We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even good enough for a one night stay”
Review of City Hotel-West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel-West
Ranked #239 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not even good enough for a one night stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

*Dirty damp smell throughout the place
*Staff very rude and unhelpful - problems with 'vouchers'
*Area dodgy, in red light street, brothels next door. Only good restaurant was an Irish pub opposite the station.
*Breakfast was horrible - limited choice and days old.
*Quick and easy walk from station

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tors87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    16
    5
    25
See reviews for
5
14
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Unbelieveable. Never book with them or at their other establishments in Frankfurt. So unhelpful and rude. I am lost for word. Avoid

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Athens
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Been there last January with 7 friends for a short clubbing weekend. Two double and one triple room on reasonable price for this 3 star hotel. The area is ok if you are a male looking for some fun or advanced sex tools in any of the sex shops surrounding the hotel. Few crackheads around but not unsafe area. The main railway station Frankfurt (Main) Hbf) two blocks away, leading you to any area in Frankfurt. The rooms with basic decoration, warm water, small wardrobes, but free wi-fi access to any areas inside the hotel. The breakfast room is tiny but the buffet is rich including some of Frankfurt's famous pork meats. Even if the outside temperature was -15 celcium, the rooms were warm. The problem with this hotel is the staff, mainly at the reception area, and especially nigh time. They lock the door and you cannot get outside or inside the hotel. If you want to you have to look for the employee in every area of the hotel. When we decided that it will be better to keep the rooms until 18.00 pm at the day of departure the reception employee charged us the same price we had pay for the overnight. I tried to avoid paying day use as an extra night, but with no success as he couldn't speak English, but only German.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TelhsStalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

I booked this hotel for 2 nights through lastminute.com as it was a really cheap deal. I only read the reviews after that and I really thought about changing then hotel, as all the reviews were so bad!
I thought the location was great, just beside the main station. It is true that there are lots of sex shops, strip clubs, sex cinemas, etc but it is like anywhere in the world. We were not hassled by the people in the clubs at all. Nice, clean, spacious room. Nice bathroom. My room was on the 3rd floor, facing the inner building and it was really quiet. The only thing I would complain about is that there are no black curtains, so the room gets really light. Good breakfast but nothing major. The guy in the reception could have been a little bit more nicer - he was ok though, and helped with directions.

  • Liked — Rooms and location
  • Disliked — No black out curtains
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julilique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I recently stayed in Frankfurt for 3 nights with my partner, on our trip around Europe & the USA. It was the end of the summer season & fairly quiet, however, Frankfurt is never really quiet as such, & we were able to visit a lot of the city & enjoyed ourselves a great deal.

We booked our accommodation through a hostelling website, & confirmed a place to stay for the duration of our holiday. On our arrival (via train at HBF) we were pleased to find that it was less than a 5-minute walk away. The hotel was in the middle of the red light district, but there were many other amenities nearby, including several Internet cafes, a laundry, a supermarket, cash machines, & restaurants etc, as well as all the services back in the train station.

The hotel was in decent shape, & appeared to either be fairly new, or recently refurbished. Our room (room 103) was fairly spacious compared to a lot of European accommodation, & also of a higher standard than we had expected for the price we were paying – it was certainly a 'hotel' rather than a 'hostel'. The shower had good pressure & plenty of hot water. Towels & complimentary shampoos etc were provided. The TV received several channels, but only two of them were in English (BBC & CNN news). The red light district appeared very safe & functional – I did not feel at all worried in walking around at night time, even with the shows in full swing. Unfortunately because of the area, there was a lot of noise from the street, which generally lasted all night (even on a Sunday). However, if you are a fairly heavy sleeper then this would not bother you. Please note that there is no air-conditioning in the rooms at this hotel, which would make a difference in the heat of summer (we tried to sleep with our windows open but it was too noisy). The hotel encourages guests to save energy, which is a nice idea.

Breakfast was served in the downstairs room & there was a fair range of products to choose from – continental only though, but the cheeses & fruit were great, & I felt that breakfast was quite reasonable. Unfortunately the breakfast room was quite small, so we often had to wait for a table or share with someone else. There were some vending machines in the lobby which sell drinks (including wine), but it is cheaper to go to the supermarket if it is open (it's shut on Sundays).

The service at the hotel was good, & there was street parking only, if you have a car, but it looked to be quite difficult to get a park there. It is about a 15 minute stroll to the central sightseeing areas from the hotel, & another few minutes to the river. There is a great kebab place a few minutes walk away called Doi Doi (I think), which we would recommend, although there are loads of places to choose from!

All in all, if you are after a basic hotel with nice facilities & need to be close to the train station, then this is the place for you (if you don't mind the noise). Ask for a room facing away from the street if they have any, & get to breakfast nice & early so you can score a table. The area is only a problem if you are a light sleeper, or don't like the idea that red-light districts exist. If we are in Frankfurt again then we would definitely consider returning to this hotel, with earplugs this time. Thanks for a nice stay!

  • Liked — The hotel was of a high standard for the price
  • Disliked — The location may be a bit noisy for some
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamBagpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Went here for one night, and would certainly have changed to a different hotel if I needed to be in Frankfurt longer. As others have mentioned, the hotel is in the middle of the RLD, and some people in the street try to get you in to their businesses in a very agressive way. I got a single room which was very small, and the bed was very hard. My room was at street side, and although it was located on the hotel's top floor the noise in the street was clearly audible. I will never return to this property, despite the low price of only 50€.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — location, room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank stijnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt
Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt
#191 of 269 in Frankfurt
117 reviews
Hotel Rossija
#187 of 269 in Frankfurt
91 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#25 of 269 in Frankfurt
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Hotel Excelsior
#59 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel-West

Property: City Hotel-West
Address: Moselstr. 35, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel-West 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel-West Hotel Frankfurt
City Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing