We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can a customer expect to be as standard in a hotelroom?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City
Ranked #111 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What can a customer expect to be as standard in a hotelroom?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked a single economical room in the 4 star clarion collection Frankfurt hotel. I expected a small room and the price was competitive. The room sounded good also:
Our economy rooms are smaller rooms with a single bed and with a desk. These rooms can be booked for a maximum occupancy of one person. Despite the small size, the room has it's own bathroom and features Flat Screen TV, telephone, mini-bar, WiFi Internet, safe and tea/coffee facilities.
Even Iron and iron board.

The photos of the economic single room on their web page is from the normal single room.
So it gives the wrong picture of the size of the room. the room is about 6m2 and has free space on the floor about 2,5m2. so it is a very tiny room.

What the room did not have was a closet, or a wardrobe. or any kind of place to hang up the suits and the shirts. I was here for business and needed to suit and shirts on every day for the three days. When i claimed about this, the manager and booking.com both argued that it was not stated in the discription of the room. This was not a valid reason to offer an uppgrade.

What should be in a hotel room as stadard. Things you do not need to ask when you make a booking. Curtains? electric plugs? Wardrobe?

I feel really cheated, both by the picture of the room which and that a wardrobe is not considered a standard feature in Clarion hotels.

The guy at the reception was friendlly and nice and handelled the situation very very good.
I am not the easiest guy at situations like this.
Also the hotel is clean and nice.

For me it ended so that i took the upgrade for 30€/ night. It was simply not possible get the clothers to look represtative. a 90€ wasrdrobe but i plan still to claim and see if i get it compensated´and an aswer to the question: what can i expect to be as standard in a hotel room? especially in a 4 star hotel room.

-poor businessman-

Room Tip: do not take the economic single rooms, they are really too small, unless you only plan to sleep.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    81
    49
    22
    18
See reviews for
14
50
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here twice on points for leisure trips over the summer, and was lucky to get a corner balcony room each time. It's a smallish hotel, one block from the Hauptbahnhof. I see concerns about the area in some other reviews... I used to live in New York City, and would compare the area to 9th Ave one block from the Port Authority, if that helps anyone. There's city noise, and you might see a crazy, but you'll be fine, just ignore them and keep moving :)

The rooms I got were clean, and had standard Clarion furnishings. Rooms had a queen bed, desk, luggage stand, minibar, safe, iron+board; and one room had an electric fan - useful if you wanted to do bathroom sink laundry. There were no bugs, and no negative surprises.

The staff was very friendly. I enjoyed the breakfast.

I'd happily stay here again - for the value, and the convenience of being near the train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PopcornFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Great location - really could not get better but rooms are REALLY noisy due to it being in the red light district. Breakfast is good, dodgy internet connection but for 75 euros, its worth it. Ill be back as the price is not much and i dont have high expectations

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidtravellerbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great central location 2mins from Frankfurt main train station. Have stayed here twice in a year and received the same corner room on the fifth floor both times ! Room is well appointed, warm and comfortable. LCD TV in the room with 2 English channels, adequate size bathroom with a good shower. Free WiFi hotel wide also. The downside to this property is parking costs €28 per night if your driving and the hotel is located beside the red light area of Frankfurt so may not suit families. I found the area to be very safe however and would stay here again.

Room Tip: I always ask for a corner room on the upper floors as they tend to be more spacious and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay one night, basic single room. The room was clastrofobic, very very small. I could not stretch my legs in bed as it was hitting the wall.
Do not recommend the basic single rooms, maybe others are better.

Room Tip: Do not go on basic single rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ran_g789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great hotel ,very clean, 2 minutes from main train station and walking distance to main areas , great staff nothing was to much trouble.stayed here many times and would reccommend this hotel.
It is in the red light area but not a problem once you are inside the hotel.Thank you to the excellent manager and his team

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marbri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

First room they gave me was very small and dark with only a small window and the smallest single bed i have ever seen. I paid an extra 20 euro per night and got up graded to a double. The new room was very tired and scruffy. Went down to breakfast only to find bread covered in green mold and floor so dirty my shoes stuck to it. Watched a man being chased by a bloke with a broken bottle as I sat in the resturant next door. Very noisy all night. Don't take the kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#11 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Corner Hotel
#57 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Savoy Hotel Frankfurt
#215 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City
Address: Taunusstr. 48, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Plaza Frankfurt
Center Plaza Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing