We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cult Frankfurt”
Review of Hotel Cult

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cult
Ranked #74 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Cult Frankfurt”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent hotel, very clean, good service, English-speaking, very nice breakfast included, close to S-bahn stations and short walk from the river...only downside...internet upstairs in the room not very strong signal so it's slow

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CultHotelFrankfurt, Guest Relation Management at Hotel Cult, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to know, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that almost everything was to your entire satisfaction. We regret that the wifi in your room was too slow, we will check the described problem. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience in relation to these shortcomings.

We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope, to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again. In the meantime we wish all the best!

Kind regards to Mexico
Hotel Cult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    144
    72
    26
    19
See reviews for
28
100
57
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We choose this hotel because of good value & Wi-Fi. It is really good value in Frankfurt and good location too. However the room we had were not in main building and looks like old fashion. The tile of shower area was broken. We could hear the noise of next room at night which we don't want to hear for us especially for our teenage daughter ( you know what I mean.) Wi-Fi connection area available in the hotel. However it is as slow as dial up. That was biggest disappointment.

The breakfast is fine. Good range of food are available. The staff are ok. They do their job but not friendly at all.

Do I stay again? Not sure...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CultHotelFrankfurt, Guest Relation Management at Hotel Cult, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your stay with us and for your feedback. It is important to get to know our guests’ opinion in order to improve our performance constantly. Therefore we appreciate your comments very much.

We are glad that you were happy with our location and our breakfast buffet in the mornings. It is sad that not everything could please you like that. We always would like to do our best to satisfy our guests. If someone is not happy with its room, we always try to find another one which fits better, is quieter... Our new comfort rooms offer a new and modern design; maybe you would have liked one of these more? We are renovating, renewing and maintaining our hotel constantly. This happens in stages, so already in autumn all the rooms will have such a comfort. We are very sorry that you could not enjoy your stay with us due to flaws in the bathroom and due to the wifi-connection. We hope that you accept our sincere apology. We would be happy if we get the chance to make a better impression during a next stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for furthermore concerns or wishes.

Kindest regards from Frankfurt
Hotel Cult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I am struggling to find anything positive to say here.

Location
Fairly good location for getting into town, with a frequent tram service and the S-Bahn. Also, the Südbahnhof is a short distance away for other trains and the U-Bahn. On the downside, one of the main railway lines to and from the Hauptbahnhof, as well as the main through freight line is opposite the hotel, with a metal bridge which rumbles every time a train goes across.

Reception
The reception seems to have been designed to look good, but then someone decided to cut back on lighting.

Room
This is where it gets nasty. Room 301 on the top floor is in the eaves of the building. It has two sloping sections of ceiling which are awkward and not that fun when you forget about them in the night. Getting in to the room can be a problem. The bathroom door is usually left open by the staff after they have been in, and as soon as you open the room door, it hits the bathroom door and they become entwined. You then have to drop everything and separate them. Even before you get the door open, guessing which way the room card goes in is fun. It works only one way, and the card has no arrow to indicate which way that is.

Clearly, others have had trouble getting in, judging by the amount of damage to both doors. Once inside, you notice the appalling quality of the paint work, the mould in the corners of the room, the curtain that doesn't quite make it all the way across the window, the mystery stain on the floor, the remnants of something brown on the light switch, the broken phone socket.

The shower room was something else. The toilet wasn't exactly dirty. It was stained. Long-term stained. The sink didn't drain properly. The grouting in the floor tiles had various colours within it, one of which was red. I hoped it was just from dropped red wine. There was dust on many of the surfaces. Thick, greasy dust. Particularly bad was the giant shower head. The shower head appeared to have so much limescale on each water spray that it was in the process of forming stalactites. There was mould in the shower, and the tiles were broken. The shower hose had that thick orange limescale on it. I tried the shower, and it didn't have sufficient water pressure to work effectively through the giant shower head, and really didn't give that good an effect through the handheld spray.

Returning to the room, I looked for the safe. I finally found it at ankle level, inside the wardrobe. It was not plugged in, and had no socket to plug into. Nor was it actually secured to anything. I could have run off with it.

At reception, I pointed this out to the receptionist. She seemed mystified that the lack of power, or the requirement to lie down on the floor to use the safe was a problem. She said that she'd get someone else to look into it as she'd already been there a long time. I went into the city and left her to it.

Returning later, her colleague noted that I'd made a complaint about the safe. Nothing had been done. She called another colleague who turned up after the third time of her calling him. In the meantime, I'd ascertained that there were no other rooms available. Her colleague then came up to the room and showed me how to work the safe. This was not the problem. I knew it had a battery backup. A battery backup is there to be a 'back up' in case of power failure. I asked what would happen if the battery ran out. He said 'It won't run out.' Pushing the point, he said 'We can still get in with a key'. Not very confidence inspiring - if you can't manage to install a power socket, then I'm not sure I'd rely on you to store a key safely.

Breakfast
The hotel website promises a 'substantial breakfast buffet'. I had to check the German language version of the website as I was sure there had been a translation error. There wasn't. Adequate would be the correct word, but that doesn't work in marketing. I wasn't expecting a full range of cooked items, but there wasn't even a good selection of breads, meats and cheeses. Very little fruit or yoghurt. None of the staff had the ability to smile, it seemed.

So, in conclusion, don't go into room 301, take your own cleaning products, and take your valuables with you.

Room Tip: The front rooms are affected by railway noise, the back rooms are affected by aircraft noise. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CultHotelFrankfurt, Guest Relation Management at Hotel Cult, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for staying with us and for finding the time for your feedback. It is important to learn
about our guest’s opinions in order to improve our services. We appreciate your comments very much and we are sorry that we were not able to make a good impression to you.

Our ultimate goal is to offer our guests a pleasant stay. Therefore we place great value on an outstanding service, a great and various breakfast and comfortable rooms. In january we began to renovate and refurbish our rooms in order to offer more comfort. We decided not to close our hotel during this construction project but to do that in stages. Most of our rooms now have a very new and modern design. We guarantee that we would love to have given you one of our new room if we had had the opportunity. Unfortunately it was not possible du to the booking situation. The room 301 will be the next room which will be refurbished. We will also fix the safe then.

Furthermore we thank you for your suggestion concerning the key cards. This is a helpful idea! At the next order of new cards we will take this into account and we will have arrows printed on them.

We are a privately owned hotel and therefore we focus a lot on an individual service. We would like our guests to be simply happy during their stay and we do everything we can. We regret that we could not yet prove that to you. We would be happy if we had the opportunity to see you again, maybe during a next visit to Frankfurt. We would be really happy to give you a new and completely good impression of us. We highly recommend one of our comfort rooms in the first or second floor which face our backyard.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch for us for any further wishes or concerns.

Kind regards
Hotel Cult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for four nights , couldn't find fault, staff were all very helpful and pleasant except the balding guy who was on night duty, he was sour . Just opposite the tram stop is a little kiosk selling beers,cigs etc owned by a guy called Memet , what a nice guy, we stopped at his kiosk and sat at the back of the shop and had more than several beers, made us more than welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter,with no train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CultHotelFrankfurt, Guest Relation Management at Hotel Cult, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sharon,

we would like to thank you for your stay with us and for letting us know about your experience with us.

We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us, that you felt welcome in our neighbourhood and that you have good memories of our friendly and helpful staff. But we are sorry that you experienced one unpleasant situation at the front desk. We will sort that out in order to avoid incidents like these in the future.

Dear Sharon, we would be glad to welcome you soon again as our guest.

Kindest regards from Frankfurt
Hotel Cult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a good hotel for Ambiente Fair visitors as a tram station is just across the road. Staff were quite sullen & very unhelpful with helping us to get transport back to the airport after the fair. We all paid the same, but some had double beds and I had a single bed. My room reeked of smoke although there was a no-smoking sign & when I asked for another room they told me they were fully booked. They then told me they would spray the room to de-odorize, but then it had a very sharp chemical smell. The bed-linens looked old and used (they were a strange shade of yellow), although clean. The duvet on the bed was very small & taller & larger people in our party complained about being cold at night. My room faced the street & it was very noisy at night with the sound of trains going by. Breakfast was good & the dining area pleasant. Shower was also good & clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CultHotelFrankfurt, Guest Relation Management at Hotel Cult, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Hilda,

thank you for staying with us and for finding the time for your feedback. It is important to learn
about our guest’s opinions in order to improve our services.

It is a pleasure to read here that our location was perfect for your purpose and that you liked our great breakfast and the shower in your room. But we are very sorry to hear that there were also things which made your stay not completely pleasant. We have several room types which have different features, a different size etc. Right now we are refurbishing our standard rooms. Soon they will all have a very new and modern design and they will also be equipped with big mattresses and new duvets. In case a guest is not satisfied with its room, we arrange room changes, of course. It is a pity that we could not organize that for you due to the booking situation. Probably that would hace changed your impression of our rooms.

We are a privately owned hotel and therefore we focus a lot on an individual, friendly and exceptionally helpful service. We regret that we could not yet prove that to you. We would be happy if we had the opportunity to see you again, maybe during the next Ambiente Fair. We would be really happy to give you a new and completely good impression of us.

Kind regards
Hotel Cult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived there not knowing what to expect but we were pleasantly suprised..our stay was really nice and we enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms were clean and up to date with new furnitures. The shower was the highlight of the room and very practical..staff were friendly and informative and service was 5stars..cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehiddubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CultH0telFrankfurt, Guest Relation Management at Hotel Cult, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear guest,

we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our comfortable and modern rooms and with our friendly staff. We are also pleased to read that you cannot wait to return! Thank you for your feedback and your stay at the Hotel Cult.

We hope to welcome you very soon again!
Kind regards
Hotel Cult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel offers three categories of rooms: economy, standard and comfort. I booked a standard room (which should have 19sqm) but the hotel gave me an economy room which was tiny (I could just walk around the bed and the bathroom is so small, no two people can be in there simultaneously). Also the room smelled of cigarette smoke - even though all rooms should be non-smoking. My room was definitely like a 2,5 star - not 4 star as paid for!

When I inquired at the reception about the room-problem, they told me they only have standard and comfort rooms, and that I am in a standard room (even though another employee told me on the phone some days before that there are economy rooms as well!).

Nevertheless the breakfast was good, offered a broad choice of cold cuts, cheeses, cornflakes, yoghurt, some fruits, jams, ... Also the breakfast room is nice and pleases the eye.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manfred1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CultHotelFrankfurt, Guest Relation Management at Hotel Cult, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Manfred,

we would like to thank you for your stay with us and for letting us know about your experience with us.

We are very sorry to read that you feel cheated about our room categories. We guarantee that this is not the way we treat our guests. We attach utmost importance to the needs and wishes of our guests. We will discuss and clarify the incident you described with our team and we hope you can accept our sincere apology.

We are happy that you liked our breakfast despite the whole situation! We would be pleased if you give us the chance to prove that not only our breakfast is great during a second stay with us. Please contact us before your next booking, so that we can find a room according to your wishes.

Kindest regards
Hotel Cult
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt
Maingau Hotel
#123 of 269 in Frankfurt
153 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Hotel Am Berg
Hotel Am Berg
#101 of 269 in Frankfurt
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
250 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Lindner Hotel & Residence Main Plaza
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
#49 of 269 in Frankfurt
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cult? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cult

Property: Hotel Cult
Address: Offenbacher Landstr. 56, 60599 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#47 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cult 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Designhotel Cult staff warmly welcomes you in "Mainhattan". With exclusive designs, attentive service and extraordinary comfort we would like to indulge our guests. Our 4-star-hotel is situated in the picturesque district of Sachsenhausen. Due to this central location the hotel enjoys great popularity - whether amongst business-travellers as well as private travellers. Our Reception Staff will be pleased to deal with your queries, comments and suggestion and is available 24/7. Attractive prices and numerous inclusive services complete our total package. Our guests are accommodated 75 modern and fully equipped rooms. Rooms are provided with desk, bathroom with WC, hair dryer and make-up mirror, cable tv, direct dial telephone. SKY-TV, Wireless LAN and daily press are included in the overnight rate. Double glazed windows and individual regulated airconditioning provide a comfortabel night rest. As a hotel garni we offer a rich breakfast buffet, which we will also serve you on our spacious sun terrace, from where you will have a spectacular view on Frankfurt's breathtaking skyline. Wellness and relaxation area as well as our sauna contribute to regeneration of our guest. This is where you can lie back and leave your cares behind. Our stylishly designed bar invites you to linger. You will also find numerous bars, trendy clubs and international restaurants in near vicinity of our hotel. For meetings and conferences there is a 86 m² room available. Conference package per person ist 29 €. The room is suitable for groups up to 35 people and offers modern technique like W-LAN and HD-Beamer including screen. If desired, we organize the culinary setting for your meeting according to your requirements. Hotel Cult ist located at the Sachsenhausener Ufer directly opposite of Frankfurt's old city. Sights, exhibition center as well as Frankfurt airport can be reached quickly and comfortably. We attach utmost importance to the prosperity of our guests. This is why we create harmonious ambiance where it feels like home. room facilities Our cosy rooms offer comfortability stylish elegance which guarantees a pleasant stay. The equipment of our rooms is comfortable, convenient and relaxing. For the sake of your health the entire hotel has been non-smoking since 2009.To not only enjoy your room but also the incredible view you can choose your room by location. Depending on the amount of rest an view you might need, you can either choose a room facing the street or a room facing the rear of our building. In addition to conventional facilities a mini-bar in every room provides extra comfort and invites to a little drink in the evening or at night. For your entertainment every room is equipped with a flat screen to enjoy German television or Pay-TV. Furthermore each room is provided with shower and WC, as well as hair dryer. To take a closer look at yourself you will find a make-up mirror in the bathroom. Besides relaxation and comfort we are concerned about the safety of your valuables in the room. This is why all rooms are equipped with in-room safety deposits. special services With an overcharge it is possible to rent a parking space or to use our in-house sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cult reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cult Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing