We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strip club on the opposite corner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City
Ranked #109 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Täby
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Strip club on the opposite corner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Friendly staff, nice rooms, ok breakfast
But there is a strip club directly opposite the hotel and more to come down the street. At my first breakfast I could watch CSI doing their job. Two guys had been killed outside the hotel. Maybe not the hotels fault, but I still don't like the neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uwisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    81
    49
    22
    17
See reviews for
14
50
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

My first impression when I entered the hotel was, that this could not be a 4-star hotel... the lobby is small and - even though is interesting - is not impressive. But the room was big enough and the bathroom also. Breakfast is OK, but I would expect wider selection from the 4**** hotel in Germany.

I would say that the hotel in a little bit above average... and I could really recommend it to anybody if its location could be a block away form his location... The location in the middle of red ligt district was not an issue for me, but it could disturb people... The fact is that there are ugly bars and casinos around, call girls and pimps also on the streets, speacially at night, and it is also loud... so if you need piece & quitet to go to sleep avoid this hotel because of the location and not because of the hotel itself....

I stayed there for two nights, I came to the hotel not before 2am and I really did not feel threatend any time....

So, if you are not botherd by the district, the location is perfect for the fair grounds and for the city center... its not more then 15 minutes by walk to any of these directions.

Room Tip: 203 was good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelX17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The night that I arrived to the hotel, was so cautious with the red light district. But when the morning starts, wow its the perfect location and its not as scary as I thought. 2mins walk to the central train station, 10mins walk to Romerberg, old town and to Kaiserdom. Good base if you will go to the outskirts since the train is near and the tour agency is near the train stn as well. The hotel room is indeed lovely. Yes the view is not as what you wanted and the noise is visible in your ears. Other than that the room is nice and spacious. I will surely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarrenS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is not as bad as some of the other reviewers have made out, well at least not in my experience. I stayed here for 2 nights to visit the Music Messe on business. The hotel is literally a stones throw away from the main railway station in Frankfurt, and it is a 10 minute walk to Messe if you are here for a conference or trade show.
Yes, there are a few sex shops/brothels in the area near the hotel, and I certainly wouldn't recommend staying here with kids or for a romantic getaway. But for a central hotel near all the business areas, and with a quick link to the airport it is perfectly fine.
The old town is about 15-20 mins walk away and is well worth the trip.
Breakfast was fine, with the usual Cereals, Crossaints, Fruits, and English Breakfast(ish)option. And the rooms have all you need and are clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights- thursday and friday. Had a room on the third floor overlooking the sex shops and strip bars. This in itself is not an issue, but the street noise at night was an issue. Police and ambulance sirens were frequent. There was no Internet reception in the room and the receptionist tried to tell me it was my laptop and iPhone that were faulty. The room phone is also switched off by default and one has to call reception to have it activated. The worst aspect was the breakfast menu,where old, stale bread was served two days in a row. That's unforgivable!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drwhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

California, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

we stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago and it was absolutely disgusting!
First of all the area is horrible and definitely NOT safe to walk around in the evening.
When we arrived after a long long flight and had therefore asked for a quiet room, which we DID NOT receive we asked at the reception if we could change our room to a quieter room and the staff was very unfriendly and absolutely not helpful.
We had to stay in the same room, which is tiny and not suitable for a couple.
To top it all up there were still hair all over the bathtub.
All together the worst stay ever and would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_H697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Much has been said in the reviews of this hotel about its location. The truth is that yes it in the redlight district, however the prostitution is not on open display like it is in cities like Amsterdam. It is behind closed doors in the Eros centres that are situated close by. Yes I did see drug users but they did not bother me.
For anyone wanting easy access to the rail, S bahn, U, bahn, trains, trams and taxis the hotel is perfectly situated only yards from escalator access to HBF station.
Once inside the hotel it is a very pleasant place to stay. My room which I booked and prepaid as a small room was indeed small. I was given the option to upgrade if I wished. The room did however have all the facilities one would expect in a decent hotel, was very clean and air conditioned. I was there during a cold spell and the room was warm.
Breakfast was more than adequate with a good choice of continental options and also hot options of eggs, sausage and beans.
To sum up the hotel is not in the best area of the city, but is priced accordingly. If you want a hotel of a simaler quality in a "better" area then you are going to have to pay twice the price and be prepared to negotiate Frankfurts complicated transport system,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scagway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Corner Hotel
#55 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Savoy Hotel Frankfurt
#216 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City
Address: Taunusstr. 48, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Plaza Frankfurt
Center Plaza Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing