( Posh housewives, fmaily with kids as well as bankers, advertisement gurus and lawyers) avoid!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Die Leiter also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Die Leiter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing