We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and a cozy establishment”
Review of Ritter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ritter Hotel
Ranked #250 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing location and a cozy establishment”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ritter Hotel is in one of the coolest parts of Frankfurt. There probably 50 pubs and some beer gardens within 5 minutes of walking. It's probably a 20 minute walk to downtown Frankfurt and the mall and a 5 minute walk to the closest subway stop. The service is very friendly and helpful. The shower was tiny and a bit awkward but it worked. The beds are small but comfortable and clean. If I came back to Frankfurt, this place would be on my short list of places to stay, and if not here, I would stay as close to this location as possible

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewSkeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    22
    17
    53
See reviews for
18
25
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary, alberta
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here our first night in Frankfurt. It was in a walking area so we had to park in a lot nearby as there was no parking right by the hotel. The hotel has a biergarden below it and three other bier gardens within 30 seconds of it. We had our 8 and 10 year olds there with us and it was a bit hard to sleep with all the partying going on. This place would be perfect for a backpacker as the location is ideal.

Room Tip: higher units are very hot as heat rises in the summer and there is no A/C. ask for a room on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_observer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

In all my years of traveling this has got to be the WORST hotel I've ever stayed in! I can't even think of any dodgy hostel dorms where I've stayed that could come near of being this bad! We had booked two nights in this awful place because from the website the place looked nice (why oh why did I not come see the reviews on tripadvisor before booking!) but we left after one night and moved to a small hotel nearby which felt like the Hilton Hotel after the experience we had at Ritter.

Basically, there is nothing good about this hotel. When we got there, we realised that it was located on a party street full of bars, and not just any bars but loud bars full of drunken idiots screaming all through the night. The so-called hotel was so dark and gloomy it could have been from a horror movie, and when we were escorted to our room I thought it was a joke. Our double room had two separate beds and it was super dirty and reeked of cigarettes. It was so gross I expected to see a drunken person passed out in the toilet since it really looked like a place where you go pass out at 5 am after partying when you can't hear or see anything anymore.

Also the room was located above a bar I guess, because it sounded like we were inside a club. Still somehow we thought that maybe the party will stop and tried to go to sleep. Even through the earplugs at 1am I could hear people sing (read:scream) "tonight's gonna be a good night" which I thought was actually quite funny considering the irony of it being one of the worst nights for us. When we went to complain to the guy at the front desk that we were not going to stay in that room for another second, he didn't understand ANY english so I had to talk to him using my terrible highschool german whilst standing there in the middle of the night wearing my pajamas and trying to scream over the music. He didn't understand why we had a problem with the place, so we decided to change to another hotel far from the party road in the middle of the night and we never got our money back!

It still makes me so angry thinking about our experience there. It is the worst hotel ever, please don't ever stay there!

Room Tip: The best tip is do not ever stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilia690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I've been in Frankfurt last week for work and I've decided to try this little hotel.It's very nice and clean, Locaterin a very strategical place, a lot of restaurant and pubs realy in the same block. The Manager is a very nice person and he did everything to help us in any situation.
Best regards.
Alessandro Pavoni

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wel, if your drunk this hotel might do the trick...everyone else on the street outside is as well and they stay up very late and are very loud. The rooms were renovated in aprox. 1976. The beds were clean and the shower was hot..well, that's positive anyway. If all else fails stay here.

Room Tip: no room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Motrenhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a good location. I got a room in second floor. The staff is excellent. The hotel and room are less modern, but clean and comfortable.The room size is ok for me. I had a very nice experience at there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed in Ritter hotel for 3 nights, the location is very good, arround hotel there are many pubs and restaurants and museums. Walk 10 minutes to Frankfurt Römerberg, then 5 minutes to Zeil shopping street. Enjoy one day outside, then come back to hotel going online. The best thing is that Wlan is free. The room is clean and big. I will go to this hotel again next time. I do not need a luxury and expensive hotel, this hotel is good enough for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Eazires Royal City Hotel
Eazires Royal City Hotel
#225 of 269 in Frankfurt
28 reviews
Maingau Hotel
#123 of 269 in Frankfurt
153 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Novum Hotel Primus Frankfurt Sachsenhausen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Hotel Kautz
Hotel Kautz
#156 of 269 in Frankfurt
38 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Lindner Hotel & Residence Main Plaza
Arena am Zoo
#186 of 269 in Frankfurt
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritter Hotel

Property: Ritter Hotel
Address: Grosse Rittergasse 79, 60594 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Sachsenhausen-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritter Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Ritter is located in the heart of Frankfurt's historical part Alt Sachsenhausen, the oldest and most beautiful part of city, which plagues you to the past time with a traditional German food, wine and beer. Our hotel, built in 17th century and completely renovated in 2005. It disposes of single, double and family rooms, equipped with modern amenities that include working desk, an internet access, television and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ritter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritter Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing