We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff was nice, but sleeping was mission impossible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center
Ranked #110 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
sarajevo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Staff was nice, but sleeping was mission impossible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very small rooms, tiny "retro' bathroom :-) and noise, noise, noise....Maybe it would be easier if the problem would be loud group of tourists, but it was not the case. You could clearly hear every word said by the guy in next room talking on phone. I guess tiny walls. It never stop someone is coming late, someone come early in the morning.... Location is handsome for many reasons, staff was nice, but....it is inconvenient...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidasba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    150
    106
    45
    43
See reviews for
44
90
45
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

One of the worst hotels I've stayed at in Europe. The staff were rude to several people in my group, including myself. Not willing to accommodate our questions or problems. Single rooms were barely big enough to turn around yourself. Moldy bathroom. One person from my group had a cockroach crawling on her wall.

Maids were loud in the hallways. One maid even sat outside my door for 15min talking on her cellphone.

I did not feel safe in the neighborhood. My room's window looked over the hotel's alleyway where maids took out the trash and had their smoke breaks. Fire escape right outside my window lead to alleyway where anyone could enter.

Wifi was not free from hotel. If you stay here you can sometimes access free wifi from the Latin dance club next door or you can sign up for the Leonardo Hotel's reward program for free wifi.

Room Tip: spend a little more money to get a double room if staying here. the single rooms are barely large e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were just staying overnight in Frankfurt, and chose this hotel for it's convenient location from the Frankfurt main train station. Hotel is just 3 mins walk away.

We had 2 double rooms. The rooms were clean. And surprisingly, there were electric kettles in the room. Great for morning coffee, as we didn't have breakfast included in our package.

Small toilets, but clean. The shower area was small, and one of the glass panels was missing, resulting in wetting the toilet. However, since we were there for just 1 night, we didn't see the need to ask for a change in room.

Beds were decent, a true double bed (not 2 single beds joint).

Great value for money for 1 night stay. For budget travellers, this hotel will work well for your pocket too. Its relatively cheap for what you get.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DawnKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outback Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Visited Frankfurt to start off on an organised tour and needed a reasonable-priced hotel for a couple of nights, with easy access from airport-train connections. Decided upon the Leonardo (having stayed in the Munich hotel - which is also very close to the station) and it suited perfectly. Entrance to the hotel was only 15-20 metres on exiting the Central Station (Hauptbahnoff); a real relief with cases in tow from the airport and the middle of winter. Found it a boon for access to public transport options - tram in street, connections at main station, and five-minute walk to other connections for U-bahn and S-bahn. Also found a bakery just a two-minute walk down the street that served a reasonable breakfast for under 4 euro (tea, coffee extra) and a laundromat and post-office just around the corner. Would use it again for the same reasons - a place to sleep while exploring Frankfurt.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francophile5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel was pretty much average: clean, cheap and located right next to the railway station which was why I picked it. The area around the Hauptbahnhof isn't the best area in town (the red light district is right next to it), but the room was surprisingly quiet and the view towards the skyline quite inspiring. The service was fine. A good place for those who just want to sleep without too many amenities or luxuries.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsewherehki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Firstly I would rate this hotel between average and very good. It is clean enough but not modern. Breakfasts were adequate and service was good. The only down side was the area it is in. OK it's close to the main train station and as always for this area the location is a little run down. However you are right on the underground and tram stations, so getting around is not a problem.
We arrived after 3:00pm and non of our 5 rooms were ready but this was sorted out within 10-20 minutes. Our room was at the rear of the hotel and it was quiet. However 2 other rooms were at the front and there were issues about very noisy people in the street in the early hours. Be warned there appears to be a night club recently opened next door! If you're looking for budget accommodation easily reached from the Airport without involving taxis then this is OK but ask for a room at the rear. Fabulous Indonesian Restaurant opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Leonardo is an OK hotel near the Frankfurt Train Station. My room was clean and surprisingly quiet. Water pressure was good in the shower, hot water came fast. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was typical German breakfast. There is a small elevator to help with luggage. I stayed in November and it was -1 Celcius. They left the bathroom window open and heat off, needless to say the room was frozen. I immediately turned the heat on, but it took a few hours to warm somewhat. Airing a room is standard in Germany, but housekeeping should close the windows some time later and have the heat at a minimum level.
Regarding location, there is a tram line in front and an Irish Pub next door that has live music and dancing on the weekends. You are staying near the Train Station. Truth: the main "Red Light District" is further from the train station from this hotel. It's not a nice area in front of the hotel, but it is safe, so set your expectations appropriately. This street, by far, is NOT the worst area of the city (I know, I lived in Frankfurt for 3 years).

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcaustin9161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Townhouse Hotel
#34 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#52 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Excelsior
#49 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center
Address: Muenchener Str. 59, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located adjacent to the central railway station and has optimal transport connections. All rooms have modern furnishing and facilities, just under half of the rooms have a balcony and are facing inwards, and all rooms have W-LAN access and a flat screen TV. Enjoy a peaceful and relaxing lounge atmosphere in the middle of the lively Main metropolis, ideal for business travelers and city tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing